Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Middle Age (87)

Modern (<1799) (84)

XIXth century (77)

XXth century (<1945) (54)

Ancient History (26)

1939-1945 (14)

1914-1918 (8)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (569)

British (294)

Irish (31)

 

Language

English (902)

French (43)

German (1)

Spanish (94)

Italian (342)

 

Protection

All (902)

DRM Free (91)

DRM (811)

More options

The English Agent

Christopher Marlowe #2

by Phillip Depoy

In 1583, young Christopher Marlowe—student, brawler, rakehell, and would-be playwright—has had a dreadful evening. The first performance of his play in the corner of a very disreputable Cambridge bar is...


A Piece of the World

by Christina Baker Kline

"A Piece of the World is a graceful, moving and powerful demonstration of what can happen when a fearless literary imagination combines with an inexhaustible curiosity about the past and the human heart: a feat...


The Fortunate Ones

by Ellen Umansky

One very special work of art—a Chaim Soutine painting—will connect the lives and fates of two different women, generations apart, in this enthralling and transporting debut novel that moves from World War...


Their Finest

by Lissa Evans

From the author of the acclaimed Crooked Heart comes another “smart, funny, ingenious, revealing tale of London life during the Second World War” (The Independent)—longlisted for the Orange Prize upon...


The Evening Road

by Laird Hunt

Two women, two directions: one dark, extraordinary day.

Meet Ottie Lee Henshaw, a startling, challenging beauty in small-town Indiana. Quick of mind, she navigates a stifling marriage, a lecherous boss, and on...


The White Russian

by Vanora Bennett

An enchanting, suspenseful novel of love, art, music, and family secrets set among the Russian émigré community of Paris in 1937

The White Russian by Vanora Bennett begins as Evie, a rebellious young American,...


The Unseeing

by Anna Mazzola

A thrilling debut based based on the real case of Sarah Gale, a seamstress and mother sentenced to hang for her alleged role in a shocking murder, bringing together the accused with an idealistic young lawyer...


The Dressmaker's Dowry

by Meredith Jaeger

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco’s gritty streets...


The Stolen Child

by Lisa Carey

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants’...


Shoes for Anthony

by Emma Kennedy

This 1944 World War Two drama tells the story of Anthony, a boy living in a deprived Welsh village, anticipating the arrival of American troops. Suddenly, a German plane crashes into the village mountain. A...


The Patriots: A Novel

by Sana Krasikov

A sweeping multigenerational debut novel about idealism, betrayal, and family secrets that takes us from Brooklyn in the 1930s to Soviet Russia to post-Cold War America

When the Great Depression hits, Florence...


No Man's Land: A Novel

by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the real-life experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I, Simon Tolkien delivers a perfectly rendered novel rife with class tension, period detail, and stirring action,...


Days Without End: A Novel

Costa Book Award for Best Novel 2016

by Sebastian Barry

COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNER

“A haunting archeology of youth . . . Barry introduces a narrator who speaks with an intoxicating blend of wit and wide-eyed awe, his unsettlingly lovely prose unspooling...


World, Chase Me Down: A Novel

by Andrew Hilleman

A rousing, suspenseful debut novel—True Grit meets Catch Me If You Can—based on the forgotten true story of a Robin Hood of the American frontier who pulls off the first successful kidnapping for ransom...


The Signal Flame: A Novel

by Andrew Krivak

The stunning second novel from National Book Award finalist Andrew Krivak—a heartbreaking, captivating story about a family awaiting the return of their youngest son from the Vietnam War.

In a small town in...


Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

by Kathleen Rooney

NOW A NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER

“Transporting…witty, poignant and sparkling.”

People (People Picks Book of the Week)

“Prescient and quick....A perfect fusing of subject and writer, idea and ideal.”...


The Fire by Night

by Teresa Messineo

A powerful and evocative debut novel about two American military nurses during World War II that illuminates the unsung heroism of women who risked their lives in the fight—a riveting saga of friendship, valor,...


The Wicked City

by Beatriz Williams

New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams recreates the New York City of A Certain Age in this deliciously spicy adventure that mixes past and present and centers on a Jazz Age love triangle involving...


The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson: A Novel

by Nancy Peacock

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Invention of Wings comes “a tour de force of historical fiction” (Henry Wiencek, author of Master of the Mountain) that follows the epic journey of a slave-turned-Comanche...


The Second Mrs. Hockaday: A Novel

by Susan Rivers

“TAUT, ALMOST UNBEARABLE SUSPENSE . . . This galvanizing historical portrait of courage, determination, and abiding love mesmerizes and shocks.” —Booklist (starred review)

“All I had known for certain...