Historical / XXth century (<1945)

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (144)

French (105)

German (0)

Spanish (238)

Italian (295)

 

Category

Delete XXth century (<1945)

 

Protection

All (144)

DRM Free (6)

DRM (138)

More options

Penhaligon's Pride: a stirring, heartwarming Cornish saga

by Terri Nixon

The stirring second installment in Terri Nixon's Penhaligon Saga series

1910. Anna Garvey and her daughter are still running the Tin Streamer's Arms in Caernoweth, Cornwall, and it finally seems like she has...


A Sister¿s Bond

by Kay Brellend

North London, November 1913. The storm clouds of war gather overhead, while one brave girl fights to save her family . . .

After her mother dies, Livvie Bone knows it's down to her to support her family and...


A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

by Sheba Blake & James Joyce

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man is the first novel of Irish writer James Joyce. A Künstlerroman in a modernist style, it traces the religious and intellectual awakening of young Stephen Dedalus, a fictional...


The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets

by Sharon Maas

An unputdownable story of a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Guyana. All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about...


Max

by Sarah Cohen-Scali & Penny Hueston

Nazi Germany 1936. The Lebensborn program is going strong as German women are carefully selected by the Nazis and recruited to give birth to new representatives of the Aryan race. Inside one of these women is...


The White Russian

by Vanora Bennett

An enchanting, suspenseful novel of love, art, music, and family secrets set among the Russian émigré community of Paris in 1937

The White Russian by Vanora Bennett begins as Evie, a rebellious young American,...


Yesternight

by Cat Winters

From the author of The Uninvited comes a haunting historical novel with a compelling mystery at its core.  A young child psychologist steps off a train, her destination a foggy seaside town. There, she begins...


The Cavendon Luck

Cavendon Hall #3

by Barbara Taylor Bradford

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author comes a captivating epic saga of courage and honor, following the aristocratic Inghams and the loyal Swann family who have served them for centuries.

It is 1938 in...


Everyone Brave is Forgiven

by Chris Cleave

The instant New York Times bestseller from Chris Cleave—the unforgettable novel about three lives entangled during World War II, told “with dazzling prose, sharp English wit, and compassion…a powerful...


Bloodline

by Warren Murphy

Bloodline: a gritty historical novel about the Mafia in 1920s New York, from Edgar Award-winning author Warren Murphy.

The Falcones are an immigrant family living in New York City in 1920. Their patriarch, Tony,...


The Race for Paris

by Meg Waite Clayton

National Bestseller

David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015

The New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters returns with a moving and powerfully dynamic...


Newport

by Jill Morrow

Following in the steps of Beatriz Williams and Amor Towles, this richly atmospheric, spellbinding novel transports readers to the dazzling, glamorous world of Newport during the Roaring Twenties and to a mansion...


Madeleine's War: A Novel

by Peter Watson

A compulsively readable blend of romance and drama based on actual events in Britain and France leading up to D-Day in 1944

Matthew Hammond is a British military officer posted to the European theater during...


A Flying Affair

by Carla Stewart

Ever since Mittie Humphreys agreed to join dashing barnstorming pilot Ames for a joyride in his airplane, her lifelong love of horses has been surpassed by one thing--a longing for the skies. It seems she's...


At the Water's Edge: A Novel

by Sara Gruen

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In this thrilling new novel from the author of Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen again demonstrates her talent for creating spellbinding period pieces. At the Water’s Edge is a...


The Cavendon Women

Cavendon Hall #2

by Barbara Taylor Bradford

Cavendon Women, the stunning sequel to Barbara Taylor Bradford's Cavendon Hall follows the Inghams' and the Swanns' journey from a family weekend in the summer of 1926 through to the devastation of the Wall...


Mademoiselle Chanel

by C. W. Gortner

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s...


The Dynamite Room: A Novel

by Jason Hewitt

"Accomplished, resonant, and surprising." (Guardian)--a debut reminiscent of the beloved SUMMER OF MY GERMAN SOLDIER.

In July 1940, eleven-year-old Lydia escapes life as a child evacuee in Wales. She arrives...


The Heroes' Welcome

by Louisa Young

April 1919. Six months have passed since the armistice that ended the Great War. But new battles face those who have survived.

Only 23, former soldier Riley Purefoy and his bride, Nadine Waveney, have their whole...


After the War is Over

by Jennifer Robson

The International bestselling author of Somewhere in France returns with her sweeping second novel—a tale of class, love, and freedom—in which a young woman must find her place in a world forever changed....