Historical / English literature / British literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

In category

Middle Age (39)

Modern (<1799) (33)

XIXth century (28)

Ancient History (20)

XXth century (<1945) (11)

1939-1945 (3)

1914-1918 (3)

Prehistory (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (239)

French (6)

German (1)

Spanish (27)

Italian (98)

 

Protection

All (239)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (238)

More options

The Paris Winter

by Imogen Robertson

There is but one Paris.Vincent Van GoghMaud Heighton came to Lafond's famous Academie to paint, and to flee the constraints of her small English town. It took all her courage to escape, but Paris, she quickly...


Grail Knight

The Outlaw Chronicles #5

by Angus Donald

In 1200 A.D., much in England has changed. Richard the Lionhearted has died and his duplicitous brother John has taken the throne. The Earl of Locksley has been outlawed by his old enemy, now the king, and Sir...


Gretel and the Dark: A Novel

by Eliza Granville

A captivating and atmospheric historical novel about a young girl in Nazi Germany, a psychoanalyst in fin-de-siècle Vienna, and the powerful mystery that links them together.

Gretel and the Dark explores good...


The Lodger

by Louisa Treger

Dorothy Richardson is existing just above the poverty line, doing secretarial work at a dentist's office and living in a seedy boarding house in Bloomsbury, when she is invited to spend the weekend with a childhood...


The Far Side of the Sun

by Kate Furnivall

The new novel from the author of The Russian Concubine and Shadows on the Nile

The Bahamas, 1943. Hoping to escape her turbulent past, twenty-three-year-old Dodie Wyatt has fled to Nassau. But the world is at...


Sleep in Peace Tonight

by James MacManus

It’s January 1941, and the Blitz is devastating England. Food supplies are low, Tube stations in London have become bomb shelters, and U-boats have hampered any hope of easy victory. Though the United States...


Edge of Eternity

The Century Trilogy #3

by Ken Follett

Ken Follett's Century Trilogy follows the fortunes of five intertwined families-American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh-as they make their way through the twentieth century. It has been called "potent,...


The King's Curse

The Cousins' War #6

by Philippa Gregory

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author behind the Starz original series The White Queen comes the story of lady-in-waiting Margaret Pole and her unique view of King Henry VIII’s stratospheric rise to...


The Girl at the Lion d'Or

by Sebastian Faulks

"Beautifully written and--extraordinarily moving."--The Sunday Times (London)

From the author of the international bestseller Birdsong, comes a haunting historical novel of passion, loss, and courage set in France...


On Green Dolphin Street

by Sebastian Faulks

Focusing on a richly significant time in our recent past, Sebastian Faulks, the bestselling author of Birdsong and Charlotte Gray, has written his first novel set in America. The year is 1960—a fascinating...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not...


The Fortune Hunter

by Daisy Goodwin

Empress Elizabeth of Austria, known as Sisi, is the Princess Diana of nineteenth-century Europe. Famously beautiful, as captured in a portrait with diamond stars in her hair, she is unfulfilled in her marriage...


Sisters of Treason: A Novel

by Elizabeth Fremantle

From the author of Queen’s Gambit, which People magazine called, “A must-read for Philippa Gregory fans,” a gripping historical novel about two sisters who tread as dangerously close to the crown as their...


Stormbird

Wars of the Roses #1

by Conn Iggulden

"Capturing the violence and romance of medieval life, Iggulden makes real those grand characters who live in the collective memory. A page-turner sure to have readers eager for the next in the series."

-Kirkus...


The Visitors

by Sally Beauman

From the New York Times bestselling author Sally Beauman comes an intensely atmospheric, spellbinding re-creation of Lord Carnarvon's hunt for Tutankhamun's tomb in Egypt's Valley of the Kings.

Sent abroad to...


Red Joan

by Jennie Rooney

Inspired by the true story of Melita Norwood, an eighty-seven-year old woman who was unmasked as the KGB's longest serving British spy in 1999, Red Joan is a well-researched and briskly paced historical novel...


The Wild Dark Flowers: A Novel of Rutherford Park

by Elizabeth Cooke

"I found myself addicted to Rutherford Park, much as I was to Downton Abbey" (Margaret Wurtele on Rutherford Park). Now comes the new novel of Rutherford Park by the acclaimed Elizabeth Cooke...

When May came...


The Sea Garden

by Deborah Lawrenson

Three stories rich in drama and steeped in atmosphere are linked by a single mystery in this spellbinding novel of love and loss in the fog of war.

The Sea Garden

On the lush Mediterranean island of Porquerolles...


The Illusionists: A Novel

by Rosie Thomas

The intoxicating new novel of magic and intrigue by "a master storyteller" (Cosmopolitan), for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants

Over the course of three decades of writing, bestselling novelist...


Mrs. Hemingway: A Novel

by Naomi Wood

The Paris Wife was only the beginning of the story . . .

A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

Paula McLain's New York Times-bestselling novel piqued readers' interest about Ernest Hemingway's romantic...