Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (1080)

French (64)

German (326)

Spanish (263)

Italian (247)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Protection

All (1080)

DRM Free (254)

DRM (826)

More options

A Promise Given

by Michelle Cox

A Girl Like You (Book 1 of the series) has received 11 indie book awards to date in multiple genres—historical fiction, mystery, and romance—including the IPPY Gold medal for mystery and 2016 Foreword...


[Bone Rattler 5]

by Eliot Pattison

  • For fans of Geraldine Brooks' novels, Caleb Carr's The Alienist, or Laird Hunt's Neverhome, Elliott Pattison is an exciting talent, capable of weaving the most page-turning of historical thrillers
  • Set during...

  • It Begins In Betrayal

    by Iona Whishaw

    The fourth book in what the Globe and Mail has proclaimed “a terrific series” by “a writer to watch.”

    Summer descends over the picturesque King’s Cove as Darling and Lane’s mutual affection blossoms....


    The Moby-Dick Blues

    by Michael Strelow

    Arvin Kraft loves his complicated family, but they talk about him: how slow he is, how they need to share the burden of caring for him, how tired they all are. He hides in the walls of the family’s old house...


    The Magpie Tree

    by Katherine Stansfield

    Jamaica Inn, 1844: the talk is of witches. A boy has vanished in the woods of Trethevy on the North Cornish coast, and a reward is offered for his return. Shilly has had enough of such dark doings, but her new...


    Murder at the Bayswater Bicycle Club

    by Linda Stratmann

    London 1882: In this her final case, Frances Doughty goes undercover for Her Majesty’s Government to investigate some disturbing information regarding the apparently innocuous Bayswater Bicycle Club. Before...


    Santa Fe Mourning

    by Amanda Allen

  • PITCH PERFECT HISTORICAL: Fans of the Roaring 20s, Great Gatsby, as well as historical mysteries will instantly be drawn to decadent Santa Fe Mourning.

  • CROOKED LANE STRENGTH: As evidenced by The Ripper’s Shadow,...

  • Searcher of the Dead

    by Nancy Herriman

  • PITCH PERFECT HISTORICAL: Fans of the Elizabethan era as well as historical mysteries will instantly be drawn to decadent Searcher of the Dead.

  • CROOKED LANE STRENGTH: As evidenced by The Ripper’s Shadow, and...

  • Dead Men Tell No Tales

    by E. W. Hornung

    You mean when Ready asked him if we were out of our course? I must say I thought it was a silly question to put. It was the same the other evening about the cargo. If the skipper says we're in ballast why not...


    The Bags of Tricks Affair

    Carpenter and Quincannon #6

    by Bill Pronzini

    The Bags of Tricks Affair is the latest charming historical mystery in Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Bill Pronzini's detective series.

    A conman always has a bag of tricks, ready to fool the unsuspecting,...


    The Mysterious Affair at Styles

    by Agatha Christie

    Poirot, a Belgian refugee of the Great War, is settling in England near the home of Emily Inglethorp, who helped him to his new life. His friend Hastings arrives as a guest at her home. When the woman is killed,...


    The Thirty-Nine Steps

    by John Buchan

    Richard Hannay's boredom with London society is soon relieved when the resourceful engineer from South Africa is caught up in a web of secret codes, spies, and murder on the eve of WWI. When a neighbor is killed...


    The Spruce Street Tragedy

    by Irvin S Cobb

    A classic late 19th-century US detective story!

    Cobb is remembered best for his humorous stories of Kentucky and is part of the American literary regionalism school. These stories were collected first in the...


    Gruesome Discovery, A

    by Cora Harrison

    The Reverend Mother receives a decidedly gruesome gift in this compelling Irish historical mystery.

    Ireland. 1925.

    Like all who seek charitable contributions, Reverend Mother Aquinas is used to being gifted some...


    Magic Chair Murder, The

    by Diane Janes

    Introducing amateur sleuths Frances Black and Tom Dod in the first of an intriguing new historical mystery series set in the north of England.

    1929.

    The night before she’s due to make a speech to the Robert...


    Collected Works: Volume 4

    by Edgar Allan Poe & Sheba Blake

    Collected Works of American author Edgar Allan Poe include many poems, short stories, and one novel. His fiction spans multiple genres, including horror fiction, adventure, science fiction, and detective fiction,...


    Collected Works: Volume 5

    by Edgar Allan Poe & Sheba Blake

    Collected Works of American author Edgar Allan Poe include many poems, short stories, and one novel. His fiction spans multiple genres, including horror fiction, adventure, science fiction, and detective fiction,...


    Hunted Down

    by Charles Dickens

    Dickens is considered to be one of the greatest British writers. He was a social activist who wrote plays and novels during the Victorian period. His most famous novels include Tale of Two Cities, Oliver Twist,...


    The Throne of Caesar

    Novels of Ancient Rome #13

    by Steven Saylor

    "What a marvel!...Saylor's masterful storytelling puts you right there, wonderstruck and wide-eyed. Deliciously immersive, captivating entertainment from a justly celebrated writer." —Margaret George

    In The...


    The Blasphemers

    by Annamaria Alfieri

    Justin Tolliver is on the brink of an enormous change. The younger son of an English peer—that is, the son with no money and no prospects—he had joined the police force in British East Africa, full of dreams...