Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (263)

Modern (<1799) (256)

Middle Age (155)

XXth century (<1945) (152)

1939-1945 (79)

Ancient History (76)

1914-1918 (29)

Prehistory (5)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (4472)

French (543)

German (157)

Spanish (946)

Italian (876)

 

Protection

All (4472)

DRM Free (219)

DRM (4253)

More options

Letters to Alice

by Rosie James

Dear Alice, dreadful news was told to me today… Bristol, 1941: Alice Watts leaves the shell-shocked city for her new life as a Land Girl on Home Farm. It’s a completely different from her quiet old world,...


The Fair Fight: A Novel

by Anna Freeman

The Crimson Petal and the White meets Fight Club: A page-turning novel set in the world of female pugilists and their patrons in late eighteenth-century England.

Moving from a filthy brothel to a fine manor house,...


The Dream Lover: A Novel

by Elizabeth Berg

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan...


Viper Wine: A Novel

by Hermione Eyre

“Using an alchemy all of her own, Eyre’s postmodern take on the 17th century renders it dazzlingly fresh and contemporary.” —Guardian (UK)

 

Venetia Stanley was the great beauty of her day, so dazzling...


The Thunder of Giants

by Joel Fishbane

The year is 1937 and Andorra Kelsey - 7'11 and just over 320 pounds - is on her way to Hollywood to become a star. Hoping to escape both poverty and the ghost of her dead husband, she accepts an offer from the...


The Masque of a Murderer

by Susanna Calkins

In Susanna Calkins's next richly drawn mystery set in 17th century England, Lucy Campion, formerly a ladies' maid in the local magistrate's household, has now found gainful employment as a printer's apprentice....


For All Our Tomorrows

by Freda Lightfoot

From Sunday Times bestselling author, Freda Lightfoot. 1943, when hundreds of US Marines arrive at a quiet Cornish town, two lives will never be the same again. Trapped in a small town resistant to change, Bette...


Polly's Pride

by Freda Lightfoot

From Sunday Times bestselling author, Freda Lightfoot. From brief riches to rural rags and ruin… 1920s, Manchester. Living in the deprived area of Ancoats area of Manchester Polly Pride feels more fortunate...


Polly's War

by Freda Lightfoot

From Sunday Times bestselling author, Freda Lightfoot. The war might be over, but for Polly and her family the struggle continues… With the end of WW2 Polly Pride feels as though the fighting has moved to...


Paris Lamb

by Marcia Fine

Set in the 1980s, Paris Lamb tells a remarkable story about biblical archaeology that is interwoven with the realities of anti-Semitism. A robust, satisfying read with a captivating love story, the tale journeys...


The Man in the Barn: Digging Up Lincoln's Killer

by Nate Chura

The Man in the Barn: Digging Up Lincoln's Killer is a provocative modern thriller that explores the mystery behind John Wilkes Booth's death. On April 14, 1865, John Wilkes Booth shot President Abraham Lincoln...


The Jazz Palace: A Novel

by Mary Morris

Acclaimed author Mary Morris returns to her Chicago roots in this sweeping novel that brilliantly captures the dynamic atmosphere and the dazzling music of the Jazz Age.

     In the midst of boomtown Chicago,...


Sisters of Heart and Snow

by Margaret Dilloway

The award-winning author of How to Be an American Housewife returns with a poignant story of estranged sisters, forced together by family tragedy, who soon learn that sisterhood knows no limits.

Rachel and Drew...


Adeline: A Novel of Virginia Woolf

by Norah Vincent

From a New York Times bestselling author, a boldly imagined portrait of Virginia Woolf that sheds new light on the events that preceded her fatal immersion in the Ouse River in 1941.


The Perfume Garden

by Kate Lord Brown

An acclaimed international bestseller, The Perfume Garden is a sensuously written story of lost love, family secrets--and the art of creating a perfect scent.

High in the hills of Valencia, a forgotten house...


A Desperate Fortune

by Susanna Kearsley

Beloved New York Times bestselling author Susanna Kearsley delivers a riveting novel that deftly intertwines the tales of two women, divided by centuries and forever changed by a clash of love and fate.

For nearly...


Serenityville

by Alan Robert Becker

Hope seems always present in Serenityville. Witness the first daffodils of spring, or a bouncy tune blaring from a gramphopne. The villagers share the happiness of a young couple's engagement, and the miracle...


The Third Circle

by Frank Norris

It used to be my duty, as sub editor of the old San Francisco Wave, to "put the paper to bed." We were printing a Seattle edition in those days of the Alaskan gold rush; and the last form had to be locked up...


Lucien Tregellas

by MARGARET MCPHEE

From wild and rugged Cornwall, the setting of Poldark and Jamaica Inn, comes another fabulous, dramatic story… When Miss Madeline Langley is saved from some very unwanted and improper attentions on two separate...


Tregian¿s Ground: The Life and Sometimes Secret Adventures of Francis Tregian, Gentleman and Musician

by Anne Cuneo, Roland Glasser & Louise Rogers Lalaurie

The significance of the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book to our musical canon is well known; the remarkable story of its copyist and compiler, Francis Tregian, less so. Born into Cornish Catholic nobility and plumb...