Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Middle Age (88)

Modern (<1799) (85)

XIXth century (77)

XXth century (<1945) (53)

Ancient History (27)

1939-1945 (16)

1914-1918 (8)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (596)

British (279)

Irish (31)

 

Language

English (915)

French (53)

German (1)

Spanish (136)

Italian (364)

 

Protection

All (915)

DRM Free (91)

DRM (824)

More options

Haweswater

by Sarah Hall

The village of Marsdale is a quiet corner of the world, cradled in a remote dale in England's lovely Lake District. The rhythm of life in the deeply religious, sheltered community has not changed for centuries....


The Electric Michelangelo

by Sarah Hall

Cy Parks is the Electric Michelangelo, an artist of extraordinary gifts whose medium happens to be the pliant, shifting canvas of the human body. Fleeing his mother's legacy -- a consumptives' hotel in a fading...


Cocoa Beach

by Beatriz Williams

The New York Times bestselling author of A Certain Age transports readers to sunny Florida in this lush and enthralling historical novel—an enchanting blend of love, suspense, betrayal, and redemption set...


The Lost History of Stars: A Novel

by Dave Boling

From a forgotten moment in history comes an inspiring novel about finding strength and courage in the most unimaginable places.

 

In turn-of-the-century South Africa, fourteen-year-old Lettie, her younger...


Before We Were Yours: A Novel

by Lisa Wingate

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old...


A Fugitive in Walden Woods

by Norman Lock

“A Fugitive in Walden Woods manages that special magic of making Thoreau’s time in Walden Woods seem fresh and surprising and necessary right now. Norman Lock tells the story of Samuel Long, an escaped slave...


The Crime Writer

by Jill Dawson

From acclaimed novelist Jill Dawson comes this imaginative psychological thriller—a dark and compelling snapshot into the life of Patricia Highsmith that immerses readers into the intoxicating, nightmarish...


The Essex Serpent

by Sarah Perry

Costa Book Award Finalist and the Waterstones (UK) Book of the Year 2016

"I loved this book. At once numinous, intimate and wise, The Essex Serpent is a marvelous novel about the workings of life, love and belief,...


The Alice Network

by Kate Quinn

USA TODAY BESTSELLER

Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick!

One of Amazon's Best Books of June!

One of Goodreads' Best Books of June!

A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal,...


Isadora

by Amelia Gray

Using the scaffolding of Isadora Duncan’s life and the stuff of her spirit, Amelia Gray delivers an incredibly imaginative portrait of the artist

In 1913, the restless world sat on the brink of unimaginable...


Dragon Teeth

by Michael Crichton

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden...


Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession: A Novel

Six Tudor Queens #2

by Alison Weir

In this second novel of Alison Weir’s epic Six Tudor Queens series, the acclaimed author and historian weaves exciting new research into the story of Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII’s most infamous wife, a woman...


Eagle and Empire: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy Book III

Clash of Eagles #3

by Alan Smale

The award-winning author of Clash of Eagles and Eagle in Exile concludes his masterly alternate-history saga of the Roman invasion of North America in this stunning novel.

 

Roman Praetor Gaius Marcellinus came...


New Boy: Othello Retold (Hogarth Shakespeare)

by Tracy Chevalier

Tracy Chevalier brings Shakespeare’s harrowing drama of jealousy and revenge to a 1970s era elementary school playground. 

Arriving at his fifth school in as many years, diplomat’s son Osei Kokote knows...


Lilli de Jong: A Novel

by Janet Benton

“A powerful, authentic voice for a generation of women whose struggles were erased from history—a heart-smashing debut that completely satisfies.”

—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of ...


The Girl Who Knew Too Much

by Amanda Quick

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Amanda Quick, the bestselling author of ’Til Death Do Us Part, transports readers to 1930s California, where glamour and seduction spawn a multitude of sins…

 

When Hollywood...


The City of Lies

by Michael Russell

Dublin, September 1940.

An IRA attempt to capture the British diplomatic bag on its way from Ireland to England leaves a Guard dead on the streets of Dublin. Two days later a pitched battle between warring gangs...


Stars Over Clear Lake

by Loretta Ellsworth

Mesmerizing and romantic, Stars Over Clear Lake transports readers to the Surf Ballroom, where musical acts became legends in the 1940s and which holds the key to one woman’s deepest secret.

Lorraine Kindred’s...


The Baker's Secret

by Stephen P. Kiernan

From the multiple-award-winning, critically acclaimed author of The Hummingbird and The Curiosity comes a dazzling novel of World War II—a shimmering tale of courage, determination, optimism, and the resilience...


The Jane Austen Project

by Kathleen A. Flynn

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in...