Literary / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (2921)

British (688)

Irish (79)

 

Language

English (3789)

French (150)

German (3)

Spanish (990)

Italian (554)

 

Protection

All (3789)

DRM Free (34)

DRM (3755)

More options

The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

by Edna O'Brien

A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen “Kate” Brady and Bridget “Baba” Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive...


Future Home of the Living God

by Louise Erdrich

Louise Erdrich, the New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning author of LaRose and The Round House, paints a startling portrait of a young woman fighting for her life and her unborn child against...


The Library at the Edge of the World

by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

November 2017 LibraryReads Pick

In the bestselling tradition of Fannie Flagg and Jenny Colgan comes Felicity Hayes-McCoy’s U.S. debut about a local librarian who must find a way to rebuild her community and...


Mrs. Osmond: A novel

by John Banville

From the Man Booker Prize-winning author of The Sea, a dazzling and audacious new novel that extends the story of Isabel Archer, the heroine of Henry James's The Portrait of a Lady, into unexpected territory....


Radio Free Vermont: A Fable of Resistance

by Bill McKibben

 “I hope no one secedes, but I also hope that Americans figure out creative ways to resist injustice and create communities where everybody counts.  We've got a long history of resistance in Vermont and...


Catalina

by Liska Jacobs

A magnetic, provocative debut novel chronicling a young woman’s downward spiral following the end of an affair

Elsa Fisher is headed for rock bottom. At least, that’s her plan. She has just been fired from...


The End We Start From

by Megan Hunter

"The End We Start From is strange and powerful, and very apt for these uncertain times. I was moved, terrified, uplifted – sometimes all three at once. It takes skill to manage that, and Hunter has a poet’s...


Someone You Love Is Gone

by Gurjinder Basran

"A beautiful, haunting story of one family, spanning generations and continents, as they face life's inevitable losses, struggle with grief and reach for redemption."

—Shilpi Somaya Gowda, New York Times bestselling...


The Ruined House

by Ruby Namdar

“In The Ruined House a ‘small harmless modicum of vanity’ turns into an apocalyptic bonfire.  Shot through with humor and mystery and insight, Ruby Namdar's wonderful first novel examines how the real...


Improvement

by Joan Silber

The splendid new novel by the critically acclaimed author of Fools and Ideas of Heaven, a Finalist for the National Book Award

One of our most gifted writers of fiction returns with a bold and piercing novel...


The Floating World: A Novel

by C. Morgan Babst

“Set in New Orleans, this important and powerful novel follows the Boisdoré family . . . in the months after Katrina. A profound, moving and authentically detailed picture of the storm’s emotional impact...


Doting

by Henry Green & Michael Gorra

Doting, the last of Henry Green’s novels, is, as its title would suggest, a story of aging and yearning in which a wife and a brash young woman run hilarious circles around a hapless hardworking civil servant...


A Natural: A Novel

by Ross Raisin

An exquisitely crafted coming-of-age novel set in the high-stakes world of English soccer—for readers of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.

After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at...


Smile: A Novel

by Roddy Doyle

From the author of the Booker Prize winning Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, a bold, haunting novel about the uncertainty of memory and how we contend with the past.

"It's his bravest novel yet; it's also, by far, his...


Start Without Me

by Joshua Max Feldman

The author of the critically acclaimed The Book of Jonah explores questions of love and choice, disappointment and hope in the lives of two strangers who meet by chance in this mesmerizing tale that unfolds...


The Rules of Magic: A Novel

by Alice Hoffman

**INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

**REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK**

From beloved author Alice Hoffman comes the spellbinding prequel to her bestseller, Practical Magic.

Find your magic.

For the Owens family,...


Turtles All the Way Down

by John Green

A wrenching and revelatory novel. The New York Times

Green finds the language to describe the indescribable. . . . A must-read for those struggling with mental illness, or for their friends and family.”...


The Power

by Naomi Alderman

"The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post

"Novels based on premises like the one at the core of The Power can quickly become little more than thought experiments, but Alderman...


Queen of Spades

by Michael Shou-Yung Shum

  • Ann Patchett, at Powell’s in September 2016 during her Commonwealth tour, said she wants to read "a smart funny book that isn't tragic at the end but doesn't make you feel dumb. That book is one we can sell...

  • The Miranda

    by Geoff Nicholson

    The volunteer would complain, of course. I suppose he couldn’t help it. He felt angry or self-righteous or betrayed. He said this was not what he’d signed up for, this was breaking a promise, breaking the...