Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (87)

Middle Age (83)

XIXth century (75)

XXth century (<1945) (53)

Ancient History (23)

1939-1945 (12)

1914-1918 (5)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (529)

British (303)

Irish (27)

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (868)

DRM Free (92)

DRM (776)

More options

Shylock Is My Name: The Merchant of Venice Retold (Hogarth Shakespeare)

by Howard Jacobson

Man Booker Prize-winner Howard Jacobson brings his singular brilliance to this modern re-imagining of one of Shakespeare’s most unforgettable characters: Shylock

 

Winter, a cemetery, Shylock. In this provocative...


The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia

by C.W. Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and...


Where My Heart Used to Beat

by Sebastian Faulks

A sweeping drama about the madness of war and the power of love that marks acclaimed novelist Sebastian Faulks's return, after twenty years, to the fictional territory of his #1 international bestseller Birdsong...


A Prisoner in Malta

by Phillip Depoy

In 1583, the nineteen-year-old Christopher Marlowe---with a reputation as a brawler, a womanizer, a genius, and a social upstart at Cambridge University---is visited by a man representing Marlowe's benefactors....


Nightfall Over Shanghai

Adler Family #3

by Daniel Kalla

Passion, espionage, and battlefield drama: the loves and fears of one remarkable family unfold against the Second World War's Pacific theatre in Daniel Kalla's Nightfall Over Shanghai.

It's 1944 and the Japanese...


The Swans of Fifth Avenue: A Novel

by Melanie Benjamin

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The author of The Aviator’s Wife returns with a triumphant new novel about New York’s “Swans” of the 1950s—and the scandalous, headline-making, and enthralling friendship...


Warriors of the Storm

The Saxon Stories #9

by Bernard Cornwell

A fragile peace reigns in Wessex, Mercia, and East Anglia.

King Alfred’s son, Edward, and formidable daughter, Æthelflaed, rule the kingdoms. But all around, the restless Northmen are mounting raids.

Uhtred...


Midnight in St. Petersburg

by Vanora Bennett

Faberge jewels, the mysterious Rasputin, and a priceless violin: each plays a part in one young woman's fight for survival, and for love, in revolutionary Russia.

St. Petersburg, 1911. Inna Feldman has fled...


Moonlight Over Paris

by Jennifer Robson

An aristocratic young woman leaves the sheltered world of London to find adventure, passion, and independence in 1920s Paris in this mesmerizing story from the USA Today and internationally bestselling author...


The Dressmaker's War: A Novel

by Mary Chamberlain

For readers of Amy Bloom, Sarah Waters, and Anthony Doerr, The Dressmaker’s War is the story of a brilliant English seamstress taken prisoner in Germany during World War II: about her perseverance, the choices...


A Taste for Nightshade

by Martine Bailey

Manchester 1809. When budding young criminal Mary Jebb swindles Michael Croxton's brother with a blank pound note, he chases her into the night and sets in motion a train of sinister events. Condemned to seven...


The Other Me

by Saskia Sarginson

Sometimes it is the people we think we know the best who surprise us the most.

1986, London: Klaudia is about to start high school. She’s embarrassed by her German father—he’s the janitor at her school,...


Fallen Land

by Taylor Brown

An Indie Next pick and an Okra 2016 Winter Selection!

Fallen Land is Taylor Brown's debut novel set in the final year of the Civil War, as a young couple on horseback flees a dangerous band of marauders who seek...


The Stargazer's Sister: A Novel

by Carrie Brown

From the acclaimed author of The Last First Day, here is a beautiful new period novel: a nineteenth-century story of female empowerment before its time, based on the life of Caroline Herschel, sister of the...


Dictator: A novel

Cicero #3

by Robert Harris

Imperium . . . Conspirata . . . and now Dictator—the long-awaited final volume of Robert Harris’s magnificent Ancient Rome Trilogy

 

At the age of forty-eight, Cicero—the greatest orator of his time—is...


The Guest Room: A Novel

by Chris Bohjalian

From the New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Sandcastle Girls comes the spellbinding tale of a party gone horribly wrong: two men lie dead in a suburban living room, two women are on the run...


Sword of Apollo

The Warrior Trilogy #3

by Noble Smith

"Noble Smith brings the gory political struggles of fifth-century [B.C.] Greece vividly to life in a way that I haven't seen since the novels of Mary Renault. A superb historical novel by a master storyteller."—Angus...


A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding: A Novel

by Jackie Copleton

In the tradition of Memoirs of a Geisha and The Piano Teacher, a heart-wrenching debut novel of family, forgiveness, and the exquisite pain of love

 

When Amaterasu Takahashi opens the door of her Philadelphia...


Trade Wind

by M. M. Kaye

In M.M. Kaye's Trade Wind, when Boston bluestocking Hero Athena Hollis travels to Zanzibar to visit her uncle, an American consul, she arrives filled with self-righteousness and bent on good deeds. She believes...


Shadow of the Moon

by M. M. Kaye

M. M. Kaye, author of The Far Pavilions, sweeps her readers back to the vast, glittering, sunbaked continent of India. Shadow of the Moon is the story of Winter de Ballesteros, a beautiful English heiress who...