Mystery & Detective / English literature / British literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Mystery & Detective

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

In category

Historical (258)

Women Sleuths (175)

Traditional British (171)

Suspense (123)

Police Procedural (93)

Short Stories (16)

Hard-Boiled (14)

Humorous detective story (4)

 

Language

English (1213)

French (19)

German (0)

Spanish (134)

Italian (281)

 

Protection

All (1213)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (1211)

More options

The Four Horsemen

Alvise Marangon #2

by Gregory Dowling

Tour guide Alvise Marangon thinks he knows Venice better than ever, but now finds himself ensnared by mysteries as obscure as the city and in many cases just as old.

Certain that he is finally about to have his...


Cast Iron

The Enzo Files #6

by Peter May

In 1989, a killer dumped the body of twenty-year-old Lucie Martin into a picturesque lake in the west of France. Fourteen years later, during a summer heat wave, a drought exposed her remains--bleached bones...


The Visitors

by Catherine Burns

“Once you start Catherine Burns's dark, disturbing, and enthralling debut novel, it's hard to stop. The Visitors is bizarrely unsettling, yet compulsively readable.” —Iain Reid, internationally bestselling...


An Echo of Murder: A William Monk Novel

William Monk & Hester Latterly #23

by Anne Perry

In this riveting new William Monk novel, Anne Perry delves into the diverse population of Victorian London, whose disparate communities force Monk to rethink his investigative techniques—lest he be caught...


Keep Her Safe

by Sophie Hannah

LIANE MORIARTY says that “No one writes twisted, suspenseful novels quite like Sophie Hannah.” Packed with twists and clues, simmering with tension, this electrifying new thriller shows why.

 

She's the most...


The Bloody Black Flag: A Spider John Mystery

by Steve Goble

Agatha Christie meets Patrick O'Brian in the first book in a new series of swashbuckling historical mysteries featuring Spider John Rush, a most reluctant pirate.

1722--aboard a pirate ship off the American Colonial...


Blowback

The Enzo Files #5

by Peter May

Seven years earlier, France's top chef, Marc Fraysse, summoned the world's culinary press to his remote restaurant in central France to make an announcement that he said would cause shockwaves in the culinary...


Dead Woman Walking

by Sharon Bolton

In Dead Woman Walking, from master of suspense Sharon Bolton, the sole survivor of a hot-air balloon crash witnesses a murder as the balloon is falling.

Just before dawn in the hills near the Scottish border,...


The Seagull

Vera Stanhope #8

by Ann Cleeves

"I loved The Seagull — quite simply it reminds me why Ann Cleeves is one of my favorite mystery writers! I relish learning more about Vera with each book, and The Seagull provides fresh insight into one of...


The Sorbonne Affair: A Hugo Marston Novel

Hugo Marston #7

by Mark Pryor

Someone is spying on American author Helen Hancock. While in Paris to conduct research and teach a small class of writers, she discovers a spy camera hidden in her room at the Sorbonne Hotel. She notifies the...


Telling Tales

Vera Stanhope #2

by Ann Cleeves

From Ann Cleeves, winner of the CWA Diamond Dagger Award, comes Telling Tales, an early book in the Vera Stanhope series, which has been brought to life by Brenda Blethyn in the hit TV series Vera.

“I do love...


The Doll Funeral

by Kate Hamer

“[Evokes] both Jeanette Winterson and Ian McEwan . . . an elegiac and uplifting novel about the indissoluble bonds between mothers and daughters, and a reminder of how the imagination can set you free.”...


Sleeping in the Ground

Inspector Banks #24

by Peter Robinson

MICHAEL CONNELLY calls Peter Robinson "an author with amazing empathy, a snare-trap ear for dialogue, and a clear eye for the telling detail."

See why in Sleeping in the Ground, the gripping new novel starring...


On Her Majesty's Frightfully Secret Service

Her Royal Spyness Mysteries #11

by Rhys Bowen

In the new Royal Spyness Mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Crowned and Dangerous, Lady Georgiana Rannoch juggles secret missions from the Queen, Darcy, and her mother. But it’s all in a...


Yesterday

by Felicia Yap

How do you solve a murder when you can only remember yesterday?

Imagine a world in which classes are divided not by wealth or religion but by how much each group can remember. Monos, the majority, have only one...


Stasi Child

by David Young

David Young's chillingly intricate Stasi Child was A London Times “Crime Book of the Month” and a Telegraph Pick of the Week.

1975: When Oberleutnant Karin Muller is called to investigate a teenage girl's...


Penance of the Damned

Sister Fidelma #27

by Peter Tremayne

Ireland, AD 671. King Colgú of Cashel is shocked to learn that his loyal Chief Bishop and advisor has been murdered in the old enemy fortress of the Uí Fidgente. When word reaches Cashel that the culprit will...


A Distant View of Everything: An Isabel Dalhousie Novel (11)

Isabel Dalhousie #11

by Alexander McCall Smith

When a matchmaker begins to question her latest match, Isabel Dalhousie is called upon to help.

 

A new baby brings an abundance of joy to Isabel and her husband, Jamie—but almost-four-year-old Charlie is none...


The Third Nero

Flavia Albia Mysteries #5

by Lindsey Davis

In 90 A.D., following the Saturninus revolt in Germany, the Emperor Domitian has become more paranoid about traitors and dissenters around him. This leads to several senators and even provincial governors facing...


My Sister's Bones

by Nuala Ellwood

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all...