Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Middle Age (86)

Modern (<1799) (81)

XIXth century (76)

XXth century (<1945) (52)

Ancient History (23)

1939-1945 (13)

1914-1918 (7)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (546)

British (273)

Irish (26)

 

Language

English (853)

French (33)

German (1)

Spanish (122)

Italian (342)

 

Protection

All (853)

DRM Free (94)

DRM (759)

More options

The Ballroom: A Novel

by Anna Hope

A searing novel of forbidden love on the Yorkshire moors—“a British version of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” (The Times U.K.)—from the author of the critically acclaimed debut Wake

 

England, 1911....


The Last Days of Night: A Novel

by Graham Moore

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A thrilling novel based on actual events, about the nature of genius, the cost of ambition, and the battle to electrify America—from the Oscar-winning screenwriter of The Imitation...


The Lost Girls

by Heather Young

A stunning debut novel that examines the price of loyalty, the burden of regret, the meaning of salvation, and the sacrifices we make for those we love, told in the voices of two unforgettable women linked by...


The Muse

by Jessie Burton

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Miniaturist comes a captivating and brilliantly realized story of two young women—a Caribbean immigrant in 1960s London, and a bohemian woman in 1930s...


The Virgin's War: A Tudor Legacy Novel

Tudor Legacy #3

by Laura Andersen

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin’s War is award-winning author Laura Andersen’s gripping conclusion in the trilogy about the next generation of Tudor royals, bringing to life...


Absalom's Daughters

by Suzanne Feldman

A spellbinding debut about half sisters, one black and one white, on a 1950s road trip through the American South

Self-educated and brown-skinned, Cassie works full time in her grandmother’s laundry in rural...


The Quest for Mary Magdalene

by Michael Haag

From the international bestselling author of The Templars and The Tragedy of the Templars comes a fascinating account of one of the most mysterious and controversial figures in religious history.

Mary Magdalene...


Enchanted Islands: A Novel

by Allison Amend

Inspired by the midcentury memoirs of Frances Conway, Enchanted Islands is the dazzling story of an independent American woman whose path takes her far from her native Minnesota when she and her husband, an...


Marlene

by C. W. Gortner

A lush, dramatic biographical novel of one of the most glamorous and alluring legends of Hollywood’s golden age, Marlene Dietrich—from the gender-bending cabarets of Weimar Berlin to the lush film studios...


The Summer Guest

by Alison Anderson

What if Anton Chekhov, undisputed master of the short story, actually wrote a novel—and the manuscript  still existed? This tantalizing possibility drives The Summer Guest, a spellbinding narrative that draws...


The After Party: A Novel

by Anton DiSclafani

One of the Best New Books for Summer 2016 – Good Housekeeping

One of the 3 Beach Reads You Won’t Be Able to Put Down – O Magazine 

“DiSclafani’s story sparkles like the jumbo diamonds her characters...


At the Edge of Summer: A Novel

by Jessica Brockmole

The acclaimed author of Letters from Skye returns with an extraordinary story of a friendship born of proximity but boundless in the face of separation and war.

 

Luc Crépet is accustomed to his mother’s...


The House of Dreams

by Kate Lord Brown

A beautifully written novel based on the incredible true-life story of Varian Fry, called "the artists' Schindler," from the international bestselling author of The Perfume Garden.

In 2000, Gabriel Lambert is...


'Til Death Do Us Part

by Amanda Quick

The author of the New York Times bestseller Garden of Lies returns to Victorian London in an all-new novel of deadly obsession.

 

Calista Langley operates an exclusive “introduction” agency in Victorian...


Titans

by Leila Meacham

A sweeping new drama from the beloved, bestselling author of Roses.

Texas in the early 1900s, its inhabitants still traveling by horseback and barely familiar with the telephone, was on the cusp of an oil boom...


Three-Martini Lunch

by Suzanne Rindell

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.

 

In 1958, Greenwich...


Lost Among the Living

by Simone St. James

England, 1921. Three years after her husband, Alex, disappeared, shot down over Germany, Jo Manders still mourns his loss. Working as a paid companion to Alex's wealthy, condescending aunt, Dottie Forsyth, Jo...


Sawbones

by Melissa Lenhardt

Outlander meets post-Civil War unrest in this fast-paced historical debut.

When Dr. Catherine Bennett is wrongfully accused of murder, she knows her fate likely lies with a noose unless she can disappear. Fleeing...


Hard Red Spring

by Kelly Kerney

An ambitious and unforgettable epic novel that spans a hundred years of Guatemala’s tumultuous history as experienced by four American women who are linked by the mysterious disappearance of a little girl

...


A Place Called Winter

by Patrick Gale

A privileged elder son, and stammeringly shy, Harry Cane has followed convention at every step. Even the beginnings of an illicit, dangerous affair do little to shake the foundations of his muted existence -...