Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Middle Age (87)

Modern (<1799) (84)

XIXth century (77)

XXth century (<1945) (53)

Ancient History (26)

1939-1945 (14)

1914-1918 (8)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (575)

British (273)

Irish (31)

 

Language

English (888)

French (50)

German (1)

Spanish (130)

Italian (355)

 

Protection

All (888)

DRM Free (91)

DRM (797)

More options

The Women in the Castle

by Jessica Shattuck

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Moving . . . surprises and devastates."—New York Times Book Review

"A masterful epic."—People magazine

"Mesmerizing . . . The Women in the Castle stands tall among the literature...


The River of Kings

by Taylor Brown

“The most exciting literary adventure fiction I've read since Deliverance.” –Howard Frank Mosher, author of God's Kingdom

In The River of Kings, bestselling author of Fallen Land Taylor Brown artfully weaves...


In the Name of the Family: A Novel

by Sarah Dunant

Before the Corleones, before the Lannisters, there were the Borgias. One of history’s notorious families comes to life in a captivating novel from the author of The Birth of Venus.

“In the end, what’s...


The Hollywood Daughter: A Novel

by Kate Alcott

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dressmaker and A Touch of Stardust, comes a Hollywood coming-of-age novel, in which Ingrid Bergman's affair with Roberto Rossellini forces her biggest fan to...


The Typewriter's Tale

by Michiel Heyns

“Live all you can; it’s a mistake not to.”

This is the maxim of celebrated author Henry James and one which his typist Frieda Wroth tries to live up to. Admiring of the great author, she nevertheless feels...


Dreamland Burning

by Jennifer Latham

Some bodies won't stay buried.

Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family's property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will...


The English Agent

Christopher Marlowe #2

by Phillip Depoy

In 1583, young Christopher Marlowe—student, brawler, rakehell, and would-be playwright—has had a dreadful evening. The first performance of his play in the corner of a very disreputable Cambridge bar is...


A Piece of the World

by Christina Baker Kline

"A Piece of the World is a graceful, moving and powerful demonstration of what can happen when a fearless literary imagination combines with an inexhaustible curiosity about the past and the human heart: a feat...


The Fortunate Ones

by Ellen Umansky

One very special work of art—a Chaim Soutine painting—will connect the lives and fates of two different women, generations apart, in this enthralling and transporting debut novel that moves from World War...


Their Finest

by Lissa Evans

From the author of the acclaimed Crooked Heart comes another “smart, funny, ingenious, revealing tale of London life during the Second World War” (The Independent)—longlisted for the Orange Prize upon...


The Evening Road

by Laird Hunt

Two women, two directions: one dark, extraordinary day.

Meet Ottie Lee Henshaw, a startling, challenging beauty in small-town Indiana. Quick of mind, she navigates a stifling marriage, a lecherous boss, and on...


The White Russian

by Vanora Bennett

An enchanting, suspenseful novel of love, art, music, and family secrets set among the Russian émigré community of Paris in 1937

The White Russian by Vanora Bennett begins as Evie, a rebellious young American,...


The Unseeing

by Anna Mazzola

A thrilling debut based based on the real case of Sarah Gale, a seamstress and mother sentenced to hang for her alleged role in a shocking murder, bringing together the accused with an idealistic young lawyer...


The Dressmaker's Dowry

by Meredith Jaeger

For readers of Lucinda Riley, Sarah Jio, or Susan Meissner, this gripping historical debut novel tells the story of two women: one, an immigrant seamstress who disappears from San Francisco’s gritty streets...


The Stolen Child

by Lisa Carey

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants’...


Shoes for Anthony

by Emma Kennedy

This 1944 World War Two drama tells the story of Anthony, a boy living in a deprived Welsh village, anticipating the arrival of American troops. Suddenly, a German plane crashes into the village mountain. A...


The Patriots: A Novel

by Sana Krasikov

A sweeping multigenerational debut novel about idealism, betrayal, and family secrets that takes us from Brooklyn in the 1930s to Soviet Russia to post-Cold War America

When the Great Depression hits, Florence...


No Man's Land: A Novel

by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the real-life experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I, Simon Tolkien delivers a perfectly rendered novel rife with class tension, period detail, and stirring action,...


Days Without End: A Novel

Costa Book Award for Best Novel 2016

by Sebastian Barry

COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNER

"A true leftfield wonder: Days Without End is a violent, superbly lyrical western offering a sweeping vision of America in the making."—Kazuo Ishiguro, Booker Prize winning...


World, Chase Me Down: A Novel

by Andrew Hilleman

A rousing, suspenseful debut novel—True Grit meets Catch Me If You Can—based on the forgotten true story of a Robin Hood of the American frontier who pulls off the first successful kidnapping for ransom...