Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (247)

Modern (<1799) (225)

Middle Age (156)

XXth century (<1945) (137)

1939-1945 (80)

Ancient History (68)

1914-1918 (30)

Prehistory (6)

 

Language

English (7609)

French (741)

German (1132)

Spanish (1308)

Italian (1128)

 

Protection

All (7609)

DRM Free (351)

DRM (7251)

More options

Glaxo

by Hernán Ronsino & Samuel Rutter

Glaxo is a chilling novel of betrayal, romance, and murder, from a major Latin American writer being published in English for the first time.

In a derelict town in Argentina's pampa, a decades-old betrayal simmers...


Wenna

by Virginia Taylor

The lady’s maid meets her match…

 

Wenna Chenoweth’s future is secure, until dashing Devon Courtney’s illicit flirtation gets her dismissed from her job as a lady’s maid. With nowhere to turn, Wenna...


Acre's Bastard: Historical Fiction from the Crusades

by Wayne Turmel

The Holy Land, 1187

Salah-adin is poised to conquer the Kingdom of Jerusalem. For 10-year old Lucca “the Louse”, it’s life as normal. The streets of Acre—the wickedest city in the world—are his playground....


Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

by Kathleen Rooney

“Extraordinary…Hilarious…Elegantly written, Rooney creates a glorious paean to a distant literary life and time—and an unabashed celebration of human connections that bridge past and future.

Publishers...


The Fire by Night

by Teresa Messineo

A powerful and evocative debut novel about two American military nurses during World War II that illuminates the unsung heroism of women who risked their lives in the fight—a riveting saga of friendship, valor,...


The Wicked City

by Beatriz Williams

New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams recreates the New York City of A Certain Age in this deliciously spicy adventure that mixes past and present and centers on a Jazz Age love triangle involving...


The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson: A Novel

by Nancy Peacock

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Invention of Wings comes “a tour de force of historical fiction” (Henry Wiencek, author of Master of the Mountain) that follows the epic journey of a slave-turned-Comanche...


Chasing the King of Hearts

by Hanna Krall, Philip Boehm & Mariusz Szczygiel

When her husband is arrested in Nazi-occupied Poland, Izolda endures unending brutality to ensure his safety.


Twenty Two Years To Life

by Mohammed Massoud Morsi

What is the one thing you wish for more than anything else in the world?

And what would you do if that one thing, once granted, was taken from you?

Fathi wakes up one morning to discover Allah has decided to...


Gibbous House

by Ewan Lawrie

Moffat is an indiscriminate killer and verbose criminal thriving in the underbelly of 19th-century London. When he unexpectedly inherits Gibbous House, an expansive estate in Northumbria, he heads north on a...


Dance on the Volcano

by Marie Vieux-Chauvet & Kaiama L Glover

Dance on the Volcano tells the story of two sisters growing up during the Haitian Revolution in a culture that swings heavily between decadence and poverty, sensuality and depravity. One sister, because of her...


The Butcher's Hook: A Novel

by Janet Ellis

Set in Georgian London, the dark and twisted tale of a young girl who determines to take her destiny into her own hands—no matter the cost. London, summer 1763.?

At nineteen, Anne Jaccob is awakened to the...


For the Most Beautiful: A Novel of the Trojan War

by Emily Hauser

The hidden tale of the Trojan War: a novel full of passion and revenge, bravery and sacrifice, now is the time for the women of Troy to tell their story. Three thousand years ago a war took place where legends...


The Second Mrs. Hockaday: A Novel

by Susan Rivers

“TAUT, ALMOST UNBEARABLE SUSPENSE . . . This galvanizing historical portrait of courage, determination, and abiding love mesmerizes and shocks.” —Booklist (starred review)

“All I had known for certain...


Huck Out West: A Novel

by Robert Coover

Our leading postmodernist novelist turns his iconoclastic eye to a great American classic in this sequel to The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.

At the end of Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn, on the eve of the...


The Midnight Cool

by Lydia Peelle

The Whiting Award—winning author of the story collection Reasons for and Advantages of Breathing delivers her enchanting debut novel, set in 1916 Tennessee: a rich and rewarding tale of two flawed yet endearing...


Dragon Springs Road

by Janie Chang

From the author of Three Souls comes a vividly imagined and haunting new novel set in early 20th century Shanghai—a story of friendship, heartbreak, and history that follows a young Eurasian orphan’s search...


Effi Briest

by Theodor Fontane

Effi Briest, the classic German realist novel, follows a young woman through her life and marriage. She is an innocent when she is married to the social climbing Instetten, and longs for wordly things. When...


Helen Ford

by Horatio Alger Jr.

Not many minutes walk from Broadway, situated on one of the cross streets intersecting the great thoroughfare, is a large building not especially inviting in its aspect, used as a lodging and boarding-house....


The Kaiser's Last Kiss: A Novel

by Alan Judd

Soon to be a movie titled The Exception starring Christopher Plummer, Lily James, and Jai Courtney, this “wonderfully satisfying, sophisticated novel” (Daily Telegraph) follows the exiled Kaiser Wilhelm,...