Mystery & Detective / Historical

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Language

English (1542)

French (37)

German (130)

Spanish (201)

Italian (271)

 

Protection

All (1542)

DRM Free (168)

DRM (1348)

More options

The Strings of Murder: A Novel

by Oscar de Muriel

The brutal slaying of a violinist in his home in 1888 sparks a locked room murder mystery investigated by two diametrically opposed Edinburgh detectives.

1888: a violinist is brutally murdered in his Edinburgh...


The Service of the Dead: A Novel

by Candace Robb

Expertly recreating the social and political upheavals of late medieval Europe and the increasing power of the wealthy merchant class, acclaimed author Candace Robb introduces a new series starring Kate Clifford,...


The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel

by Jane Thynne

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, Robert Harris, and Susan Elia MacNeal, here is the next thrilling historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the British actress and special agent who glides...


A Front Page Affair

by Radha Vatsal

New York City, 1915

The Lusitania has just been sunk, and headlines about a shooting at J.P. Morgan's mansion and the Great War are splashed across the front page of every newspaper. Capability "Kitty" Weeks...


The Alchemist's Code

by Martin Rua

Locked within the recesses of Lorenzo Aragona's memory is an ancient and secret Templar code - a code he must unlock if he is to save mankind.


The Circle

by M.J. Trow

July, 1868. On receiving a commission to look into the suspicious death of Lafayette Baker, Head of the US National Detective Police, private investigators Matthew Grand and James Batchelor leave London for...


The Ides of June: A mystery set in Roman Britain

by Rosemary Rowe

An astonishing new order has usurped power in Rome, and Libertus's wealthy patron now finds himself powerless and under threat. Charged with escorting Marcus's young family to a place of safety, Libertus finds...


The Night Wanderer

by Alys Clare

When a body is found on a lonely river bank, its throat torn out, rumours abound that the legendary demon known as the Night Wanderer has returned to wreak havoc. It's up to apprentice healer Lassair to uncover...


A Girl Like You: A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel

by Michelle Cox

When the floor matron at the dance hall where Henrietta is working as a taxi dancer turns up murdered, she is persuaded by the aloof Inspector Clive Howard to go undercover to help find the killer-even as they...


A Death Along the River Fleet

Lucy Campion #4

by Susanna Calkins

Lucy Campion, a ladies’ maid turned printer’s apprentice in 17th-century London, is crossing Holborn Bridge over the murky waters of the River Fleet one morning when, out of the mist, she sees a specter...


For Dead Men Only: An Alexandra Gladstone Mystery

by Paula Paul

Hailed as “an intriguing mixture of mystery, romance, and history” by Lois Duncan, the Alexandra Gladstone series from award-winning author Paula Paul continues as an ominous horseman heralds the emergence...


Sent to the Devil

by Laura Lebow

In 1788 Vienna, Court Poet Lorenzo Da Ponte is putting some finishing touches on the libretto for the premiere of his new opera with Mozart, Don Giovanni. A huge success when it debuted in Prague, the Emperor...


Man and Wife

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1870. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


Antonina Or, The Fall of Rome

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1850. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


Poor Miss Finch

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1872. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


The Law and the Lady

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1875. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


Heart and Science

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1883. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


The Queen of Hearts

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1859. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


The Dead Secret

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1857. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...


After Dark

by Wilkie Collins

This early work by Wilkie Collins was originally published in 1856. Born in Marylebone, London in 1824, Collins' family enrolled him at the Maida Hill Academy in 1835, but then took him to France and Italy with...