Literary / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (2868)

British (675)

Irish (73)

 

Language

English (3717)

French (143)

German (3)

Spanish (967)

Italian (549)

 

Protection

All (3717)

DRM Free (34)

DRM (3683)

More options

The Ninth Hour

by Alice Mcdermott

A magnificent new novel from one of America’s finest writersa powerfully affecting story spanning the twentieth century of a widow and her daughter and the nuns who serve their Irish-American community...


The Exact Nature of Our Wrongs

by Janet Peery

Janet Peery’s first novel, The River Beyond the World, was a National Book Award finalist in 1996. Acclaimed for her gorgeous writing and clear-eyed gaze into the hearts of people, Peery now returns with her...


The Complete Ballet

by John Haskell

A dark-hued, hybrid novel by a writer who “delivers our culture back to us, made entirely new” (A. M. Homes)

In The Complete Ballet, John Haskell choreographs an intricate and irresistible pas de deux in...


Absolutely Golden

by D. Foy

“D. Foy is an American hero and this book will slay you.” —Sarah Gerard

“Pure, mind-blowing enchantment.” —Nelly Reifler

“Gyrates seamlessly between the hilarious and profound.” —Augustus...


Solar Bones

by Mike McCormack

Longlisted for the 2017 Man Booker Prize

Winner of the Goldsmiths Prize

Winner of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year 

An Irish Times Book Club Choice

"With stylistic gusto, and in rare,...


The Living Infinite: A Novel

by Chantel Acevedo

The Living Infinite is based on the true story of the Spanish princess Eulalia, an outspoken firebrand at the Bourbon court during the troubled and decadent final years of her family's reign.

After her cloistered...


Little Fires Everywhere

by Celeste Ng

Entertainment Weekly’s #1 Must-Read Book for Fall

 

Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club’s (@RWBookClub) Selection

 

#1 Library Reads Pick

 

From the bestselling author of Everything I Never Told You, a...


Forest Dark

by Nicole Krauss

"A brilliant novel. I am full of admiration." —Philip Roth

"One of America’s most important novelists" (New York Times), the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of The History of Love, conjures...


The Twelve-Mile Straight

by Eleanor Henderson

From New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Henderson, an audacious American epic set in rural Georgia during the years of the Depression and Prohibition.

Cotton County, Georgia, 1930: in a house full of secrets,...


Dinner at the Center of the Earth: A novel

by Nathan Englander

The best work yet from the Pulitzer finalist and best-selling author of For the Relief of Unbearable Urges--a political thriller that unfolds in the highly charged territory of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict...


The Golden House: A Novel

by Salman Rushdie

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A modern American epic set against the panorama of contemporary politics and culture—a hurtling, page-turning mystery that is equal parts The Great Gatsby and The Bonfire of the...


Sourdough

by Robin Sloan

In his much-anticipated new novel, Robin Sloan does for the world of food what he did for the world of books in Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

Lois Clary is a software engineer at General Dexterity, a San...


George and Lizzie: A Novel

by Nancy Pearl

“[A]n homage to true love, painful childhood experiences, and emotional scars that last a lifetime. It’s a story of forgiveness, especially for one’s self….Extraordinary.” —The Washington Post

From...


Sing, Unburied, Sing: A Novel

by Jesmyn Ward

A searing and profound Southern odyssey by National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward.

In Jesmyn Ward’s first novel since her National Book Award–winning Salvage the Bones, this singular American writer brings...


The Party

by Elizabeth Day

A gripping story of obsession and betrayal, privilege and hypocrisy, set in the unassailable heart of the British establishment.

‘Witty, dark and compelling’ Sebastian Faulks

‘As the train pressed on,...


The Burning Girl: A Novel

by Claire Messud

A bracing, hypnotic coming-of-age story about the bond of best friends, from the New York Times best-selling author of The Emperor’s Children.

Julia and Cassie have been friends since nursery school. They...


My Absolute Darling: A Novel

by Gabriel Tallent

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

"Impossible to put down." NPR

"A novel that readers will gulp down, gasping.” —The Washington Post

 

"The word 'masterpiece' has been cheapened by too many blurbs,...


The Resurrection of Joan Ashby

by Cherise Wolas

“[A] stunning debut...reminds me of my most favorite authors: J.D. Salinger, Carson McCullers, Truman Capote, Joan Didion.” —A.M. Homes

An Indie Next List Pick for September

I viewed the consumptive nature...


The Heart's Invisible Furies: A Novel

by John Boyne

From the beloved New York Times bestselling author of The Boy In the Striped Pajamas, a sweeping, heartfelt saga about the course of one man's life, beginning and ending in post-war Ireland

Cyril Avery is not...


Midwinter Break: A Novel

by Bernard MacLaverty

For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple’s search for salvation.

Sixteen years on from his last novel, Bernard MacLaverty reminds us why he is regarded as one of...