Historical / XXth century (<1945)

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete XXth century (<1945)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (149)

French (46)

German (0)

Spanish (57)

Italian (121)

 

Protection

All (149)

DRM Free (7)

DRM (142)

More options

Patsy Of Paradise Place

by Rosie Harris

A GRIPPING AND MOVING SAGA SET IN 1920S MERSEYSIDE.

She saved the business, but can she save herself?

After years of neglect by her mother, when her father comes home from sea and sets up as a carrier at the...


The Investigation

by Jung-myung Lee

At once a captivating mystery and an epic lament for freedom and humanity in the darkest of times, The Investigation – inspired by a true story – is a sweeping, gripping tale perfect for fans of The Shadow...


The Lie

by Helen Dunmore

From award-winning novelist, Helen Dunmore, comes The Lie; a spellbinding tale of love, remembrance, and deception, set against the backdrop of World War I.

Cornwall, 1920. Infantry officer Daniel Branwell has...


Roosevelt's Beast

by Louis Bayard

A reimagining of Teddy and Kermit Roosevelt’s ill-fated 1914 Amazon expedition—a psychological twist on the smart historical thriller that first put Louis Bayard on the map

1914. Brazil’s Rio da Dúvida...


A Mother's Love

by Maggie Lord & Maggie Ford

Can she escape the hardships of her past?

Growing up in London's tough East End, young Sara Porter has had to learn to take care of herself. Her mother resents her maternal responsibilities and has never shown...


The Sound of the Trees

by Robert Payne Gatewood

An extraordinary debut that brings together a hypnotic quest, a thrilling Western, and an unforgettable love story.

Set in the 1930s, The Sound of the Tree tells the story of Trude Mason, who, seeking to escape...


Three Souls

by Janie Chang

An absorbing novel of romance and revolution, loyalty and family, sacrifice and undying love

We have three souls, or so I'd been told. But only in death could I confirm this....

So begins the haunting and captivating...


Wake: A Novel

by Anna Hope

Anna Hope’s brilliant debut unfolds over the course of five days, as three women must deal with the aftershocks of World War I and its impact on the men in their lives.

 

Wake: 1) Emerge or cause to emerge...


I Always Loved You: A Novel

by Robin Oliveira

A novel of Mary Cassatt and Edgar Degas's great romance from the New York Times bestselling author of My Name Is Mary Sutter

The young Mary Cassatt never thought moving to Paris after the Civil War to be an...


The Wife, the Maid, and the Mistress: A Novel

by Ariel Lawhon

“Inspired by a real-life unsolved mystery, this mesmerizing novel features characters that make a lasting impression.”--PEOPLE MAGAZINE

"More meticulously choreographed than a chorus line. It all pays off."--THE...


A Star for Mrs. Blake: A novel

by April Smith

The United States Congress in 1929 passed legislation to fund travel for mothers of the fallen soldiers of World War I to visit their sons’ graves in France. Over the next three years, 6,693 Gold Star Mothers...


The Last Train to Paris

by Michele Zackheim

1935. Rose Manon, an American daughter of the mountains of Nevada, working as a journalist in New York, is awarded her dream job, foreign correspondent. Posted to Paris, she is soon entangled in romance, an...


The Memory of Lost Senses

by Judith Kinghorn

Within weeks letters would be burned, pages torn. Promises would be broken and hearts betrayed. But for now the countryside languished, golden and fading...

Cecily Chadwick is idling away the long, hot summer...


The Housemaid's Daughter

by Barbara Mutch

Barbara Mutch's stunning first novel tells a story of love and duty colliding on the arid plains of Apartheid-era South Africa

When Cathleen Harrington leaves her home in Ireland in 1919 to travel to South...


Islands of Silence

by Martin Booth

Islands of Silence is the story of the young Alec Marquand, who in the summer of 1914 has just graduated from college with a degree in archaeology. He has been hired by the lord of a remote country estate in...


Shadows on the Nile

by Kate Furnivall

1912 London. Jessie Kenton hears her young brother, Georgie, scream in the middle of the night and wakes up the next morning to find him gone. Her parents never speak of him again.

1932. Twenty years later,...


Swimming in the Moon

by Pamela Schoenewaldt

A new historical novel from Pamela Schoenewaldt, the USA Today bestselling author of When We Were Strangers.

Italy, 1905. Fourteen-year-old Lucia and her young mother, Teresa, are servants in a magnificent villa...


City of Hope

Ellis Island #2

by Kate Kerrigan

The heartrending and inspiring sequel to Ellis Island, Kate Kerrigan's City of Hope is an uplifting story of a woman truly ahead of her time

When her beloved husband suddenly dies, young Ellie Hogan decides to...


Cockney Orphan

by Carol Rivers

A compelling tale of ordinary East Enders caught up in extraordinary times, from the Sunday Times bestselling author

Previously published with the title Connie of Kettle Street

Amidst the death and destruction...


The Ashford Affair

by Lauren Willig

From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Willig comes The Ashford Affair, a page-turning novel about two women in different eras, and on different continents, who are connected by one deeply buried secret....