Short Stories

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (396)

Asian (15)

Hispanophone (13)

Nordic (9)

Middle eastern (6)

Slavic (5)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

Italian (3)

Francophone (3)

Germanophone (3)

Lusophone (2)

Greek (2)

African (2)

 

Language

English (3972)

French (713)

German (549)

Spanish (1052)

Italian (25)

 

Protection

All (3972)

DRM Free (271)

DRM (3695)

More options

A Perfect Life nd Other Stories

by Elaine Burnes

Call it happily ever after or a perfect life, it's a universal destination we all hope to reach. Lily plays out the anxieties of her freshman year while standing in line. Lin, wanting only to be left alone,...


The Holocaust Kid

by Sonia Pilcer

A major work of autobiographical fiction by a second generation Holocaust writer--funny, erotic, irreverent, and deeply moving. 

Zosha Palovsky was born in a Displaced Persons camp in Germany, the daughter...


Sex and Death

by Sarah Hall & Peter Hobbs

In this provocative and haunting collection of short stories, edited by two masters of the form, a diverse group of contemporary writers probes the nature and connection between two of the most powerful, exhilarating,...


The Man Who Knew Too Much

by Gilbert K. Chesterton

Harold March, the rising reviewer and social critic, was walking vigorously across a great tableland of moors and commons, the horizon of which was fringed with the far-off woods of the famous estate of Torwood...


Best Russian Short Stories

by Various Authors & GP Editors

'Best Russian Short Stories' initially published in 1917, is a collection of short stories by Gogol, Dostoyevsky, Pushkin, Turgenev, Chekhov, Gorky, and many others—each selection is the work of a master....


The Gift of the Magi

by O. Henry

The Gift of the Magi is a short story, about a young married couple and how they deal with the challenge of buying secret Christmas gifts for each other with very little money. As a sentimental story with a...


Cold, Cold Heart

by Karin Slaughter

First comes love.

Then comes marriage.

Then comes revenge.

In this sensational short story from the bestselling author of The Kept Woman and Pretty Girls, fifty-two-year-old Pam has done her utmost as a loyal wife...


The Heart Is Deceitful Above All Things

by JT LeRoy & Jeff Feuerzeig

National Bestseller

With a new foreword by Jeff Feuerzeig

A timely reissue of the extraordinary stories by JT LeRoy/Laura Albert that won international acclaim, to be timed with the theatrical release of the documentary...


The Exit Coach

by Megan Staffel

Unexpected visitors disrupt lives and reveal new and undreamt-of possibilities


The Fantastic Fables of Ambrose Bierce - Thought Provoking and Humorous Fables from a Master of Modern Literature - With a Biography of the Author

by Ambrose Bierce

Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce was born in Meigs County, Ohio, United States in 1842. Bierce is critically best remembered for his fiction and many other writings are also generally regarded as some of the best war...


On Soldiers and Civilians - Short Stories of the American Civil War

by Ambrose Bierce

Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce was born in Meigs County, Ohio, United States in 1842. Bierce is critically best remembered for his fiction and many other writings are also generally regarded as some of the best war...


Body Contact

by Cathryn Fox

Body Contact is the second of a three-part erotic series from New York Times and USA best-selling author Cathryn Fox.

Asking pro football player Jack Rider to teach me everything he knows about sex might have...


The Greatest Short Stories of Leo Tolstoy

by Leo Tolstoy & GP Editors

Wonderfully wide-ranging and enjoyable, this outstanding collection features highly acclaimed short stories by Tolstoy who is regarded as one of the greatest writers in history.

Among Russian writers, Leo Tolstoy...


The Collected Stories

by Mavis Gallant

This generous collection of fifty-two stories, selected from across her prolific career by the author, includes a preface in which she discusses the sources of her art.

A widely admired master of the short story,...


Dinosaurs on Other Planets: Stories

by Danielle McLaughlin

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples’ lives.

 

In...


When Watched: Stories

by Leopoldine Core

“Full of dazzling insight and empathy.” —Refinery 29

“Pick up this book and prepare to face sublime recognition.” —Rookie 

 

“The characters that we watch in these stories we come to know deeply.”...


Deep Roots

by Beth Cato

From the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown comes a compilation of short works set in the same world: The Deepest Poison, Final Flight, and the Nebula-nominated Wings of Sorrow and Bone.

THE...


Kate Chopin: The Complete Novels and Stories (Book House)

by Kate Chopin

This book contains the complete novels and stories of Kate Chopin in the chronological order of their original publication. NOVELS: At Fault The Awakening SHORT STORIES: Emancipation: A Life Fable Wiser Than...


After the Carnage

by Tara June Winch

Ten years after the much-acclaimed Swallow the Air, Tara June Winch returns with an extraordinary new collection of stories. A single mother resorts to extreme measures to protect her young son. A Namibian student...


We Come to Our Senses: Stories

by Odie Lindsey

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers...