Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (254)

Modern (<1799) (242)

Middle Age (153)

XXth century (<1945) (146)

1939-1945 (79)

Ancient History (64)

1914-1918 (28)

Prehistory (6)

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (7085)

DRM Free (394)

DRM (6684)

More options

The Lie Tree Special Edition

by Frances Hardinge

Winner of the Costa Book of the Year 2015, The Lie Tree is a dark and powerful novel from universally acclaimed author, Frances Hardinge.

It was not enough. All knowledge- any knowledge - called to Faith, and...


Elemental

by Amanda Curtin

It has taken a lifetime for me to see that the more afraid people are of the darkness, the further into it they will flee.

Nearing the end of her life, Meggie Tulloch takes up her pen to write a story for her...


The Book of Blam

by Aleksandar Tisma, Michael Henry Heim & Charles Simic

The Book of Blam, Aleksandar Tišma’s “extended kaddish . . . [his] masterpiece” (Kirkus Reviews), is a modern-day retelling of the book of Job. The war is over. Miroslav Blam walks along the former Jew...


The Book of Blam

by Aleksandar Tisma, Michael Henry Heim & Charles Simic

The Book of Blam, Aleksandar Tišma’s “extended kaddish . . . [his] masterpiece” (Kirkus Reviews), is a modern-day retelling of the book of Job. The war is over. Miroslav Blam walks along the former Jew...


Shylock Is My Name: The Merchant of Venice Retold (Hogarth Shakespeare)

by Howard Jacobson

Man Booker Prize-winner Howard Jacobson brings his singular brilliance to this modern re-imagining of one of Shakespeare’s most unforgettable characters: Shylock

 

Winter, a cemetery, Shylock. In this provocative...


Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe

by Dawn Tripp

Georgia O’Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist come vividly to life in this sensual and exquisitely written novel, a dazzling departure...


The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia

by C.W. Gortner

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and...


In Liberty's Wake: A Novel of British America

by Alexandra Norland

On a sprawling plantation overlooking the James River, beautiful and headstrong Arabella Alden lives a life of privilege and order; yet like the river she views from her bedchamber window the calm belies a churning...


Robert B. Parker's Blackjack

by Robert Knott

Itinerant lawmen Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch return in the gritty new installment of the New York Times–bestselling series.

 

Appaloosa, the hometown of Territorial Marshals Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch,...


A Hard, Cruel Shore

by Dewey Lambdin

“You could get addicted to this series. Easily.”---The New York Times Book Review

The year 1809 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, and his ship, HMS Sapphire. They’ve extracted the sick,...


Written on My Heart: A Novel

by Morgan Callan Rogers

The marriage of Florine Gilham and Bud Warner is a cause for celebration down on The Point, the Maine fishing village where they grew up. Yet even as the newlyweds begin their lives together, Florine is drawn...


The Cigar Factory: A Novel of Charleston

by Michele Moore & Pat Conroy

An empowering story of families and friendships forged through struggle, loss, and redemption


In Another Life

by Julie Christine Johnson

She has fallen for a man who shouldn't exist

Historian Lia Carrer has finally returned to southern France, determined to rebuild her life after the death of her husband. But instead of finding solace in the region's...


A Friend of Mr. Lincoln: A novel

by Stephen Harrigan

The author of the best-selling The Gates of the Alamo now gives us a galvanizing portrait of Abraham Lincoln during a crucially revealing period of his life, the early Springfield years, when he risked both...


A Journal of the Plague Year

by Daniel Defoe

It was about the beginning of September, 1664, that I, among the rest of my neighbours, heard in ordinary discourse that the plague was returned again in Holland; for it had been very violent there, and particularly...


River of Ink

by Paul M.M. Cooper

All Asanka knows is poetry. From his humble village beginnings in the great island kingdom of Lanka, he has risen to the prestigious position of court poet and now delights in his life of ease: composing romantic...


To Risks Unknown

by Douglas Reeman

The year: 1943. Now there was to be no more retreat for Britain and her Allies. At last the war was to be carried into enemy territory. And, from captured bases and makeshift harbours in North Africa, The Royal...


A Girl in Wartime

by Maggie Ford

There’s no escape from the effects of war...

It’s June 1914 and young Connie Lovell should be helping with the war effort. Instead, she applies for a job at the London Herald where she meets the handsome...


Humours of Irish Life

by Charles L. Graves

THE first of the notable humorists of Irish life was William Maginn, one of the most versatile, as well as brilliant of Irish men of letters.


The Great Train Massacre: Matt Jensen The Last Mountain Man

by William W. Johnstone & J.A. Johnstone

A train full of killers. Two passengers marked for death. And one legendary mountain man. Matt Jensen is in for the ride of his life. And it may be his last…

Rich Man, Dead Man

After surviving a brilliantly...