Literary / Hispanophone literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (104)

French (26)

German (1)

Spanish (3237)

Italian (165)

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete Hispanophone literature

 

Audience

Adult (104)

 

Origin

South american (80)

 

Protection

All (104)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (104)

More options

The Optic Nerve

by María Gainza & Thomas Bunstead

  • This category-defying, English-language debut by Argentinian María Gainza will equally enchant fans of Rachel Cusk or John Berger, Jenny Offill or Leonora Carrington, Samanta Schweblin or Gaston Bachelard,...

  • Tentacle

    by Rita Indiana & Achy Obejas

    Plucked from her life on the streets of post-apocalyptic Santo Domingo, young maid Acilde Figueroa finds herself at the heart of a Santería prophecy: only she can travel back in time and save the ocean –...


    The Naked Woman

    by Armonía Somers, Kit Maude & Elena Chavez Goycochea

    When The Naked Woman was originally published in 1950, critics doubted a woman writer could be responsible for its shocking erotic content. Fantastic themes are juxtaposed with brutal depictions of misogyny...


    The Story of H

    by Marina Perezagua

    From an audacious new talent, The Story of H describes a searing quest by a Japanese woman and an American soldier to find a girl who goes missing in the aftermath of Hiroshima, a journey that spans the globe...


    People in the Room

    by Norah Lange & Charlotte Whittle

    A young woman in Buenos Aires spies three women in the house opposite her family’s home. Intrigued, she begins to watch them. She imagines them as accomplices to an unknown crime, as troubled spinsters contemplating...


    Nevada Days

    by Bernardo Atxaga

    A seductive, unclassifiable blend of autobiography and fiction set in Reno, from the preeminent Basque author

    Nine months as a writer in residence can prove unnerving for anyone. For Bernardo Atxaga, newly arrived...


    Comemadre

    2018 National Book Awards Longlist for Translated Literature #3

    by Roque Larraquy & Heather Cleary

    Comemadre is a natural fit for our Latin American translation list—funny, oddball, and dark. It came to us recommended by Valeria Luiselli and Daniel Saldaña París and is our first collaboration with translator...


    Brother in Ice

    by Alicia Kopf & Mara Faye Lethem

    ‘She thought that it was precisely when things get uncomfortable or can’t be shown that something interesting comes to light. That is the point of no return, the point that must be reached, the point you...


    Bottom of the Sky

    by Rodrigo Fresán & Will Vanderhyden

    At its core, The Bottom of the Sky is a novel about two young boys in love with other planets and a disturbingly beautiful girl. An homage to the history of American science fiction, it’s also about the Gulf...


    Tomb Song

    by Julián Herbert

    An incandescent new voice from Mexico, for readers of Ben Lerner and Rachel Cusk

    Sitting at the bedside of his mother as she is dying from leukemia in a hospital in northern Mexico, the narrator of Tomb Song...


    The Neighborhood

    by Mario Vargas Llosa & Edith Grossman

    A thrilling tale of desire and Peruvian corruption swirls around a scandalous exposé that leads to murder

    From the Nobel Laureate comes a politically charged detective novel weaving through the underbelly of...


    We Are The End

    by Gonzalo García

    ‘A unique and breathtaking talent.’ Scarlett Thomas

    “Gonzalo Garcia is so talented: a new deep and hilarious literary voice.” Dorthe Nors

    Tomás' girlfriend has left him. She has, in fact, fled to Antarctica,...


    Return to the Dark Valley

    by Santiago Gamboa & Howard Curtis

    A kaleidoscopic, cosmopolitan novel infused with inky noir.

    Santiago Gamboa is one of Colombia's most exciting writers. In the manner of Roberto Bolano, Gamboa infuses his kaleidoscopic, cosmopolitan stories...


    Heavens on Earth

    by Carmen Boullosa & Shelby Vincent

    • Lives in New York, teaches at City College of New York, very active in the New York literary scene

    •Won the Xavier Villaurrutia Prize, the most prestigious prize given for a single novel in Mexico, for...


    Red, Yellow and Green

    by Alejandro Saravia & María José Giménez

    In Montreal, Alfredo struggles with his memories of being ordered to commit an atrocity by the Bolivian army. Despising his nation as an oppressive sham, he falls for a woman with no nation—a Kurdish freedom-fighter...


    The Ship of Fools

    by Cristina Peri Rossi & Psiche Hughes

    The Ship of Fools has established Cristina Peri Rossi, author of a dozen other books of poetry and prose, as a leading writer in Europe and Latin America. This is her most important work in English and is recognized...


    Medical Autobiography

    by Damián Tabarovsky & Emily Davis

    Each time protagonist Dami comes up with another one of his “great ideas,” he is instantly thwarted by his own body, overcome time and again by various, almost comical, ailments. Throughout the ups and downs...


    Inventing Love

    by José Ovejero & Simon Deefholts and Kathryn Phillips-Miles

    Winner of the 2013 Alfaguara Novel Prize, one of the most significant prizes in the Spanish language

    When Samuel receives a call out of the blue about the death of his lover Clara, his own numbing existence seems...


    Wolf Moon

    by Julio Llamazares & Simon Deefholts and Kathryn Phillips-Miles

    Having lost the Civil War in Spain, four republican rebels lead a fugitive existence deep in the Cantabrian mountains. They are on the run, skirmishing with Franco's soldiers, knowing that surrender means execution....


    The Invented Part

    by Rodrigo Fresán & Will Vanderhyden

    What's the relationship between the real, the imagined, and the written? That's the question at the heart of Fresán's latest novel, an exploration of the mind of a disillusioned writer attempting to write his...