Historical / 1939-1945

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete 1939-1945

 

Language

English (82)

French (36)

German (0)

Spanish (51)

Italian (5)

 

Protection

All (82)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (79)

More options

The Devouring

by James R. Benn

A murder in wartime Switzerland reveals Swiss complicity with the Nazis in World War II, and US Army detective Billy Boyle is called to investigate.

Europe, 1944: Captain Billy Boyle and his friend Lieutenant...


The Boat Runner

by Devin Murphy

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer...


The Baker's Secret

by Stephen P. Kiernan

From the multiple-award-winning, critically acclaimed author of The Hummingbird and The Curiosity comes a dazzling novel of World War II—a shimmering tale of courage, determination, optimism, and the resilience...


Goodnight from London

by Jennifer Robson

From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Robson—author of Moonlight Over Paris and Somewhere in France—comes a lush historical novel that tells the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American...


Shoes for Anthony

by Emma Kennedy

This 1944 World War Two drama tells the story of Anthony, a boy living in a deprived Welsh village, anticipating the arrival of American troops. Suddenly, a German plane crashes into the village mountain. A...


Borders

by Roy Jacobsen

A sweeping novel of World War II, set in the Ardennes, from the acclaimed author of Child Wonder

The Ardennes, a forested, mountainous borderland that spans France, Germany, Belgium, and Luxembourg, was crucial...


The Secrets of Flight

by Maggie Leffler

This captivating, breakout novel—told in alternating viewpoints—brings readers from the skies of World War II to the present day, where a woman is prepared to tell her secrets at last.

Estranged from her...


And After the Fire

by Lauren Belfer

National Jewish Book Award Winner!

The New York Times-bestselling author of A Fierce Radiance and City of Light returns with a new powerful and passionate novel—inspired by historical events—about two women,...


Noonday: A Novel

Life Class #3

by Pat Barker

A new novel from the Booker Prize winning Pat Barker, author of the Regeneration Trilogy, that unforgettably portrays London during the Blitz (her first portrayal of World War II) and reconfirms her place in...


Nightfall Over Shanghai

Adler Family #3

by Daniel Kalla

Passion, espionage, and battlefield drama: the loves and fears of one remarkable family unfold against the Second World War's Pacific theatre in Daniel Kalla's Nightfall Over Shanghai.

It's 1944 and the Japanese...


My Shanghai, 1942-1946

by Keiko Itoh

It is 1942. Shanghai after Pearl Harbor. Newly-arrived Eiko Kishimoto, a twenty-year-old, London-educated Japanese housewife, settles into a privileged existence in the French Concession as a member of the community...


The Cherry Harvest

by Lucy Sanna

A memorable coming-of-age story and love story, laced with suspense, which explores a hidden side of the home front during World War II, when German POWs were put to work in a Wisconsin farm community . . ....


Sleep in Peace Tonight

by James MacManus

It's January 1941, and the Blitz is devastating England. Food supplies are low, Tube stations in London have become bomb shelters, and U-boats have hampered any hope of easy victory. Though the United States...


The Garden of Letters

by Alyson Richman

THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE LOST WIFE

Set against the rich backdrop of World War II Italy, Garden of Letters captures the hope, suspense, and romance of an uncertain era, in an epic intertwining story...


In My Mother's House

by Margaret McMullan

In My Mother's House is a beautiful, haunting, and elegantly crafted novel about a daughter's obsession to understand her mother's staunch commitment to silence about their family's experiences during World...


The Rules of Perspective

by Adam Thorpe

On April 3, 1945, the advancing American army shells the historic town of Lohenfelde, and the Kaiser-Wilhelm museum. Within the museum's vaults, Heinrich Hoffer is hiding from the bombardment, and trying to...


Tuscan Rose

by Belinda Alexandra

From an international bestselling author comes a richly woven tale of passion, longing, witchcraft, and magic set in Italy during World War II.

A magical, richly woven World War II– era saga filled with passion,...


Jacob's Oath

by Martin Fletcher

As World War II winds to a close, Europe's roads are clogged with twenty million exhausted refugees walking home. Among them are Jacob and Sarah, lonely Holocaust survivors who meet in Heidelberg. But Jacob...


Rising Sun, Falling Shadow

Adler Family #2

by Daniel Kalla

Return to World War II Shanghai in Dan Kalla's thrilling historical novel Rising Sun, Falling Shadow, the sequel to The Far Side of the Sky

It's 1943 and the Japanese juggernaut has swallowed Shanghai and the...


The Keeper of Secrets

by Julie Thomas

Beautiful and mysterious, The Keeper of Secrets by Julie Thomas follows a priceless violin across generations—from WWII to Stalinist Russia to the gilded international concert halls of today—and reveals...