Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Language

English (1558)

French (38)

German (129)

Spanish (217)

Italian (266)

 

Protection

All (1558)

DRM Free (175)

DRM (1357)

More options

Signal for Vengeance

by Edward Marston

1860, Wimborne, Dorset. Rebecca Tullidge, miserably married to her callous husband, finds some escape through a love affair with another man. After putting her drunk husband to bed one Saturday night, she sneaks...


Expect Deception: An Operation Delphi Novel

by JoAnn Smith Ainsworth

When the US government recruits Livvy Delacourt and a team of fellow psychics to find Nazi spies on the East Coast during WWII, she must sharpen her skills quickly-or risk dying and taking the team down with...


A Gem of a Problem

by Irene Sauman

It is the 1870s in Australia, at the height of the Murray River paddle steamer trade. Emma Berry is back at her family’s pastoral property, Wirramilla, recovering from the accidental sinking of the paddle...


Murder at The Loch: A traditional murder mystery set in 1950s Scotland

by Eric Brown

December, 1955. Donald Langham is staying at a remote castle in the Scottish Highlands, a guest of his old commanding officer Major Cartwright. Shortly after Donald's arrival, one of his fellow guests is murdered...


Of Dubious and Questionable Memory

by Rachel McMillan

Ne'er-Do-Wells of New England—You've Been Warned!

 Merinda Herringford and Jem Watts are never lacking for mysteries of the curious and commonplace, but lately business has been a little less curious and...


A Straits Settlement: A Superintendent Le Fanu Mystery

by Brian Stoddart

In the third installment of the Le Fanu Mystery series, the intrepid superintendent is promoted to Inspector-General of Police in 1920s Madras, which proves to be more boring than he had envisaged.

Instead of...


Dead Men Do Come Back

by Steven C. Levi

Why would someone kill a miner, freeze his body solid on a glacier and then drop it alongside the Juneau wharf, the one place where United States Marshal Gordon Whitford would be sure to find it?

Does it have...


The Satyr's Dance

by Gary Dolman

Harrogate, 1892, and a series of bizarre attacks coincides with the arrival of a freak show in the town. This contains just a single exhibit: a creature declared to be Charles Darwin's long sought-for but hitherto...


Julian Fellowes's Belgravia Episode 7: A Man of Business

by Julian Fellowes

A spurned son plots his revenge.

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is a story in 11 episodes published week by week in the tradition of Charles Dickens.

Belgravia is the story of a secret. A secret that unravels behind...


Lost and Gone Forever

The Murder Squad #5

by Alex Grecian

Many changes have happened to the Murder Squad. Rash actions have cost Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith his job, and in response he has set up his own private detective agency. Inspector Walter Day has been missing...


Warlock Holmes - A Study in Brimstone

by G.S Denning

Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius. Warlock Holmes is an idiot. A font of arcane power, certainly. But he’s brilliantly dim. Frankly, he couldn’t deduce his way out of a paper bag. The only thing...


Julian Fellowes's Belgravia Episode 6: A Spy in our Midst

by Julian Fellowes

One man's good fortune sends rumors spreading through London society - what is the secret behind his success?

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is a story in 11 episodes published week by week in the tradition of Charles...


See Also Deception: A Marjorie Trumaine Mystery

by Larry D. Sweazy

In a small North Dakota town in 1964, indexer Marjorie Trumaine investigates the alleged suicide of the local librarian, uncovering a web of secrets that puts her own life in jeopardy.

 

October 1964—Just...


The Mirror Thief

by Martin Seay

A globetrotting, time-bending, wildly entertaining masterpiece hailed by the New York Times Book Review as "Audaciously well written...the book I was raving about to my friends before I'd even finished it."

Publishers...


Julian Fellowes's Belgravia Episode 5: The Assignation

by Julian Fellowes

The gambling dens of London and a secret assignation provide the backdrop for indiscretions large and small.

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is a story in 11 episodes published week by week in the tradition of Charles...


The Strings of Murder: A Novel

by Oscar de Muriel

The brutal slaying of a violinist in his home in 1888 sparks a locked room murder mystery investigated by two diametrically opposed Edinburgh detectives.

1888: a violinist is brutally murdered in his Edinburgh...


The Service of the Dead: A Novel

by Candace Robb

Expertly recreating the social and political upheavals of late medieval Europe and the increasing power of the wealthy merchant class, acclaimed author Candace Robb introduces a new series starring Kate Clifford,...


The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel

by Jane Thynne

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides...


A Front Page Affair

by Radha Vatsal

New York City, 1915

The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks...


The Alchemist's Code

by Martin Rua

Locked within the recesses of Lorenzo Aragona's memory is an ancient and secret Templar code - a code he must unlock if he is to save mankind.