Historical / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (101)

Middle Age (88)

XIXth century (78)

XXth century (<1945) (53)

Ancient History (27)

1939-1945 (18)

1914-1918 (8)

Prehistory (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (619)

British (300)

Irish (32)

 

Language

English (960)

French (46)

German (1)

Spanish (136)

Italian (376)

 

Protection

All (960)

DRM Free (92)

DRM (868)

More options

Caroline

by Sarah Miller

In this novel authorized by the Little House Heritage Trust, Sarah Miller vividly recreates the beauty, hardship, and joys of the frontier in a dazzling work of historical fiction, a captivating story that...


The Devouring

by James R. Benn

A murder in wartime Switzerland reveals Swiss complicity with the Nazis in World War II, and US Army detective Billy Boyle is called to investigate.

Europe, 1944: Captain Billy Boyle and his friend Lieutenant...


We Were Strangers Once

by Betsy Carter

"Carter's warm and beautiful prose brings us love, tragedy, mystery and hope in a moving celebration of America and the people who have come to it."--Amy Bloom, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky Us...


A Column of Fire

The Pillars of the Earth #3

by Ken Follett

“Absorbing, painlessly educational, and a great deal of fun.” —The Washington Post

International bestselling author Ken Follett has enthralled millions of readers with The Pillars of the Earth and World...


The Vengeance of Mothers

One Thousand White Women #2

by Jim Fergus

The stunning sequel to the award-winning novel One Thousand White Women: A Novel.

"Clever and satisfying...Fergus is a superb writer [and] the characters are as real as any pioneer women who braved the rigors...


The World of Tomorrow

by Brendan Mathews

"Entertaining . . . outsized . . . A big, expressive debut." --Wall Street Journal

"As rich and raucous as the city it celebrates." --O., The Oprah Magazine

"Admirably fearless . . . Mathews has talent in buckets."...


The Other Alcott

by Elise Hooper

Named one of POPSUGAR's 25 Books to Read This Fall!

Elise Hooper’s debut novel conjures the fascinating, untold story of May Alcott—Louisa’s youngest sister and an artist in her own right.

We all know the...


The Boat Runner

by Devin Murphy

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer...


Many Sparrows: A Novel

by Lori Benton

Either she and her children would emerge from that wilderness together, or none of them would…

In 1774, the Ohio-Kentucky frontier pulses with rising tension and brutal conflicts as Colonists push westward...


Judgment at Appomattox

by Ralph Peters

The ferocious final weeks of the Civil War come alive in Judgment at Appomattox, the final novel of New York Times bestselling author Ralph Peters's breathtaking, Boyd Award-winning series

A great war nears its...


The Rat Catchers' Olympics

by Colin Cotterill

The 1980 Olympic Games in Moscow is already rife with controversy, but when a Lao athlete is accused of murder, it escalates into a full blown international incident. In the twelfth entry to the series, Dr....


The Daughters of Ireland

by Santa Montefiore

Previously published in the United Kingdom as DAUGHTERS OF CASTLE DEVERILL

Ireland. 1925.

The war is over. But life will never be the same...

"Everything Santa Montefiore writes, she writes from the heart,”...


The Glovemaker's Daughter

by Leah Fleming

FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF THE LAST PEARL AND DANCING AT THE VICTORY CAFE, this is a beautiful novel about dark family secrets, betrayal, love and redemption.

1666. A child is born in the farmhouse at Windebank,...


The Last Tudor

The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels #14

by Philippa Gregory

New York Times Bestseller

The latest novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory features one of the most famous girls in history, Lady Jane Grey, and her two sisters, each of whom dared...


The Sworn Virgin

by Kristopher Dukes

Dukes's gripping historical novel tells the tale of a desperate Albanian woman who will do whatever it takes to keep her independence and seize control of her future...even if it means swearing to remain a virgin...


Rebellion

by Molly Patterson

"Molly Patterson is a writer of the first order, and her debut novel is a revelatory, immersive miracle. Ambitious in scope and exacting in its language, Rebellion becomes a grand exploration of fate and circumstance."—Claire...


The Address: A Novel

by Fiona Davis

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Fiona Davis, author of The Dollhouse, returns with a compelling novel about the thin lines between love and loss, success and ruin, passion and madness, all hidden behind the walls of...


Birdcage Walk

by Helen Dunmore

It is 1792 and Europe is seized by political turmoil and violence. Lizzie Fawkes has grown up in Radical circles where each step of the French Revolution is followed with eager idealism. But she has recently...


The Half-Drowned King

by Linnea Hartsuyker

"Linnea Hartsuyker brings myth and legend roaring to life in this superbly good page-turning saga of Viking-era Norway. The book’s fiercest magic shines in the characters of Ragnvald and Svanhild, as unforgettable...


The Cottingley Secret

by Hazel Gaynor

“The Cottingley Secret tells the tale of two girls who somehow convince the world that magic exists. An artful weaving of old legends with new realities, this tale invites the reader to wonder: could it be...