Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Language

English (1792)

French (40)

German (216)

Spanish (231)

Italian (212)

 

Protection

All (1792)

DRM Free (201)

DRM (1589)

More options

Nine Lessons

by Nicola Upson

Called to the peaceful wooded churchyard of St-John’s-at-Hampstead, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces one of the most audacious and unusual murders of his career. The body of the church’s organist...


Perish from the Earth

by Jonathan F. Putnam

Newly minted trial lawyer Abraham Lincoln is riding the circuit, traveling by carriage with other lawyers and a judge to bring justice to the remote parts of Illinois. Meanwhile, Lincoln's close friend Joshua...


Murder in Mayfair

by D. M. Quincy

In 1814, Atlas Catesby, a brilliant adventurer and youngest son of a baron, is anxious to resume his world travels after being injured in a carriage accident in London. But his plans are derailed when, passing...


The Mystery of a Hansom Cab

by Fergus Hume

In the dead of night on a lonely Melbourne street, a cabbie discovers to his horror that his drunken passenger has been murdered — poisoned with a chloroform-saturated handkerchief. The killer, his motive,...


The Sign of Four

by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Sign of Four is the second novel featuring Sherlock Holmes written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Doyle wrote four novels and 56 stories starring the fictional detective. The story is set in 1888. The Sign of...


The Red House Mystery

by A. A. Milne

The Red House Mystery is a "locked room" whodunnit by A. A. Milne, published in 1922. It was Milne's only mystery novel. The setting is an English country house, where Mark Ablett has been entertaining a house...


The Phantom of the Opera

by Gaston Leroux

The Phantom of the Opera is a novel by French writer Gaston Leroux. It was first published as a serialisation in Le Gaulois from September 23, 1909, to January 8, 1910. It was published in volume form in late...


The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes

by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of Sherlock Holmes stories, originally published in 1893, by Arthur Conan Doyle. The first London edition of the Memoirs in 1894 did not include "The Adventure...


The Man Who Knew Too Much

by G. K. Chesterton

The Man Who Knew Too Much is a book of detective stories by English writer G. K. Chesterton, published in 1922 by Cassell and Company in the United Kingdom, and Harper Brothers in the United States. The book...


The Mystery of Marie Roget

by Edgar Allan Poe

The Mystery of Marie Rogêt, often subtitled A Sequel to "The Murders in the Rue Morgue", is a short story by Edgar Allan Poe written in 1842. This is the first murder mystery based on the details of a real...


The Murders in the Rue Morgue

by Edgar Allan Poe

The Murders in the Rue Morgue is a short story by Edgar Allan Poe published in Graham's Magazine in 1841. It has been recognized as the first modern detective story; Poe referred to it as one of his "tales of...


The Mysteries of Udolpho

by Ann Radcliffe

The Mysteries of Udolpho, by Ann Radcliffe, was published in four volumes on 8 May 1794 by G. G. and J. Robinson of London. The firm paid her £500 for the manuscript. The contract is housed at the University...


The Innocence of Father Brown

by G. K. Chesterton

Father Brown is a fictional Roman Catholic priest and amateur sleuth created in the early 20th century by English novelist G. K. Chesterton. Father Brown is featured in a series of 53 short stories where he...


The Lodger

by Marie Belloc Lowndes

Somewhere in London a madman was at large. And then one night there came a knock at the door of a quiet lodging house in the Marylebone Road. . . . This novel, based on the Jack the Ripper murders, was made...


The Moonstone

by Wilkie Collins

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins is a 19th-century British epistolary novel, generally considered the first full length detective novel in the English language. The story was originally serialised in Charles...


The Hound of the Baskervilles

by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the third of the crime novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle featuring the detective Sherlock Holmes. Originally serialised in The Strand Magazine from August 1901 to April...


A Twisted Vengeance: A Kate Clifford Novel

by Candace Robb

As the fourteenth century comes to a close, York seethes on the brink of civil war—and young widow Kate Clifford, struggling to keep her businesses afloat, realizes that her mother is harboring a dangerous...


The Coroner's Daughter: A Novel

by Andrew Hughes

When a young woman uncovers evidence that a recent suicide may have been murder, her investigations attract the attention of a dangerous man stalking the streets of nineteenth-century Dublin. Dublin, 1816. A...


The Pursuit of the House-Boat

by John Kendrick Bangs

NOVELLA (102 pagine) - GIALLO - Being Some Further Account of the Divers Doings of the Associated Shades, Under the Leadership of Sherlock Holmes, Esq.

For all Sherlock Holmes lovers, we decided to publish this...


Murder between the Lines

by Radha Vatsal

"I really and truly could not put it down... Vatsal succeeds once again!"-Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times-bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Rhys Bowen, Murder...