Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (85)

Middle Age (73)

XIXth century (69)

XXth century (<1945) (42)

Ancient History (37)

1939-1945 (7)

1914-1918 (5)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (439)

British (234)

Irish (16)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (696)

French (14)

German (1)

Spanish (25)

Italian (204)

 

Protection

All (696)

DRM Free (87)

DRM (609)

More options

Sisters of Treason: A Novel

by Elizabeth Fremantle

From the author of Queen’s Gambit, which People magazine called, “A must-read for Philippa Gregory fans,” a gripping historical novel about two sisters who tread as dangerously close to the crown as their...


Stormbird

Wars of the Roses #1

by Conn Iggulden

"Capturing the violence and romance of medieval life, Iggulden makes real those grand characters who live in the collective memory. A page-turner sure to have readers eager for the next in the series."

-Kirkus...


A Triple Knot: A Novel

by Emma Campion

The critically acclaimed author of The King's Mistress brings another fascinating woman from history to life in an enthralling story of political intrigue, personal tragedy, and illicit love.

Joan of Kent, renowned...


The Visitors

by Sally Beauman

Based on a true story of discovery, The Visitors is New York Times bestselling author Sally Beauman’s brilliant recreation of the hunt for Tutankhamun’s tomb in Egypt’s Valley of the Kings—a dazzling...


Red Joan

by Jennie Rooney

Inspired by the true story of Melita Norwood, an eighty-seven-year old woman who was unmasked as the KGB's longest serving British spy in 1999, Red Joan is a well-researched and briskly paced historical novel...


The Wild Dark Flowers: A Novel of Rutherford Park

by Elizabeth Cooke

"I found myself addicted to Rutherford Park, much as I was to Downton Abbey" (Margaret Wurtele on Rutherford Park). Now comes the new novel of Rutherford Park by the acclaimed Elizabeth Cooke...

When May came...


Flight of the Sparrow: A Novel of Early America

by Amy Belding Brown

A historical novel based on the life of Mary Rowlandson

"An authentic drama of Indian captivity...A compelling, emotionally gripping tale."-Eliot Pattison, author of the Mystery of Colonial America series

She...


The Care and Management of Lies

by Jacqueline Winspear

By July 1914, the ties between Kezia Marchant and Thea Brissenden, friends since girlhood, have become strained—by Thea's passionate embrace of women's suffrage and by the imminent marriage of Kezia to Thea's...


Strange Gods

by Annamaria Alfieri

In early 20th century British East Africa, there are rules for the British and different ones for the Africans. Vera McIntosh, the daughter of Scottish missionaries, doesn't feel she belongs to either group;...


Spartans at the Gates: A Novel

The Warrior Trilogy #2

by Noble Smith

The Peloponnesian War has begun. An army of merciless Spartan invaders have arrived at the gates of Plataea, bent on obliterating the independent city-state and its inhabitants. Plataea’s oldest allies, the...


The Sea Garden

by Deborah Lawrenson

Three stories rich in drama and steeped in atmosphere are linked by a single mystery in this spellbinding novel of love and loss in the fog of war.

The Sea Garden

On the lush Mediterranean island of Porquerolles...


The Illusionists: A Novel

by Rosie Thomas

Destined to be one of the most-loved books of summer 2014, for fans of The Night Circus and Water For Elephants

Over the course of a brilliant career, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number...


The Quick

by Lauren Owen

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London

 

1892: James Norbury, a shy...


The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street

by Susan Jane Gilman

In 1913, little Malka Treynovsky flees Russia with her family. Bedazzled by tales of gold and movie stardom, she tricks them into buying tickets for America. Yet no sooner do they land on the squalid Lower East...


Written in My Own Heart's Blood: A Novel

Outlander #8

by Diana Gabaldon

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In her now classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon told the story of Claire Randall, an English ex-combat nurse who walks through a stone circle in the Scottish Highlands in 1946,...


O, Africa!: A Novel

by Andrew Lewis Conn

A rollicking and ambitious novel that recalls Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay and E. L. Doctorow’s Ragtime, O, Africa! follows two filmmakers on an unlikely journey, while exploring...


The Artist's Wife

by Max Phillips

An elegant reimagining of the life of Alma Mahler, the lovely, aristocratic fin-de-siècle composer who abandoned her own art to become the inspiration and collector of geniuses.

At the turn of the century, "the...


Midnight in Europe

by Alan Furst

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Paris, 1938. As the shadow of war darkens Europe, democratic forces on the Continent struggle against fascism and communism, while in Spain the war has already begun. Alan Furst, whom...


The Girls at the Kingfisher Club

by Genevieve Valentine

From award-winning author Genevieve Valentine, a "gorgeous and bewitching" (Scott Westerfeld) reimagining of the fairytale of the Twelve Dancing Princesses as flappers during the Roaring Twenties in Manhattan....


The Hatmaker's Heart

by Carla Stewart

For Nell Marchwold, bliss is seeing the transformation when someone gets a glimpse in the mirror while wearing one of her creations and feels beautiful. Nell has always strived to create hats that bring out...