Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (1245)

French (79)

German (338)

Spanish (319)

Italian (299)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Audience

Adult (1245)

 

Protection

All (1245)

DRM Free (290)

DRM (955)

More options

A Deceptive Devotion

by Iona Whishaw

A wedding is on the horizon for Lane Winslow and Inspector Darling. As one of the few Russian speakers in her community, Lane is obliged to act as translator and hostess for Countess Orlova, an elderly Russian...


A Murderous Malady

by Christine Trent

For fans of Charles Todd and Deanna Raybourn comes Christine Trent’s second Florence Nightingale mystery.

Cholera has broken out in London, but Florence Nightingale has bigger problems when people begin dying...


Westside

by W.M. Akers

The Alienist meets The City & The City in this brilliant debut that mixes fantasy and mystery. Gilda Carr’s ‘tiny mysteries’ pack a giant punch.”

--David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author...


Murder on the Docks

by Paul H Doucette

Murder mystery set in Halifax, Nova Scotia during the Second World War. Halifax is struggling with the new demands placed on the city as, once again, it gears up to be the leading demarcation point for men and...


A Veil Removed

by Michelle Cox

A Girl Like You (Book 1 of the series) has received 12 indie book awards in multiple genres—historical fiction, mystery, and romance—including the IPPY Gold medal for mystery. It also received starred...


The Dower House Mystery

by Alanna Knight

York, 1907. Newly retired Inspector Faro is delighted at the prospect of staying in the Dower House, situated on a Roman villa once home to Emperor Severus. But he arrives to find his wife Imogen distraught...


The Berry Scene

by Dornford Yates

The Berry Scene once again shows that Berry Pleydell is one of the funniest characters ever created. If you're a sucker for old-fashioned British comedy, then Yates always satisfies. He combines a fast-paced...


The American Agent

Maisie Dobbs #15

by Jacqueline Winspear

Beloved heroine Maisie Dobbs, “one of the great fictional heroines” (Parade), investigates the mysterious murder of an American war correspondent in London during the Blitz in a page-turning tale of love...


The Circumcised. Sentence

by Hakob Soghomonyan

One of the pivots of the second book of the Trilogy, Sentence is Shahan Natali’s idea of the Holy Criminal.

In the first book, Cassandra passes on the warning of the Circumcised and in the second book, she...


The Circumcised. Warning

by Hakob Soghomonyan

This is a first book of the trilogy.

An organization called “The Circumcised” has appeared and threatens to take vengeance for the Armenian Genocide and to annihilate the Turks with the help of a genetic...


The Circumcised. Festival Eve

by Hakob Soghomonyan

The third book of the trilogy.

The Circumcised reveal themselves. They deliver a stroke and its wave spreads from the top of the Ararat, down its slopes and starts a massacre of the Turks and makes them run away...


The Phoenix of Florence

by Philip Kazan

Fifteenth century Italy, deep in the Tuscan countryside, a long-held feud between two aristocratic families breaks the two-decade peace. A family is bloodily ripped apart, a girl wanders the forest alone, and...


The Mathematical Bridge

by Jim Kelly

Cambridge, 1940. It is the first winter of the war, and snow is falling. When an evacuee drowns in the river, his body swept away, Detective Inspector Eden Brooke sets out to investigate what seems to be a deliberate...


February's Son

by Alan Parks

The second thrilling novel in the Harry McCoy series.

“McCoy is so noir he makes most other Scottish cops seem light grey.”—The Times

A man hangs himself in a neighborhood chapel. Bodies of young girls are...


Felicity Carrol and the Lady of the Lake

The Black Ascot

Inspector Ian Rutledge #21

by Charles Todd

Scotland Yard’s Ian Rutledge seeks a killer who has eluded Scotland Yard for years in this next installment of the acclaimed New York Times bestselling series.

An astonishing tip from a grateful ex-convict...


Murder at the British Museum

by Jim Eldridge

1894. A well-respected academic is found dead in a gentlemen’s convenience cubicle at the British Museum, the stall locked from the inside. Professor Lance Pickering had been due to give a talk promoting the...


The Early Cases of Hercule Poirot

by Agatha Christie

This collection of 25 Hercule Poirot adventures by Agatha Christie are compiled from short stories written for The Sketch magazine from March to December 1923. Hercule Poirot delighted in telling people that...


The Flimflam Affair

Carpenter and Quincannon #7

by Bill Pronzini

The Flimflam Affair is the latest charming historical mystery in Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Bill Pronzini's detective series.

Carpenter and Quincannon, Professional Detective Services is a fixture...


The Widows

Kinship #1

by Jess Montgomery

The Widows kept me on the edge of my seat. Montgomery is a masterful storyteller.” —Lee Martin, author of Pulitzer Prize-Finalist The Bright Forever

Kinship, Ohio, 1924: When Lily Ross learns that her...