Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (270)

Modern (<1799) (258)

Middle Age (155)

XXth century (<1945) (154)

1939-1945 (79)

Ancient History (76)

1914-1918 (29)

Prehistory (5)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (4632)

French (552)

German (124)

Spanish (953)

Italian (908)

 

Protection

All (4632)

DRM Free (255)

DRM (4373)

More options

Tregian¿s Ground: The Life and Sometimes Secret Adventures of Francis Tregian, Gentleman and Musician

by Anne Cuneo, Roland Glasser & Louise Rogers Lalaurie

The significance of the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book to our musical canon is well known; the remarkable story of its copyist and compiler, Francis Tregian, less so. Born into Cornish Catholic nobility and plumb...


Paris Red: A Novel

by Maureen Gibbon

For readers of Girl with a Pearl Earring, a luminous and evocative novel of Édouard Manet’s muse.

Paris, 1862. A young girl in a threadbare dress and green boots, hungry for experience, meets the mysterious...


The Language of Paradise: A Novel

by Barbara Klein Moss

Set in nineteenth-century New England, this exquisite novel tests a woman’s love against her husband’s utopian quest.

Sophy Hedge, the artistic daughter of the town's minister, falls in love with Gideon...


The World Before Us: A Novel

by Aislinn Hunter

In the tradition of A. S. Byatt's Possession, a hauntingly poignant novel about madness, loss, and the ties that bind our past to our present

 

Deep in the woods of northern England, somewhere between a dilapidated...


At the Water's Edge: A Novel

by Sara Gruen

In this thrilling new novel from the author of Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen again demonstrates her talent for creating spellbinding period pieces. At the Water’s Edge is a gripping and poignant love story...


Pyramid: A Novel

by David Gibbins

Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler and Dan Brown, Pyramid is a thrilling new adventure starring fearless marine archaeologist Jack Howard, in a heart-stopping quest to uncover an ancient Egyptian secret—and...


The Architect's Apprentice: A Novel

by Elif Shafak

From the acclaimed author of The Bastard of Istanbul, a colorful, magical tale set during the height of the Ottoman Empire

In her latest novel, Turkey’s preeminent female writer spins an epic tale spanning...


The Strangler Vine

by M.J. Carter

LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2014

FINALIST FOR THE CWA JOHN CREASEY (NEW BLOOD) DAGGER AWARD

Set in the untamed wilds of nineteenth-century colonial India, a dazzling historical thriller...


Lords of an Empty Land

by Randy Denmon

In the days of reconstruction after the Civil War, a wild strip of land in northern Louisiana remained unconquered by troops and untamed by the law. This is the story of the fearless veterans--Union and Confederate--who...


The Figaro Murders

by Laura Lebow

In 1786 Vienna, Lorenzo Da Ponte is the court librettist for the Italian Theatre during the height of the enlightened reign of Emperor Joseph II. This exalted position doesn't mean he's particularly well paid,...


The Boleyn Trilogy 3-Book Bundle: The Boleyn King, The Boleyn Deceit, The Boleyn Reckoning

by Laura Andersen

“Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir” (Publishers Weekly), this enthralling trilogy takes readers back to the deadly intrigue, turbulent affairs, and treacherous passions of Tudor England....


The Tapestry: A Novel

by Nancy Bilyeau

The next page-turner in the award-winning Joanna Stafford series takes place in the heart of the Tudor court, as the gutsy former novice risks everything to defy the most powerful men of her era.

After her priory...


John Goldfarb, Please Come Home

by William Peter Blatty

Blatty's tale concerns John "Wrong-Way" Goldfarb, a former college football star who once ran 95 yards for a touchdown in the wrong direction. Now a U-2 pilot, his plane malfunctions and crashes in the mythical...


The Adventure of the Busts of Eva Perón

by Carlos Gamerro & Ian Barnett

1975. The cusp of Argentina’s Dirty War. The magnate, Fausto Tamerlán, has been kidnapped by guerrillas, who as part of their ransom demands have stipulated the placement of a bust of Eva Perón in all ninety-two...


Heart of War

by John Masters

January 1 1916: Europe is bleeding to death as the corpses rot from Poland to Gallipoli in the cruel grip of the Great War...

Heart of War follows the fate and fortunes of the Rowland family and those people...


Mademoiselle Chanel

by C. W. Gortner

She revolutionized fashion and built an international empire . . . all on her own terms

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her sisters are sent to a convent orphanage after their mother's death. The...


Decorum

by Kaaren Christopherson

Kaaren Christopherson's brilliantly observed novel captures the glamour and grit of one of the world's most dazzling cities during one of its most tumultuous eras--as seen through the eyes of a singularly captivating...


The Witch of Painted Sorrows

by M. J. Rose

Possession. Power. Passion. New York Times bestselling novelist M. J. Rose creates her most provocative and magical spellbinder yet in this gothic novel set against the lavish spectacle of 1890s Belle Époque...


The Dynamite Room: A Novel

by Jason Hewitt

It was all her doing. She had cried wolf, and the wolf had come.

It's July 1940, and eleven-year-old Lydia has just run away from life as a child evacuee in Wales. She arrives in her English village, gas mask...


The Fires of Autumn

by Irene Nemirovsky & Sandra Smith

This panoramic exploration of French life between the wars reads like a prequel to Irène Némirovsky’s international bestseller Suite Française.

 

At the end of the First World War, Bernard Jacquelain returns...