Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Language

English (1569)

French (35)

German (141)

Spanish (210)

Italian (265)

 

Protection

All (1569)

DRM Free (178)

DRM (1365)

More options

Ordeal by Fire

by Sarah Hawkswood

September 1143. Sergeant Catchpoll hopes a fire at a Worcester silversmith's is just an accident, but when there is a second fire, and a charred corpse is discovered, he has no choice but to call in the undersheriff,...


A Deadly Affection

by Cuyler Overholt

"Do no harm" is easier said than done...

Dr. Genevieve Summerford prides herself on her ability as a psychiatrist to understand the inner workings of the human mind. But when one of her patients is arrested for...


Woman in the Shadows: A Novel

by Jane Thynne

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear’s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany...


A Shocking Assassination: A Reverend Mother mystery set in 1920s' Ireland

by Cora Harrison

Ireland. 1924. Reverend Mother Aquinas is in Cork when the city engineer is assassinated. Although no one saw the killing, a reporter named Sam is found standing near the body, a pistol in his hand. After a...


Against The Light: An Irish Nationalist mystery set in Edwardian London

by Marjorie Eccles

London, April, 1912. When the seven-month-old niece of cabinet minister Edmund Latimer is snatched away in her pram in Regent's Park, Edmund's wife Alice determines to get to the bottom of the matter. Could...


The Strivers' Row Spy

by Jason Overstreet

Stunning, suspenseful, and unforgettably evocative, Jason Overstreet’s debut novel glitters with the vibrant dreams and dangerous promise of the 1920s Harlem Renaissance, as one man crosses the perilous lines...


The Shattered Tree

Bess Crawford #8

by Charles Todd

World War I battlefield nurse Bess Crawford goes to dangerous lengths to investigate a wounded soldier’s background—and uncover his true loyalties—in this thrilling and atmospheric entry in the bestselling...


The Mangle: A Sage Adair Historical Mystery

by S.L, Stoner

During a blistering 1903 summer, Portland’s steam laundry women are working ten hellish hours a day. Exhausted and ill, they demand a nine hour workday. Sage Adair, and his mother, Mae, join their fight until...


Murder at the Rummage Sale

by Elizabeth Cunningham

Before there were supermalls, before there were hordes stampeding for Black Friday bargains, there was…The Church of the Regeneration’s Annual Fall Rummage Sale!

September 1960. Kennedy and Nixon race for...


The Dollhouse: A Novel

by Fiona Davis

"The Dollhouse. . . . That's what we boys like to call it. . . . The Barbizon Hotel for Women, packed to the rafters with pretty little dolls. Just like you."

 

Fiona Davis's stunning debut novel pulls readers...


A Lesson in Love and Murder

by Rachel McMillan

The year is 1912, and the city of Toronto has been thrown into upheaval by the arrival of radical anarchist Emma Goldman. Amid this chaos, Benny Citrone of the Royal North-West Mounted Police approaches Merinda...


The Golden Voyage

by Malcolm Archibald

When Detective Sergeant James Mendick is sent to find the Duke of Mathon’s stolen yacht, he soon realises that this is no ordinary case. Trapped aboard a mysterious ship sailing the South Atlantic, he finds...


The Hanged Man: A Mystery in Fin de Siecle Paris

by Gary Inbinder

Like many fin de siecle Parisians, Inspector Achille Lefebvre is looking forward to a pleasant summer holiday at a seaside resort with his wife, Adele—but a body found hanging from a bridge in a public park...


The St. Lucia Island Club: A John Le Brun Novel, Book 5

by Brent Monahan

When retired Southern sheriff-turned-New York City detective John Le Brun and his wife, Lordis, set sail in 1910 for a long-awaited honeymoon on the Caribbean island of St. Lucia, they expect to find relaxation...


The Scandal of the Skulls: A Hildegard of Meaux medieval mystery

by Cassandra Clark

Murder and mayhem engulf Hildegard of Meaux and sexy abbot Hubert de Courcy in a seventh mystery as soon as they get back from Avignon. They arrive secretly on the English coast, in a storm, at dead of night....


Crowned and Dangerous

by Rhys Bowen

Nothing is simple when you’re thirty-fifth in line for the British crown, least of all marriage. But with love on their side, and plans to elope, Lady Georgiana Rannoch and her beau Darcy O’Mara hope to...


The Ninja's Daughter: A Hiro Hattori Novel

by Susan Spann

Autumn, 1565: When an actor's daughter is murdered on the banks of Kyoto's Kamo River, master ninja Hiro Hattori and Portuguese Jesuit Father Mateo are the victim's only hope for justice.

As political tensions...


No Pity For the Dead

by Nancy Herriman

The author of No Comfort for the Lost returns with a new mystery of Old San Francisco...

British-born nurse Celia Davies runs a free medical clinic to assist the poor women of San Francisco. Aided in her endeavors...


The Women of the Souk: A mystery set in pre-World War I Egypt

by Michael Pearce

Cairo, 1913. When schoolgirl Marie Kewfik is kidnapped, snatched away as she strolled through the bustling bazaars of the Souk, the Khedive insists that the Mamur Zapt takes charge of the negotiations for her...


Death at the Boston Tea Party: An 18th century mystery

by Deryn Lake

1773. Apothecary John Rawlings arrives in Boston, Massachusetts, to pursue a new business venture. He finds the place riven with tension and unrest - and the seething resentment spills into outright rebellion...