Historical / XIXth century

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete XIXth century

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (286)

French (55)

German (2)

Spanish (97)

Italian (109)

 

Protection

All (286)

DRM Free (14)

DRM (272)

More options

The Fortune Hunter

by Daisy Goodwin

Empress Elizabeth of Austria, known as Sisi, is the Princess Diana of nineteenth-century Europe. Famously beautiful, as captured in a portrait with diamond stars in her hair, she is unfulfilled in her marriage...


Angels Make Their Hope Here

by Breena Clarke

Russell's Knob is not paradise. But already in 1849 this New Jersey highlands settlement is home to a diverse population of blacks, whites, and reds who have intermarried and lived in relative harmony for generations....


Man in the Shadows

by Gordon Henderson

Fast-paced, gripping and rich with historical detail, Man in the Shadows builds on the historical record to illuminate one of the most dramatic times in Canadian history

In 1867, three British colonies became...


The Illusionists: A Novel

by Rosie Thomas

Destined to be one of the most-loved books of summer 2014, for fans of The Night Circus and Water For Elephants

Over the course of a brilliant career, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number...


Song of the Shank

by Jeffery Renard Allen

A contemporary American masterpiece about music, race, an unforgettable man, and an unreal America during the Civil War era

At the heart of this remarkable novel is Thomas Greene Wiggins, a nineteenth-century...


The Sea House

by Elisabeth Gifford

In 1860, Alexander Ferguson, a newly ordained vicar and amateur evolutionary scientist, takes up his new parish, a poor, isolated patch on the remote Scottish island of Harris. He hopes to uncover the truth...


A Tapestry of Dreams

by Jessica Blair

The year is 1850, and Susannah Charlesworth loves the estate and open air life of the North Lincolnshire Wolds. She stands to become a very rich woman too - inheriting the estate, as well as her father's and...


The Swan Gondola: A Novel

by Timothy Schaffert

A lush and thrilling romantic fable about two lovers set against the scandalous burlesques, midnight séances, and aerial ballets of the 1898 Omaha World's Fair.

On the eve of the 1898 Omaha World's Fair, Ferret...


I Shall Be Near to You: A Novel

by Erin Lindsay Mccabe

An extraordinary novel about a strong-willed woman who disguises herself as a man in order to fight beside her husband, inspired by the letters of a remarkable female soldier who fought in the Civil War.

   Rosetta...


The Ghost of the Mary Celeste: A Novel

by Valerie Martin

A captivating, atmospheric return to historical fiction that is every bit as convincing and engrossing as Martin's landmark Mary Reilly.

In 1872 the American merchant vessel Mary Celeste was discovered adrift...


Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel

by Nancy Horan

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • TODAY SHOW BOOK CLUB PICK

From Nancy Horan, New York Times bestselling author of Loving Frank, comes her much-anticipated second novel, which tells the improbable love story of...


The Visionist: A Novel

by Rachel Urquhart

An enthralling first novel about a teenage girl who finds refuge--but perhaps not--in an 1840s Shaker community.

After 15-year-old Polly Kimball sets fire to the family farm, killing her abusive father, she and...


The Poisoned Island: A Novel

by Lloyd Shepherd

Tahiti 1769. English sailors arrive on the shores of the Polynesian paradise— a place of staggering beauty where magic and ancient myths still hold sway. But they soon devastate the island with disease, war,...


Mrs. Lincoln's Rival

by Jennifer Chiaverini

The New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker, Jennifer Chiaverini, reveals the famous First Lady's very public social and political contest with Kate Chase Sprague, memorialized as "one...


Belle Cora: A Novel

by Phillip Margulies

      "I had crossed all the lines they you say you can never cross without being destroyed, and here I was, alive and strong."

   

   In the grand tradition of Moll Flanders and Vanity Fair, this...


The New Countess

Love & Inheritance Trilogy #3

by Fay Weldon

England, 1905. Lord Robert and Lady Isobel Dilberne, as well as their entire regal estate, with its hundred rooms, are busy planning for a lavish visit from King Edward VII and his mistress just a few months...


Wild Fell

by Michael Rowe

The crumbling summerhouse called Wild Fell, soaring above the desolate shores of Blackmore Island, has weathered the violence of the seasons for more than a century. Built for his family by a 19th-century politician...


The Maharajah's General

Jack Lark #2

by Paul FraserCollard

A riveting tale of battle and adventure in a brutal land, where loyalty and courage are constantly challenged and the enemy is never far away.

Jack Lark barely survived the Battle of the Alma. As the brutal...


The Maharajah's General

Jack Lark #2

by Paul Fraser Collard

A riveting tale of battle and adventure in a brutal land, where loyalty and courage are constantly challenged and the enemy is never far away.

Jack Lark barely survived the Battle of the Alma. As the brutal fight...


The Outcasts: A Novel

by Kathleen Kent

A taut, thrilling adventure story about buried treasure, a manhunt, and a woman determined to make a new life for herself in the old west.

It's the 19th century on the Gulf Coast, a time of opportunity and lawlessness....