Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (100)

Middle Age (88)

XIXth century (79)

XXth century (<1945) (56)

Ancient History (27)

1939-1945 (18)

1914-1918 (8)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (633)

British (313)

Irish (33)

 

Language

English (988)

French (47)

German (1)

Spanish (144)

Italian (371)

 

Protection

All (988)

DRM Free (93)

DRM (895)

More options

Secrets of Cavendon

Cavendon Hall #4

by Barbara Taylor Bradford

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Barbara Taylor Bradford, comes a striking, breathtaking saga featuring the aristocratic Inghams and the Swann family, who have loyally served them for generations.

It’s...


The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

by H.B. Lyle

London 1909: The British Empire spans the globe, seen as an invulnerable imperial power--but in Russia, there is revolution in the wind; in Germany, an arms race; and in London, the streets are alive with foreign...


The Revolution of Marina M.

by Janet Fitch

From the mega-bestselling author of White Oleander and Paint It Black, a sweeping historical saga of the Russian Revolution, as seen through the eyes of one young woman

One of Entertainment Weekly's Most Buzzworthy...


The Betrayal

by Kate Furnivall

'A real page-turner which puts you in France on the cusp of war from the very first page. Gripping. Tense. Mysterious. Kate Furnivall has a talent for creating places and characters who stay with you long after...


An Irish Country Practice

Irish Country #12

by Patrick Taylor

An Irish Country Practice is the twelfth heartwarming installment in New York Times and Globe and Mail bestselling author Patrick Taylor's beloved Irish Country series.

Once, not too long ago, there was just...


The Orphan of Florence

by Jeanne Kalogridis

In this irresistible historical novel set in the turbulent world of the Medicis, a young woman finds herself driven from pick-pocketing to espionage when she meets a mysterious man.

Giulia has been an orphan...


Savage Country: A Novel

by Robert Olmstead

“The year was 1873 and all about was the evidence of boom and bust, shattered dreams, foolish ambition, depredation, shame, greed, and cruelty . . .”

Onto this broken Western stage rides Michael Coughlin,...


Onslaught: The Centurions II

The Centurions Series #2

by Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire sequence continues his new trilogy: the epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69.

The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. The Batavi cohorts, so recently...


Caroline

by Sarah Miller

One of Refinery29's Best Reads of September

In this novel authorized by the Little House Heritage Trust, Sarah Miller vividly recreates the beauty, hardship, and joys of the frontier in a dazzling work of historical...


The Way to London

by Alix Rickloff

From the author of Secrets of Nanreath Hall comes this gripping, beautifully written historical fiction novel set during World War II—the unforgettable story of a young woman who must leave Singapore and forge...


The Devouring

by James R. Benn

A murder in wartime Switzerland reveals Swiss complicity with the Nazis in World War II, and US Army detective Billy Boyle is called to investigate.

Europe, 1944: Captain Billy Boyle and his friend Lieutenant...


We Were Strangers Once

by Betsy Carter

"Carter's warm and beautiful prose brings us love, tragedy, mystery and hope in a moving celebration of America and the people who have come to it."--Amy Bloom, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky Us...


A Column of Fire

The Pillars of the Earth #3

by Ken Follett

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“Absorbing . . . impossible to resist.” —The Washington Post

As Europe erupts, can one young spy protect his queen? International bestselling author Ken Follett takes us deep...


The Vengeance of Mothers

One Thousand White Women #2

by Jim Fergus

The stunning sequel to the award-winning novel One Thousand White Women: A Novel.

"Clever and satisfying...Fergus is a superb writer [and] the characters are as real as any pioneer women who braved the rigors...


Under a Pole Star

2017 Costa Novel Award Shortlist #4

by Stef Penney

A whaler's daughter, Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve, falling in love with the cold and unforgiving terrain and forging lifelong bonds with the Inuit people who have carved...


The World of Tomorrow

by Brendan Mathews

"Entertaining . . . outsized . . . A big, expressive debut." --Wall Street Journal

"As rich and raucous as the city it celebrates." --O., The Oprah Magazine

"Admirably fearless . . . Mathews has talent in buckets."...


The Other Alcott

by Elise Hooper

A People Magazine and POPSUGAR pick!

“[May's] adventures illuminate the world of intrepid female artists in the late 1800s […] The Other Alcott comes alive in its development of the relationship between...


The Boat Runner

by Devin Murphy

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer...


Many Sparrows: A Novel

by Lori Benton

Either she and her children would emerge from that wilderness together, or none of them would…

In 1774, the Ohio-Kentucky frontier pulses with rising tension and brutal conflicts as Colonists push westward...


Judgment at Appomattox

by Ralph Peters

The ferocious final weeks of the Civil War come alive in Judgment at Appomattox, the final novel of New York Times bestselling author Ralph Peters's breathtaking, Boyd Award-winning series

A great war nears its...