Mystery & Detective / English literature / British literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Mystery & Detective

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

In category

Historical (244)

Women Sleuths (167)

Traditional British (167)

Suspense (119)

Police Procedural (82)

Short Stories (18)

Hard-Boiled (14)

Humorous detective story (3)

 

Language

English (1232)

French (11)

German (0)

Spanish (118)

Italian (239)

 

Protection

All (1232)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (1227)

More options

Missing, Presumed: A Novel

by Susie Steiner

A page-turning mystery that brings to life a complex and strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case

“An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell...


Liar Liar

Helen Grace #4

by M.J. Arlidge

Detective Helen Grace gets caught in an inferno of death and destruction in the red-hot new thriller from the author of Eeny Meeny, Pop Goes the Weasel, and The Doll’s House

Detective Helen Grace has never...


A Game for All the Family

by Sophie Hannah

Pulled into a deadly game of deception, secrets, and lies, a woman must find the truth in order to defeat a mysterious opponent, protect her daughter, and save her own life in this dazzling standalone psychological...


Thursday's Children: A Frieda Klein Mystery

Frieda Klein #4

by Nicci French

“Fierce, fascinating and full of insight, Frieda Klein is irresistible.”—Val McDermid, bestselling author of Splinter the Silence

The electrifying fourth book in the internationally bestselling Frieda...


The Infidel Stain

Avery & Blake #2

by M.J. Carter

Blake and Avery return in the stunning sequel to M. J. Carter’s lauded fiction debut, The Strangler Vine.

London, 1841. Returned from their adventures in India, Jeremiah Blake and William Avery have both had...


London Rain

Josephine Tey #6

by Nicola Upson

Intrepid writer and amateur sleuth Josephine Tey returns in this sixth installment of Nicola Upson’s popular series—perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot and Jaqueline Winspear’s Maisie...


The Taxidermist's Daughter

by Kate Mosse

A chilling and spooky Gothic historical thriller reminiscent of Rebecca and The Turn of the Screw, dripping with the dark twists and eerie surprises that are the hallmarks of Edgar Allan Poe, from the New York...


Journey to Munich

Maisie Dobbs #12

by Jacqueline Winspear

Working with the British Secret Service on an undercover mission, Maisie Dobbs is sent to Hitler’s Germany in this thrilling tale of danger and intrigue—the twelfth novel in Jacqueline Winspear’s New York...


Treachery at Lancaster Gate

Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #31

by Anne Perry

Gripping and provocative, the latest Thomas and Charlotte Pitt mystery by New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry peers unflinchingly into the corrupt affairs of Victorian society on the brink of the century’s...


The Cradle Will Fall

by Clare Donoghue

The Cradle Will Fall is a short story written by Clare Donoghue, the author of Never Look Back, No Place to Die and Trust No One. It is a prequel to her crime series, featuring Jane Bennett and DI Lockyer.

You...


Cometh the Hour

The Clifton Chronicles #6

by Jeffrey Archer

Cometh the Hour opens with the reading of a suicide note, which has devastating consequences for Harry and Emma Clifton, Giles Barrington and Lady Virginia.

Giles must decide if he should withdraw from politics...


The Widow

by Fiona Barton

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife.

When the police started...


The Doll's House: A Detective Helen Grace Thriller

Helen Grace #3

by M. J. Arlidge

Detective Helen Grace is on the trail of a twisted serial killer in this riveting thriller in the “gripping”* international bestselling series.

Ruby wakes up in a strange room. Her captor calmly explains...


After You Die

DI Zigic and DS Ferreira #3

by Eva Dolan

Dawn Prentice was already known to the Peterborough Hate Crimes Unit.

The previous summer she had logged a number of calls detailing the harassment she and her severely disabled teenage daughter were undergoing....


Bryant & May and the Burning Man: A Peculiar Crimes Unit Mystery

Bryant and May, Peculiar Crimes Unit #12

by Christopher Fowler

No case is too curious for Arthur Bryant and John May, London’s most ingenious detectives. But with their beloved city engulfed in turmoil, they’ll have to work fast to hold a sinister killer’s feet to...


Blood, Salt, Water: An Alex Morrow Novel

Alex Morrow #5

by Denise Mina

Detective Alex Morrow discovers that the darkest secrets never stay buried as she investigates the criminal underbelly of a seemingly tranquil seaside town.

For reasons she can't quite explain, Alex Morrow is...


Harbour Street

Vera Stanhope #6

by Ann Cleeves

Harbour Street is the next spellbinding installment in Ann Cleeves' series of crime novels about Vera Stanhope, played in the TV detective drama VERA by Brenda Blethyn.

As the snow falls thickly on Newcastle,...


Where There's Smoke

by Simon Beckett

Some moments burn in the mind for ever. The landing is dark. Light comes from a window at the far end, enough to run by. Breath comes hard. From the stairs sound heavy footfalls in pursuit. The landing ends...


Away in a Manger

Molly Murphy #15

by Rhys Bowen

It's Christmastime in 1905 New York City, and for once, Molly Murphy Sullivan is looking forward to the approaching holidays. She has a family of her own now: she and Daniel have a baby son and twelve-year-old...


A Christmas Escape: A Novel

Christmas Stories #13

by Anne Perry

For countless readers, Christmastime means a delicious new holiday mystery from New York Times bestselling author Anne Perry. A Christmas Escape, her thirteenth noel to the season, transports us to the Mediterranean...