Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (88)

Middle Age (74)

XIXth century (70)

XXth century (<1945) (46)

Ancient History (30)

1939-1945 (8)

1914-1918 (5)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (461)

British (242)

Irish (21)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (731)

French (16)

German (1)

Spanish (85)

Italian (246)

 

Protection

All (731)

DRM Free (87)

DRM (644)

More options

Lillian on Life

by Alison Jean Lester

"I absolutely loved Lillian on Life." -Kate Atkinson

"I found it full of life and full of wisdom." -Erica Jong

Smart, poignant, funny, and totally original, Lillian on Life is as fresh and surprising as fiction...


The Empty Throne

The Saxon Stories #8

by Bernard Cornwell

In the battle for power, there can be only one ruler.

Britain, early tenth century AD: a time of change. There are new raids by the Vikings from Ireland, and turmoil among the Saxons over the leadership of Mercia....


The Season of Migration

by Nellie Hermann

The lyrically told story of one of the world’s greatest artists finding his true calling

Though Vincent van Gogh is one of the most popular painters of all time, we know very little about a ten-month period...


The Revenant

by Michael Punke

AN UNFORGETTABLE NOVEL OF REVENGE, SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE, STARRING LEONARDO DICAPRIO

The year is 1823, and the trappers of the Rocky Mountain Fur Company live a brutal frontier life. Trapping beaver,...


Vanessa and Her Sister: A Novel

by Priya Parmar

For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals...


The Promise of Light

by Paul Watkins

It is 1921, and young Ben Sheridan's Irish-American father mysteriously dies in their small Rhode Island town. Determined to learn the truth about his family's cloudy past, he sets sail for Ireland, and quickly...


The Forger

by Paul Watkins

An exciting new novel, by the author of The Story of My Disappearance and Archangel.

At the turn of World War II, David Halifax is a young American painter who receives a scholarship to come to Paris and work...


The Boston Girl: A Novel

by Anita Diamant

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Red Tent and Day After Night, comes an unforgettable novel about family ties and values, friendship and feminism told through the eyes of a young Jewish woman...


The Paris Winter

by Imogen Robertson

There is but one Paris.Vincent Van GoghMaud Heighton came to Lafond's famous Academie to paint, and to flee the constraints of her small English town. It took all her courage to escape, but Paris, she quickly...


Grail Knight

The Outlaw Chronicles #5

by Angus Donald

In 1200 A.D., much in England has changed. Richard the Lionhearted has died and his duplicitous brother John has taken the throne. The Earl of Locksley has been outlawed by his old enemy, now the king, and Sir...


A Map of Betrayal: A Novel

by Ha Jin

A Christian Science Monitor Best Book of the Year

From the award-winning author of Waiting and War Trash: a riveting tale of espionage and conflicted loyalties that spans half a century in the entwined histories...


A.D. 30: A Novel

by Ted Dekker

A sweeping epic set in the harsh deserts of Arabia and ancient Palestine.

A war that rages between kingdoms on the earth and in the heart.

The harrowing journey of the woman at the center of it all.

Step back in...


Gretel and the Dark: A Novel

by Eliza Granville

A captivating and atmospheric historical novel about a young girl in Nazi Germany, a psychoanalyst in fin-de-siècle Vienna, and the powerful mystery that links them together.

Gretel and the Dark explores good...


First Impressions: A Novel of Old Books, Unexpected Love, and Jane Austen

by Charlie Lovett

A thrilling literary mystery costarring Jane Austen from the New York Times bestselling author of The Bookman's Tale

Charlie Lovett first delighted readers with his New York Times bestselling debut, The Bookman's...


An Irish Doctor in Peace and at War

Irish Country #9

by Patrick Taylor

Doctor O’Reilly heeds the call to serve his country in Irish Doctor in Peace and At War, the new novel in Patrick Taylor’s beloved Irish Country series

Long before Doctor Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly became...


The Lodger

by Louisa Treger

Dorothy Richardson is existing just above the poverty line, doing secretarial work at a dentist's office and living in a seedy boarding house in Bloomsbury, when she is invited to spend the weekend with a childhood...


The Far Side of the Sun

by Kate Furnivall

The new novel from the author of The Russian Concubine and Shadows on the Nile

The Bahamas, 1943. Hoping to escape her turbulent past, twenty-three-year-old Dodie Wyatt has fled to Nassau. But the world is at...


Sleep in Peace Tonight

by James MacManus

It’s January 1941, and the Blitz is devastating England. Food supplies are low, Tube stations in London have become bomb shelters, and U-boats have hampered any hope of easy victory. Though the United States...


Land of Dreams

Ellis Island #3

by Kate Kerrigan

From New York Times bestselling author Kate Kerrigan comes the compelling final installment in her sweeping immigrant trilogy begun in Ellis Island and City of Hope—a story of family, love, danger, and ambition...


The Day of Atonement: A Novel

by David Liss

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY LIBRARY JOURNAL

The bestselling author of such novels as A Conspiracy of Paper and The Whiskey Rebels continues his masterly run of “atmospheric” (The Washington...