Literary / Nordic literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete Nordic literature

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (40)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (56)

Italian (11)

 

Protection

All (40)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (40)

More options

The Beggar & the Hare: A Novel

by Tuomas Kyrö & David McDuff

From a hugely popular, award-winning Finnish author, this entertaining, profound, and satirical tale follows a Romanian beggar living on the streets of Helsinki.

Vatanescu, a young Romanian construction worker,...


A Man Called Ove: A Novel

by Fredrik Backman

In this bestselling and delightfully quirky debut novel from Sweden, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door.

Meet Ove. He’s a...


The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden

by Rachel Willson-Broyles, Jonas Jonasson & Rachel Wilson-Broyles

A wildly picaresque new novel from Jonas Jonasson, the author of the internationally bestselling The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

In a tiny shack in the largest township in South...


Before I Burn

by Gaute Heivoll & Don Bartlett

An international literary sensation about an arsonist on the loose in rural Norway and the young man haunted by the story

In 1970s Norway, an arsonist targets a small town for one long, terrifying month. One...


You Disappear: A Novel

by Christian Jungersen

A riveting psychological drama that challenges the way we understand others—and our own sense of self

Mia is a schoolteacher in Denmark. Her husband, Frederik, is the charismatic headmaster of a local private...


Lazy Days

by Erlend Loe, Don Bartlett & Don Shaw

Meet Bror Telemann. 42 years old. Husband to Nina Telemann. Father to Heidi, Berthold and Sabine. Currently: stage director at the Norwegian National Theatre. Soon to be: world-famous playwright and general...


Breathless

by Anne Swärd

In the tradition of Housekeeping and Tinkers, award-winning Swedish author Anne Swärd’s American debut blends the lyricism of youth with the darker desires of age.

Lo was just six when she met thirteen-year-old...


The Woman and the Ape

by Peter Høeg & Barbara Haveland

The Woman and the Ape is the story of a unique and unforgettable couple—Madelene and Erasmus. Madelene—a sleeping beauty drowsing gently in an alcoholic stupor—is the beautiful and disillusioned wife of...


The Quiet Girl

by Peter Høeg & Nadia Christensen

Set in Denmark in the here and now, The Quiet Girl centers around Kaspar Krone, a world-renowned circus clown with a deep love for the music of Johan Sebastian Bach, and an even deeper gambling debt. Wanted...


The History of Danish Dreams

by Peter Høeg & Barbara Haveland

Through a series of vividly imaginative and wildly colorful characters, Hoeg gives us a very different account of the twentieth century, which in Denmark encompasses the transition from a medieval society to...


A Treacherous Paradise

by Henning Mankell & Laurie Thompson

From the internationally acclaimed author of the Kurt Wallander crime novels, a powerful stand-alone novel set in early-twentieth-century Sweden and Mozambique, whose vividly drawn female protagonist is awoken...


Self-Control

by Stig Saeterbakken & Seán| Kinsella

The second volume in Stig Sæterbakken's loosely connected "S Trilogy," Self-Control moves from the dark portrait of codependent marriage featured in the acclaimed Siamese to a world of solitary loneliness and...


The Shadow Girls: A Novel

by Henning Mankell & Ebba Segerberg

Jesper Humlin is a poet of middling acclaim who is saddled by his underwhelming book sales, an exasperated girlfriend, a demanding mother, and a rapidly fading tan. His boy-wonder stockbroker has squandered...


It's Fine By Me

by Per Petterson & Don Bartlett

“Reading a Petterson novel is like falling into a northern landscape painting—all shafts of light and clear palpable chill.” —Time

Fans of Per Petterson’s other books in English will be delighted by...


The Vanishing Act: A Novel

by Mette Jakobsen

"The best stories change you. I am not the same after The Vanishing Act as I was before.”—Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus On a small snow-covered island—so tiny that it can’t be found on...


Out Stealing Horses

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2007, Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2006

by Per Petterson & Anne Born

We were going out stealing horses. That was what he said, standing at the door to the cabin where I was spending the summer with my father. I was fifteen. It was 1948 and oneof the first days of July.

Trond’s...


Drowned

by Therese Bohman

Drowned, set in the idyllic countryside during a short-lived Swedish summer, gets under one’s skin from the first page, creating an atmosphere of foreboding in which even the perfume of freshly picked vegetables...


True

by Riikka Pulkkinen

Elsa is dying. Her husband, Martti, and daughter Eleonoora are struggling to accept the crushing thought that they are soon to lose her. As Elsa becomes ever more fragile, Eleonoora’s childhood memories are...


The Faster I Walk, The Smaller I Am (Norwegian Literature Series)

by Kjersti A. Skomsvold & Kerri A. Pierce

The highly acclaimed debut of one of Norway's brightest talents.Mathea Martinsen has never been good at dealing with other people. After a lifetime, her only real accomplishment is her longevity: everyone she...


Child Wonder

by Roy Jacobsen, Don Bartlett & Don Shaw

*Winner of the prestigious Norwegian Booksellers' Prize*

*A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection (Holiday 2011)*

A glorious evocation of a Norwegian childhood in the early sixties by an author short-listed...