Literary

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (11046)

French (2385)

German (47)

Spanish (5560)

Italian (3265)

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Audience

Adult (11046)

 

Origin

English (880)

Francophone (61)

Hispanophone (57)

Asian (36)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (18)

Nordic (18)

Germanophone (18)

African (18)

Slavic (16)

Middle eastern (12)

Dutch (10)

Balkan (9)

Lusophone (8)

Italian (7)

 

Protection

All (11046)

DRM Free (1007)

DRM (10037)

More options

Tess of the d’Urbervilles

by Thomas Hardy

Set in Hardy's Wessex, Tess is a moving novel of hypocrisy and double standards. Its challenging sub-title, A Pure Woman, infuriated critics when the book was first published in 1891, and it was condemned as...


The Cricket on the Hearth

by Charles Dickens

The Cricket on the Hearth: A Fairy Tale of Home is a novella by Charles Dickens. John Peerybingle, a carrier, lives with his young wife Dot, their baby boy and their nanny Tilly Slowboy. A cricket chirps on...


It Would Be Night in Caracas

by Karina Sainz Borgo & Elizabeth Bryer

Told with gripping intensity, It Would be Night in Caracas chronicles one woman’s desperate battle to survive amid the dangerous, sometimes deadly, turbulence of modern Venezuela and the lengths she must go...


The Freedman's Story

by William Parker

The manuscript of the following pages has been handed to me with the request that I would revise it for publication, or weave its facts into a story which should show the fitness of the Southern black for the...


Love, Kiss and Wedding

by Guy de Maupassant

Guy de Maupassant is one of the famous French writer.

This book presents some of his short stories on Love, Kiss and Wedding.


Kaidenberg's Best Sons

by Jason Heit

Kaidenberg’s Best Sons is an unvarnished view of the lives of settlers in the early days of immigration to the Canadian priaries. Set in the early years of the 20th century, this book is the story of German-speaking...


When You Ask Me Where I’m Going

by Jasmin Kaur

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream

so that one day

a hundred years from now

another sister will...


The Butterfly Girl

by Rene Denfeld

The Butterfly Girl is a riveting novel that ripples with truth, exploring the depths of love and sacrifice in the face of a past that cannot be left dead and buried. A year ago, Naomi, the investigator with...


Classic Gothic Horror Anthology Volume III: The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Carmilla, and The Castle of Otranto

by Horace Walpole, Washington Irving & Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

The Classic Gothic Horror Collection Volume III features The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving  (1820), Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu (1872), and The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole (1764)....


The Dutch House

by Ann Patchett

Ann Patchett, the New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth and State of Wonder, returns with her most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings,...


Invisible as Air

by Zoe Fishman

A provocative and timely new novel by the author of Inheriting Edith, one that will haunt you long after the final page is turned…

Sylvie Snow knows the pressures of expectations: a woman is supposed to work...


Ghost Dance

by Carole Maso

"Although author Carole Maso follows the contours of fiction, style is everything in Ghost Dance, a strangely lovely and perplexing book . . . she has a fine ear and her literary gift is impressive." —San...


A Mistake

by Carl Shuker

In medicine, a single mistake in an otherwise spotless career can determine the rest of your life—even if the mistake was not your own.

Elizabeth is a gifted surgeon—the only female consultant at her hospital....


Arctic Smoke

by Randy Nikkel Schroeder

On the eve of his thirtieth birthday, aging punk Lor Kowalski is unsure of his sanity. He is haunted by hallucinogens and harbingers, strung out on broken stories that he cannot piece together into a lucid whole....


The Divers' Game

by Jesse Ball

From the inimitable mind of award-winning author Jesse Ball, a novel about an unsettlingly familiar society that has renounced the concept of equality—and the devastating consequences of unmitigated power

The...


Three Flames

by Alan Lightman

  • A New York Times bestselling writer joins the Counterpoint list with this brief and extraordinary new novel. Both commercial and literary in execution, Three Flames will remind readers of Joan Silber, Ann Patchett,...

  • Small Silent Things

    by Robin Page

    A lyrical, haunting debut that explores the power of parenthood, identity, lust, and the legacy of trauma, as the lives of two neighbors are upended by ghosts from their past lives.

    When the news of her mother’s...


    The Glass Woman

    by Caroline Lea

    “A perfect, gripping winter read. I loved it.” —Sophie Mackintosh, Man Booker longlisted author of The Water Cure

    “Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us—and what should.” —Sarah...


    After the Flood

    by Kassandra Montag

    An unforgettable, inventive, and riveting epic saga with the literary force and evocative imagination of Station Eleven, Zone One, and The Road, that signals the arrival of an extraordinary new talent.

    A little...


    Doxology

    by Nell Zink

    A Recommended Book of 2019 from Vulture and Esquire

    Pam, Daniel, and Joe might be the worst punk band on the Lower East Side. Struggling to scrape together enough cash and musical talent to make it, they are...