Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Middle Age (88)

Modern (<1799) (86)

XIXth century (77)

XXth century (<1945) (53)

Ancient History (27)

1939-1945 (16)

1914-1918 (8)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (592)

British (275)

Irish (31)

 

Language

English (907)

French (51)

German (1)

Spanish (138)

Italian (358)

 

Protection

All (907)

DRM Free (91)

DRM (816)

More options

A Fugitive in Walden Woods

by Norman Lock

“A Fugitive in Walden Woods manages that special magic of making Thoreau’s time in Walden Woods seem fresh and surprising and necessary right now. Norman Lock tells the story of Samuel Long, an escaped slave...


Isadora

by Amelia Gray

Using the scaffolding of Isadora Duncan’s life and the stuff of her spirit, Amelia Gray delivers an incredibly imaginative portrait of the artist

In 1913, the restless world sat on the brink of unimaginable...


Dragon Teeth

by Michael Crichton

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden...


Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession: A Novel

Six Tudor Queens #2

by Alison Weir

In this second novel of Alison Weir’s epic Six Tudor Queens series, the acclaimed author and historian weaves exciting new research into the story of Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII’s most infamous wife, a woman...


Eagle and Empire: The Clash of Eagles Trilogy Book III

Clash of Eagles #3

by Alan Smale

The award-winning author of Clash of Eagles and Eagle in Exile concludes his masterly alternate-history saga of the Roman invasion of North America in this stunning novel.

 

Roman Praetor Gaius Marcellinus came...


New Boy: Othello Retold (Hogarth Shakespeare)

by Tracy Chevalier

William Shakespeare's Othello retold as New Boy

Arriving at his fifth school in as many years, diplomat’s son Osei Kokote knows he needs an ally if he is to survive his first day – so he’s lucky to hit...


Lilli de Jong: A Novel

by Janet Benton

A young woman finds the most powerful love of her life when she gives birth at an institution for unwed mothers in 1883 Philadelphia. She is told she must give up her daughter to avoid lifelong poverty and shame....


The Girl Who Knew Too Much

by Amanda Quick

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Amanda Quick, the bestselling author of ’Til Death Do Us Part, transports readers to 1930s California, where glamour and seduction spawn a multitude of sins…

 

When Hollywood...


The City of Lies

by Michael Russell

Dublin, September 1940.

An IRA attempt to capture the British diplomatic bag on its way from Ireland to England leaves a Guard dead on the streets of Dublin. Two days later a pitched battle between warring gangs...


Stars Over Clear Lake

by Loretta Ellsworth

Mesmerizing and romantic, Stars Over Clear Lake transports readers to the Surf Ballroom, where musical acts became legends in the 1940s and which holds the key to one woman’s deepest secret.

Lorraine Kindred’s...


The Baker's Secret

by Stephen P. Kiernan

From the multiple-award-winning, critically acclaimed author of The Hummingbird and The Curiosity comes a dazzling novel of World War II—a shimmering tale of courage, determination, optimism, and the resilience...


The Jane Austen Project

by Kathleen A. Flynn

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in...


Goodnight from London

by Jennifer Robson

From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Robson—author of Moonlight Over Paris and Somewhere in France—comes a lush historical novel that tells the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American...


The Most Beautiful Woman in Florence

by Alyssa Palombo

"In the tradition of Tracy Chevalier’s Girl with a Pearl Earring, Palombo has married fine art with romantic historical fiction in this lush and sensual interpretation of Medici Florence, artist Sandro Botticelli,...


Seven Days in May

by Kim Izzo

For readers of Kate Williams, Beatriz Williams and Jennifer Robson, a captivating novel of love and resilience during the Great War, inspired by the author’s family history.

As the First World War rages in...


The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie

by Cecily Ross

Engrossing historical fiction for readers of The Bride of New France and The Birth House, about one of Canada’s most inimitable pioneers and her struggles to survive in the wilderness, brought beautifully...


Feast of Sorrow: A Novel of Ancient Rome

by Crystal King

Set amongst the scandal, wealth, and upstairs-downstairs politics of a Roman family, Crystal King’s seminal debut features the man who inspired the world’s oldest cookbook and the ambition that led to his...


The Stars Are Fire: A novel

by Anita Shreve

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Weight of Water and The Pilot's Wife (an Oprah's Book Club selection): an exquisitely suspenseful new novel about an extraordinary...


The Women in the Castle

by Jessica Shattuck

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Moving . . . surprises and devastates."—New York Times Book Review

"A masterful epic."—People magazine

"Mesmerizing . . . The Women in the Castle stands tall among the literature...


The River of Kings

by Taylor Brown

“The most exciting literary adventure fiction I've read since Deliverance.” –Howard Frank Mosher, author of God's Kingdom

In The River of Kings, bestselling author of Fallen Land Taylor Brown artfully weaves...