Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Middle Age (86)

Modern (<1799) (83)

XIXth century (76)

XXth century (<1945) (52)

Ancient History (23)

1939-1945 (13)

1914-1918 (7)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (544)

British (312)

Irish (26)

 

Language

English (891)

French (27)

German (1)

Spanish (117)

Italian (327)

 

Protection

All (891)

DRM Free (94)

DRM (797)

More options

The Quest for Mary Magdalene

by Michael Haag

From Michael Haag, the international bestselling author of The Templars: The History & the Myth and The Tragedy of the Templars, comes a fascinating account of one of the most mysterious and controversial figures...


Enchanted Islands: A Novel

by Allison Amend

Inspired by the midcentury memoirs of Frances Conway, Enchanted Islands is the dazzling story of an independent American woman whose path takes her far from her native Minnesota when she and her husband, an...


Marlene

by C. W. Gortner

A lush, dramatic biographical novel of one of the most glamorous and alluring legends of Hollywood’s golden age, Marlene Dietrich—from the gender-bending cabarets of Weimar Berlin to the lush film studios...


The Summer Guest

by Alison Anderson

What if Anton Chekhov, undisputed master of the short story, actually wrote a novel—and the manuscript  still existed? This tantalizing possibility drives The Summer Guest, a spellbinding narrative that draws...


The After Party: A Novel

by Anton DiSclafani

“DiSclafani’s story sparkles like the jumbo diamonds her characters wear to one-up each other. Historical fiction lovers will linger over every lush detail.” —People

From the nationally bestselling author...


At the Edge of Summer: A Novel

by Jessica Brockmole

The acclaimed author of Letters from Skye returns with an extraordinary story of a friendship born of proximity but boundless in the face of separation and war.

 

Luc Crépet is accustomed to his mother’s...


The House of Dreams

by Kate Lord Brown

An international bestseller, Kate Lord Brown's debut novel The Perfume Garden has sold especially well in Canada, where it was selected as Read of the Month for June 2015 and made it to the Globe & Mail bestseller...


'Til Death Do Us Part

by Amanda Quick

The author of the New York Times bestseller Garden of Lies returns to Victorian London in an all-new novel of deadly obsession.

 

Calista Langley operates an exclusive “introduction” agency in Victorian...


Titans

by Leila Meacham

A sweeping new drama from the beloved, bestselling author of Roses.

Texas in the early 1900s, its inhabitants still traveling by horseback and barely familiar with the telephone, was on the cusp of an oil boom...


Winter's Fire

The Rise of Sigurd #2

by Giles Kristian

Norway, AD 785 – a vow of vengeance must be kept . . .

Sigurd Haraldarson has proved himself a great warrior . . . and a dangerous enemy.

He has gone a long way towards avenging the murder of his family. And...


Three-Martini Lunch

by Suzanne Rindell

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.

 

In 1958, Greenwich...


Lost Among the Living

by Simone St. James

England, 1921. Three years after her husband, Alex, disappeared, shot down over Germany, Jo Manders still mourns his loss. Working as a paid companion to Alex's wealthy, condescending aunt, Dottie Forsyth, Jo...


Sawbones

by Melissa Lenhardt

Outlander meets post-Civil War unrest in this fast-paced historical debut.

When Dr. Catherine Bennett is wrongfully accused of murder, she knows her fate likely lies with a noose unless she can disappear. Fleeing...


Hard Red Spring

by Kelly Kerney

An ambitious and unforgettable epic novel that spans a hundred years of Guatemala’s tumultuous history as experienced by four American women who are linked by the mysterious disappearance of a little girl

...


A Place Called Winter

by Patrick Gale

A privileged elder son, and stammeringly shy, Harry Cane has followed convention at every step. Even the beginnings of an illicit, dangerous affair do little to shake the foundations of his muted existence -...


Eagle in Exile

Clash of Eagles #2

by Alan Smale

Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Steve Berry, Naomi Novik, and Harry Turtledove, Alan Smale’s gripping alternate history series imagines a world in which the Roman Empire has survived long enough to invade...


The Summer Before the War: A Novel

by Helen Simonson

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications...


Jane Steele

by Lyndsay Faye

The reimagining of Jane Eyre as a gutsy, heroic serial killer that The New York Times Book Review calls “wonderfully entertaining” and USA Today describes as “sheer mayhem meets Victorian propriety.”...


Terrible Virtue

by Ellen Feldman

In the spirit of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank, the provocative and compelling story of one of the most fascinating and influential figures of the twentieth century: Margaret Sanger, the founder of Planned...


At the Edge of the Orchard

by Tracy Chevalier

From internationally bestselling author Tracy Chevalier, a riveting drama of a pioneer family on the American frontier

1838: James and Sadie Goodenough have settled where their wagon got stuck – in the muddy,...