Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (1438)

DRM Free (164)

DRM (1248)

More options

Murder on a Summer's Day

by Frances Brody

When the India Office seek help in finding Maharajah Narayan, last seen hunting on the Bolton Abbey estate, they call upon the expertise of renowned amateur detective Kate Shackleton to investigate.

But soon...


The Big Brush-off: A Jake & Laura Mystery

by Michael Murphy

The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy’s witty, fast-paced mystery series—perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable...


Beauty, Beast, and Belladonna: A Fairy Tale Fatal Mystery

by Maia Chance

From the author of Cinderella Six Feet Under, a beauty must solve a beastly murder.

Variety hall actress Ophelia Flax knows how to win over an audience. That’s why she’s accepted the marriage proposal of...


Silence of Stones, The: A Crispin Guest medieval noir

by Jeri Westerson

London, 1388. When the mythical Stone of Destiny disappears from the throne of England, the populace takes it as a sign that rebellion is near. Desperate, Richard calls in Crispin Guest to find the missing stone...


Trade Secrets: A Marcus Corvinus mystery set in Ancient Rome

by David Wishart

May, AD 41. The emperor Claudius has acceded to the throne, and Rome's citizens look forward to an era of peace. Not so Marcus Corvinus however, who finds himself investigating two murders. At first Marcus refuses...


Hardcastle's Collector: A police procedural set during World War One

by Graham Ison

August 1917. For a change, in this investigation Hardcastle has plenty of suspects. Was the murderer one of Daisy Salter's many suitors? Or could it have been Daisy's own father? In an unfamiliar environment,...


The Plague of Thieves Affair

Carpenter and Quincannon #4

by Marcia Muller & Bill Pronzini

Sabina Carpenter and John Quinncannon are no stranger to mysteries. In the five years since they opened Carpenter and Quinncannon, Professional Detective Services, they have solved dozens, but one has eluded...


Brooklyn on Fire: A Mary Handley Mystery

Mary Handley #2

by Lawrence H. Levy

Brooklyn’s most witty and daring detective risks everything to solve a dangerous triple-murder case

After closing a case with the Brooklyn Police Department, Mary Handley is determined to become an official...


Even the Dead

Quirke #7

by Benjamin Black

A suspicious death, a pregnant woman suddenly gone missing: Quirke's latest case leads him inexorably toward the dark machinations of an old foe

Perhaps Quirke has been down among the dead too long. Lately the...


Death of an Alchemist

by Mary Lawrence

In the mid sixteenth century, Henry VIII sits on the throne, and Bianca Goddard tends to the sick and suffering in London’s slums, where disease can take a life as quickly as murder…

 

For years, alchemist...


A Thousand Falling Crows

by Larry D. Sweazy

Sonny Burton was forced to retire from the Texas Rangers after taking a bullet from Bonnie Parker in a shoot-out. The bullet so damaged Sonny’s right arm that he had to have it amputated. 

While Sonny struggles...


A Dream of Daring

by Gen LaGreca

A Foreword Book of the Year Finalist and winner of five literary awards.

In the South before the Civil War, one man's radical ideas and breakthrough invention threaten the townspeople's privileged way of life,...


Haunting Investigation

by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro

Spring 1924. The world has clawed its way back from the ravages of WWI and the Spanish Flu pandemic. The 20's are beginning to roar. Poppy Thornton lives with her Aunt Jo and her excitable cat Maestro in upper-crust...


Louise's Chance: A 1940s spy thriller set in wartime Washington

by Sarah R. Shaber

1940s, Washington DC. Government girl Louise Pearlie has a new job: recruiting German prisoners-of-war for a secret mission inside Nazi Germany. It's a big chance for her, but from the outset the mission is...


The Herald of Hell: A Brother Athelstan novel of Medieval London

by Paul Doherty

May, 1381. The Great Revolt draws nearer. The Upright Men roam the streets of London, waiting for violence to begin. Their mysterious envoy, the Herald of Hell, appears at night, terrifying those who oppose...


Sherlock Holmes and John Watson: The Night They Met

by Atlin Merrick

Some things belong together, the one with the other, natural pairs. Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. Holmes and Watson. Sherlock and John. Whether it's in an empty house during the Blitz, a West London strip...


Red Dragon-White Dragon

by Gary Dolman

Atticus and Lucie Fox are summoned to a country estate in remote Northumberland, where a series of bizarre murders appear to centre on the delusions of a madman, who lives alone on the edge of the moors. Close by...


Murder Most Malicious

by Alyssa Maxwell

In post–World War I England, Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady’s maid, Eva Huntford, step outside of their social roles and put their lives at risk to apprehend a vicious killer…

 

December 1918: As a...


The Traitor's Mark: A Tudor Mystery

by D. K. Wilson

Based on the true story of the unsolved disappearance of Hans Holbein—famed portrait-painter of Henry VIII—this atmospheric historical novel plunges into an underworld of Tudor politics and intrigue. The...


Riot Most Uncouth

by Daniel Friedman

1807, Cambridge, England.

A young woman is murdered in a boarding house, and nobody knows what to do about it. The volunteer watchman who patrols the streets of this placid college town has no idea how to investigate...