Historical

New Releases / Page 3

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (249)

Modern (<1799) (229)

Middle Age (156)

XXth century (<1945) (139)

1939-1945 (77)

Ancient History (65)

1914-1918 (30)

Prehistory (6)

 

Language

English (7167)

French (732)

German (935)

Spanish (1177)

Italian (1272)

 

Protection

All (7167)

DRM Free (418)

DRM (6742)

More options

The Empress of Bright Moon

by Weina Dai Randel

The time for taking hold of her destiny is now

At the moment of the Emperor's death, everything changes in the palace. Mei, his former concubine, is free, and Pheasant, the heir and Mei's lover, is proclaimed...


An Ishmael of Syria

by Asaad Almohammad

Adam is a tortured soul. Exiled from his homeland, forced to watch the horrors unfold from afar. His family, still living – or surviving –  in war-torn Syria struggle daily to feed, clothe, and educate...


The End of the Hunt

by Thomas Flanagan

Volume 3 of Thomas Flanagan’s Irish History Trilogy

This third volume of Thomas Flanagan’s best-selling Irish-history trilogy (which begins with The Year of the French and continues with The Tenants of Time...


The Tenants of Time

by Thomas Flanagan

Volume 2 of Thomas Flanagan’s Irish History Trilogy 

The second volume of Thomas Flanagan’s best-selling Irish-history trilogy (which begins with The Year of the French and closes with The End of the Hunt...


Iris and Ruby: A Novel

by Rosie Thomas

Rosie Thomas, a "master storyteller" (Cosmopolitan) has been delighting readers with her globe-spanning romantic sagas for more than three decades. Here, in Iris and Ruby, she has written her most touching story...


Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings: A Novel

by Stephen O'connor

“Dazzling. . . The most revolutionary reimagining of Jefferson’s life ever.” –Ron Charles, Washington Post

"Utterly arresting." The Wall Street Journal

A debut novel about Thomas Jefferson and Sally...


Chasing the North Star: A Novel

by Robert Morgan

Bestselling author Robert Morgan brings to full and vivid life the story of a runaway slave who, in 1850, flees the South Carolina plantation on which he was born, taking with him only a few coins, a knife,...


Houses

by Borislav Pekic, Bernard Johnson & Barry Schwabsky

Building can be seen as a master metaphor for modernity, which some great irresistible force, be it Fascism or Communism or capitalism, is always busy rebuilding, and Houses is a book about a man, Arsénie...


The Dig

by John Preston

A succinct and witty literary venture that tells the strange story of a priceless treasure discovered in East Anglia on the eve of World War II

 

In the long, hot summer of 1939, Britain is preparing for war,...


Lilac Girls: A Novel

by Martha Hall Kelly

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption,...


The Translation of Love: A Novel

by Lynne Kutsukake

An emotionally gripping portrait of post-war Japan, where a newly repatriated girl must help a classmate find her missing sister.

After spending the war years in a Canadian internment camp, thirteen-year-old...


The Winemakers

by Jan Moran

A young woman

A family secret

A devastating truth that could destroy the man she loves

Many years ago, the Rosetta family’s hard-won dreams of staking their claim in the vineyards of California came to fruition....


The Midnight Watch

by David Dyer

As the Titanic and her passengers sank slowly into the Atlantic Ocean after striking an iceberg late in the evening of April 14, 1912, a nearby ship looked on. Second Officer Herbert Stone, in charge of the...


The Last Painting of Sara de Vos

by Dominic Smith

“Written in prose so clear that we absorb its images as if by mind meld, “The Last Painting” is gorgeous storytelling: wry, playful, and utterly alive, with an almost tactile awareness of the emotional...


The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem

by Sarit Yishai-Levi & Anthony Berris

The #1 International Best Seller!

The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem is a dazzling novel of mothers and daughters, stories told and untold, and the ties that bind four generations of women.

Gabriela's mother Luna is...


Three-Martini Lunch

by Suzanne Rindell

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.

 

In 1958, Greenwich...


Modern Girls

by Jennifer S. Brown

A dazzling debut novel set in New York City’s Jewish immigrant community in 1935...

 

How was it that out of all the girls in the office, I was the one to find myself in this situation? This didn’t happen...


Lost Among the Living

by Simone St. James

England, 1921. Three years after her husband, Alex, disappeared, shot down over Germany, Jo Manders still mourns his loss. Working as a paid companion to Alex's wealthy, condescending aunt, Dottie Forsyth, Jo...


The Railwayman's Wife: A Novel

by Ashley Hay

“A moving tale of love, loss and hope.” —US Weekly

“Beautifully written…this book will dazzle you [and] will have you feeling every emotion at once.” —Bustle

“This poignant, elegant novel delves...


Lizzie's Secret

by Rosie Clarke

LONDON 1938. A gritty, heart-warming and wholesome drama about two girls united in friendship and tested in love.