Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (90)

Middle Age (79)

XIXth century (70)

XXth century (<1945) (47)

Ancient History (29)

1939-1945 (8)

1914-1918 (5)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (471)

British (248)

Irish (23)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (749)

French (17)

German (1)

Spanish (87)

Italian (224)

 

Protection

All (749)

DRM Free (88)

DRM (661)

More options

Mademoiselle Chanel

by C. W. Gortner

She revolutionized fashion and built an international empire . . . all on her own terms

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her sisters are sent to a convent orphanage after their mother's death. The...


The Dynamite Room: A Novel

by Jason Hewitt

It was all her doing. She had cried wolf, and the wolf had come.

It's July 1940, and eleven-year-old Lydia has just run away from life as a child evacuee in Wales. She arrives in her English village, gas mask...


Clash of Eagles

Clash of Eagles #1

by Alan Smale

Perfect for fans of action-adventure and historical fiction—including novels by such authors as Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove—this stunning work of alternate history imagines...


The Raven's Head

by Karen Maitland

The Raven's Head by Karen Maitland, author of the bestselling and much-loved Company of Liars, will delight fans of Kate Mosse or Deborah Harkness seeking a new, dark fix.

'A compelling blend of historical grit...


The Heroes' Welcome

by Louisa Young

April 1919. Six months have passed since the armistice that ended the Great War. But new battles face those who have survived.

Only twenty-three, former soldier Riley Purefoy and his bride, Nadine Waveney, have...


John the Pupil

by David Flusfeder

Set in thirteenth-century Europe, against the backdrop of a medieval world where beauty and violence, science and mysticism, carnality and faith, exist side by side, this is a masterful novel in the tradition...


The Bookseller

by Cynthia Swanson

A mesmerizingly powerful debut novel about the ways in which past choices can irrevocably define the present—and the bittersweet confrontation of what might have been

1962: It may be the Swinging Sixties in...


Mistress Firebrand: Renegades of the American Revolution

by Donna Thorland

British Occupied Manhattan, 1777.  With her witty comedies, American actress Jennifer Leighton has been packing the John Street Theater, but she longs to escape the provincial circuit for the glamour of the...


In Wilderness: A Novel

by Diane Thomas

For readers of Amanda Coplin and Chris Bohjalian, In Wilderness is a suspenseful and literary love story—a daring and original novel about our fierce need for companionship and our enduring will to survive....


Rebel Queen: A Novel

by Michelle Moran

From the internationally bestselling author of Nefertiti and Cleopatra’s Daughter comes the breathtaking story of Queen Lakshmi—India’s Joan of Arc—who against all odds defied the mighty British invasion...


The Siege Winter

by Ariana Franklin & Samantha Norman

England, 1141. The countryside is devastated by a long civil war that has left thousands dead. With no clear winner in the conflict, castles and villages change hands from month to month as the English king,...


Into the Savage Country: A Novel

by Shannon Burke

This breathtaking adventure set in the American West of the 1820s is at once a tale of complex friendships, a love story, and a panoramic retelling of a crucial moment in American history.

 

When the young...


Fiercombe Manor

by Kate Riordan

A house as old as Fiercombe Manor holds many secrets within its walls. But which dark chapter of its history is haunting Alice, a young woman staying there during the course of a fateful summer?

In 1933, naive...


A Touch of Stardust: A Novel

by Kate Alcott

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker comes a blockbuster novel that takes you behind the scenes of the filming of Gone with the Wind, while turning the spotlight on the passionate romance...


The Marriage Game: A Novel of Queen Elizabeth I

by Alison Weir

In this compelling novel of Tudor drama and suspense, acclaimed author Alison Weir brings to life one of England’s most scandalous royal love affairs: the romance between the “Virgin Queen” Elizabeth I...


Shadows Over Paradise: A Novel

by Isabel Wolff

For readers of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford comes a captivating novel of two very different women, struggling to come to terms with the ghosts from their past—by the internationally bestselling author of A Vintage...


Amherst: A Novel

by William Nicholson

From an Oscar-nominated screenwriter and the author of Motherland, a novel about two love affairs set in Amherst—one in the present, one in the past, and both presided over by Emily Dickinson.

Alice Dickinson,...


The Secrets of Midwives

by Sally Hepworth

"With empathy and keen insight, Sally Hepworth delivers a page-turning novel about the complex, lovely, and even heartbreaking relationships between mothers and daughters.--Emily Gifin

Three generations of women...


The Tutor: A Novel

by Andrea Chapin

A bold and captivating novel about love, passion, and ambition that imagines the muse of William Shakespeare and the tumultuous year they spend together. 

The year is 1590, and Queen Elizabeth’s Spanish...


The Price of Blood: A Novel

The Emma of Normandy Trilogy #2

by Patricia Bracewell

Menaced by Vikings and enemies at court, Queen Emma defends her children and her crown in a riveting medieval adventure

Readers first met Emma of Normandy in Patricia Bracewell’s gripping debut novel, Shadow...