Historical / English literature / British literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

In category

Middle Age (45)

XIXth century (29)

Modern (<1799) (29)

XXth century (<1945) (13)

Ancient History (12)

1914-1918 (5)

1939-1945 (4)

Prehistory (1)

 

Language

English (311)

French (8)

German (1)

Spanish (34)

Italian (142)

 

Protection

All (311)

DRM Free (2)

DRM (309)

More options

Winter's Fire

The Rise of Sigurd #2

by Giles Kristian

Norway, AD 785 – a vow of vengeance must be kept . . .

Sigurd Haraldarson has proved himself a great warrior . . . and a dangerous enemy.

He has gone a long way towards avenging the murder of his family. And...


A Place Called Winter

by Patrick Gale

A privileged elder son, and stammeringly shy, Harry Cane has followed convention at every step. Even the beginnings of an illicit, dangerous affair do little to shake the foundations of his muted existence -...


The Summer Before the War: A Novel

by Helen Simonson

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A novel to cure your Downton Abbey withdrawal . . . a delightful story about nontraditional romantic relationships, class snobbery and the everybody-knows-everybody complications...


The Rope: A Novel

by Kanan Makiya

From the best-selling author of Republic of Fear, here is a gritty and unflinching novel about Iraqi failure in the wake of the 2003 American invasion, as seen through the eyes of a Shi‘ite militiaman whose...


Noonday: A Novel

Life Class #3

by Pat Barker

A new novel from the Booker Prize winning Pat Barker, author of the Regeneration Trilogy, that unforgettably portrays London during the Blitz (her first portrayal of World War II) and reconfirms her place in...


Welcome Strangers

Good Daughters #3

by Mary Hocking

As the 1939-1945 war slows to a clumsy halt, a trembling world holds out its arms to welcome peace back home again. Alice Fairley, her friends and her family are surprised to find themselves so unprepared for...


Good Daughters

Good Daughters #1

by Mary Hocking

'What's so special about a son? Why doesn't she care about her daughters?'

Mary Hocking brings good humour and sympathy to her depiction of the Fairley sisters growing up in their close-knit West London neighbourhood...


Indifferent Heroes

Good Daughters #2

by Mary Hocking

It is 1939, and great changes come running to meet them all, snatching at their innocence and steadfast convictions and tossing them far away. Alice, Ben and Guy travel overseas, serving in the same war but...


Shylock Is My Name: The Merchant of Venice Retold (Hogarth Shakespeare)

by Howard Jacobson

Man Booker Prize-winner Howard Jacobson brings his singular brilliance to this modern re-imagining of one of Shakespeare’s most unforgettable characters: Shylock

 

Winter, a cemetery, Shylock. In this provocative...


Where My Heart Used to Beat

by Sebastian Faulks

A sweeping drama about the madness of war and the power of love that marks acclaimed novelist Sebastian Faulks's return, after twenty years, to the fictional territory of his #1 international bestseller Birdsong...


Warriors of the Storm

The Saxon Stories #9

by Bernard Cornwell

The ninth installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom...


The Dressmaker's War: A Novel

by Mary Chamberlain

For readers of Amy Bloom, Sarah Waters, and Anthony Doerr, The Dressmaker’s War is the story of a brilliant English seamstress taken prisoner in Germany during World War II: about her perseverance, the choices...


A Taste for Nightshade

by Martine Bailey

Manchester 1809. When budding young criminal Mary Jebb swindles Michael Croxton's brother with a blank pound note, he chases her into the night and sets in motion a train of sinister events. Condemned to seven...


The Other Me

by Saskia Sarginson

Sometimes it is the people we think we know the best who surprise us the most.

1986, London: Klaudia is about to start high school. She’s embarrassed by her German father—he’s the janitor at her school,...


Dictator: A novel

Cicero #3

by Robert Harris

Imperium . . . Conspirata . . . and now Dictator—the long-awaited final volume of Robert Harris’s magnificent Ancient Rome Trilogy

 

At the age of forty-eight, Cicero—the greatest orator of his time—is...


A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding: A Novel

by Jackie Copleton

In the tradition of Memoirs of a Geisha and The Piano Teacher, a heart-wrenching debut novel of family, forgiveness, and the exquisite pain of love

 

When Amaterasu Takahashi opens the door of her Philadelphia...


Wherever There Is Light: A Novel

by Peter Golden

From the author of Comeback Love­, a sweeping, panoramic tale of twentieth-century America, chronicling the decades-long love affair between a Jewish immigrant and the granddaughter of a slave.

Julian Rose is...


Moon Rising

by Ann Victoria Roberts

Who was Bram Stoker - and why did he write Dracula? Through the words of Damaris Sterne, daughter of an old seafaring family, we meet a man escaping from the pressures of his life in London. As the two become...


The Great and Calamitous Tale of Johan Thoms

by Ian Thornton

Johan Thoms (pronounced Yo-han Tomes) was born in Argona, a small town twenty-three miles south of Sarajevo, during the hellish depths of winter 1894.

Little did he know that his inability to reverse a car would...


Fatal Majesty

by Reay Tannahill

In Fatal Majesty, critically acclaimed novelist Reay Tannahill immerses readers in the tragedy of Mary, Queen of Scots-but this is not a conventional retelling of a fascinating yet familiar tale.

Eighteen-year-old...