Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Language

English (1552)

French (37)

German (129)

Spanish (192)

Italian (272)

 

Protection

All (1552)

DRM Free (168)

DRM (1358)

More options

A Straits Settlement: A Superintendent Le Fanu Mystery

by Brian Stoddart

In the third installment of the Le Fanu Mystery series, the intrepid superintendent is promoted to Inspector-General of Police in 1920s Madras, which proves to be more boring than he had envisaged.

Instead of...


Dead Men Do Come Back

by Steven C. Levi

Why would someone kill a miner, freeze his body solid on a glacier and then drop it alongside the Juneau wharf, the one place where United States Marshal Gordon Whitford would be sure to find it?

Does it have...


The Satyr's Dance

by Gary Dolman

Harrogate, 1892, and a series of bizarre attacks coincides with the arrival of a freak show in the town. This contains just a single exhibit: a creature declared to be Charles Darwin's long sought-for but hitherto...


Julian Fellowes's Belgravia Episode 7: A Man of Business

by Julian Fellowes

A spurned son plots his revenge.

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is a story in 11 episodes published week by week in the tradition of Charles Dickens.

Belgravia is the story of a secret. A secret that unravels behind...


Lost and Gone Forever

The Murder Squad #5

by Alex Grecian

Many changes have happened to the Murder Squad. Rash actions have cost Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith his job, and in response he has set up his own private detective agency. Inspector Walter Day has been missing...


Warlock Holmes - A Study in Brimstone

by G.S Denning

Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius. Warlock Holmes is an idiot. A font of arcane power, certainly. But he’s brilliantly dim. Frankly, he couldn’t deduce his way out of a paper bag. The only thing...


Julian Fellowes's Belgravia Episode 6: A Spy in our Midst

by Julian Fellowes

One man's good fortune sends rumors spreading through London society - what is the secret behind his success?

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is a story in 11 episodes published week by week in the tradition of Charles...


See Also Deception: A Marjorie Trumaine Mystery

by Larry D. Sweazy

In a small North Dakota town in 1964, indexer Marjorie Trumaine investigates the alleged suicide of the local librarian, uncovering a web of secrets that puts her own life in jeopardy.

 

October 1964—Just...


The Mirror Thief

by Martin Seay

A globetrotting, time-bending, wildly entertaining masterpiece in the tradition of Cloud Atlas.

Publishers Weekly raved that "with near-universal appeal . . . Seay’s debut novel is a true delight, a big, beautiful...


Julian Fellowes's Belgravia Episode 5: The Assignation

by Julian Fellowes

The gambling dens of London and a secret assignation provide the backdrop for indiscretions large and small.

Julian Fellowes's Belgravia is a story in 11 episodes published week by week in the tradition of Charles...


The Strings of Murder: A Novel

by Oscar de Muriel

The brutal slaying of a violinist in his home in 1888 sparks a locked room murder mystery investigated by two diametrically opposed Edinburgh detectives.

1888: a violinist is brutally murdered in his Edinburgh...


The Service of the Dead: A Novel

by Candace Robb

Expertly recreating the social and political upheavals of late medieval Europe and the increasing power of the wealthy merchant class, acclaimed author Candace Robb introduces a new series starring Kate Clifford,...


The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel

by Jane Thynne

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides...


A Front Page Affair

by Radha Vatsal

New York City, 1915

The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks...


The Alchemist's Code

by Martin Rua

Locked within the recesses of Lorenzo Aragona's memory is an ancient and secret Templar code - a code he must unlock if he is to save mankind.


The Circle

by M.J. Trow

July, 1868. On receiving a commission to look into the suspicious death of Lafayette Baker, Head of the US National Detective Police, private investigators Matthew Grand and James Batchelor leave London for...


The Ides of June: A mystery set in Roman Britain

by Rosemary Rowe

An astonishing new order has usurped power in Rome, and Libertus's wealthy patron now finds himself powerless and under threat. Charged with escorting Marcus's young family to a place of safety, Libertus finds...


The Night Wanderer

by Alys Clare

When a body is found on a lonely river bank, its throat torn out, rumours abound that the legendary demon known as the Night Wanderer has returned to wreak havoc. It's up to apprentice healer Lassair to uncover...


The Broken Token

by Chris Nickson

Pickpockets, pimps and prostitutes: All in a day's work for the city constable – until work moves too close to home… When Richard Nottingham, Constable of Leeds, discovers his former housemaid murdered in...


A Girl Like You: A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel

by Michelle Cox

When the floor matron at the dance hall where Henrietta is working as a taxi dancer turns up murdered, she is persuaded by the aloof Inspector Clive Howard to go undercover to help find the killer-even as they...