Historical / English literature / British literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (151)

French (28)

German (0)

Spanish (66)

Italian (232)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

In category

Middle Age (26)

XIXth century (14)

Ancient History (13)

XXth century (<1945) (12)

Modern (<1799) (10)

1939-1945 (2)

Prehistory (1)

 

Protection

All (151)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (150)

More options

Old Baggage

by Lissa Evans

The author of the acclaimed Crooked Heart returns with a comic, charming, and surprisingly timely portrait of a once pioneering suffragette trying to find her new passion in post-WWI era London.

“A thoughtful,...


Heads You Win

by Jeffrey Archer

Heads You Win is international #1 bestseller Jeffrey Archer’s most ambitious and creative work since Kane and Abel, with a final twist that will shock even his most ardent of fans.

Leningrad, Russia, 1968:...


Paris Echo

by Sebastian Faulks

“Cunningly crafted. . . . France’s unquiet histories are brought to life by a master storyteller. Financial Times (UK)

A story of resistance, complicity, and an unlikely, transformative friendship,...


Melmoth

by Sarah Perry

“Masterful…scary and smart, working as a horror story but also a philosophical inquiry into the nature of will and love. Perry did as much in her richly praised novel The Essex Serpent, but this is a deeper,...


The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock

by Imogen Hermes Gowar

Shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for FictionA Refinery 29 Favorite Book of the Year • A Booklist Top 10 First Novels of the Year

“Wonderful… completely transporting.”  —Madeline Miller,...


Another Woman's Husband

by Gill Paul

As the world mourns the loss of Diana, Princess of Wales, one young woman uncovers a forgotten story of passion, betrayal, and a scandal surrounding the British crown in this unforgettable novel by the bestselling...


The Secret of the Irish Castle

Deverill Chronicles #3

by Santa Montefiore

International bestselling author Santa Montefiore continues the story of the Deverill family in the third book in her beautiful and moving Deverill Chronicles trilogy—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz...


Juliet & Romeo

by David Hewson

'I think Romeo and Juliet is the greatest, most tragic love story ever told. What David Hewson did with this script is so exciting to me.' Richard Armitage, Narrator of Juliet & Romeo audiobook

Shakespeare's...


The Less You Know The Sounder You Sleep

by Juliet Butler

‘Do yourself a favour and read this wonderful book’ Scotsman

Based on the true story of conjoined Russian twins, Masha and Dasha Krivoshlyapova, The Less You Know the Sounder You Sleep is a tale of survival...


Hotel on Shadow Lake

by Daniela Tully

Suspenseful and compelling, Daniela Tully’s Hotel on Shadow Lake is at once an intricate mystery, an epic romance, and a Gothic family saga.

When Maya was a girl in Germany, her grandmother was everything to...


The Walrus Mutterer

by Mandy Haggith

Northern Britain, Iron Age. Rian, a carefree young woman and promising apprentice healer, is enslaved by a spiteful trader and forced aboard a vessel to embark on a perilous sea voyage.

They are in search of...


Robin Hood's Dawn

by Olivia Longueville & J. C. Plummer

England, 1154-1194

A kingdom under assault.

A conspiracy born of anarchy.

A hero standing against tyranny.

Falsely convicted of a shocking crime, Robin Fitzooth, the Earl of Huntingdon, finds refuge in Sherwood...


Peculiar Ground

by Lucy Hughes-Hallett

A Kirkus Best Book of 2018

"Unlike anything I’ve read. With its broad scope and its intimacy and exactness, it cuts through the apparatus of life to the vivid moment. Haunting and huge, and funny and sensuous....


Fools and Mortals

by Bernard Cornwell

New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell makes a dramatic departure with this enthralling, action-packed standalone novel that tells the story of the first production of A Midsummer Night's Dream—as...


Secrets of Cavendon

Cavendon Hall #4

by Barbara Taylor Bradford

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Barbara Taylor Bradford, comes a striking, breathtaking saga featuring the aristocratic Inghams and the Swann family, who have loyally served them for generations.

It’s...


Freya

by Anthony Quinn

Set immediately after the end of WWII, Freya explores the lives and friendship of two british females at a time where gender roles were changing in England.

It begins on May 8th, 1945. The streets of London are...


The Way to London

by Alix Rickloff

From the author of Secrets of Nanreath Hall comes this gripping, beautifully written historical fiction novel set during World War II—the unforgettable story of a young woman who must leave Singapore and forge...


The Daughters of Ireland

Deverill Chronicles #2

by Santa Montefiore

Previously published in the United Kingdom as DAUGHTERS OF CASTLE DEVERILL

Ireland. 1925.

The war is over. But life will never be the same...

"Everything Santa Montefiore writes, she writes from the heart,”...


Birdcage Walk

by Helen Dunmore

It is 1792 and Europe is seized by political turmoil and violence. Lizzie Fawkes has grown up in Radical circles where each step of the French Revolution is followed with eager idealism. But she has recently...


The Cottingley Secret

by Hazel Gaynor

“The Cottingley Secret tells the tale of two girls who somehow convince the world that magic exists. An artful weaving of old legends with new realities, this tale invites the reader to wonder: could it be...