Short Stories

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (454)

Asian (17)

Hispanophone (16)

Nordic (10)

Middle eastern (6)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (6)

Germanophone (6)

Slavic (5)

Italian (5)

Francophone (4)

African (3)

Greek (2)

Lusophone (2)

 

Language

English (5282)

French (683)

German (752)

Spanish (1292)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (5282)

DRM Free (603)

DRM (4673)

More options

Uncommon Type: Some Stories

by Tom Hanks

A collection of seventeen wonderful short stories showing that two-time Oscar winner Tom Hanks is as talented a writer as he is an actor.

A gentle Eastern European immigrant arrives in New York City after his...


The Doll's Alphabet

by Camilla Grudova

Surreal, ambitious and exquisitely conceived, these are stories in the tradition of Angela Carter, Franz Kafta, and Margaret Atwood.


Hitchhiker

by Bob Thompson & Roberta Simpson Brown

Growing up next door to his Granny's country store in McCracken County, Kentucky, a very young Bob Thompson had unlimited access to the cold-drink box and shelves of candy. Only later did he realize that the...


Selected Stories of Rabindranath Tagore

by Rabindranath Tagore & Sbp Editors

Tagore's treatment of caste culture, bureaucracy and poverty paint a vivid portrait of nineteenth century India and all are interwoven with Tagore's perceptive eye for detail, strong sense of humanity and deep...


A Star Trap

by Bram Stoker

When I was apprenticed to theatrical carpentering my master was John Haliday, who was Master Machinist - we called men in his post 'Master Carpenter' in those days - of the old Victoria Theatre, Hulme. It wasn't...


A Changed Man

by Thomas Hardy & Sheba Blake

A Changed Man is a collection of twelve tales written by Thomas Hardy. The collection was originally published in book form in 1913, although all of the tales had been previously published in newspapers or magazines...


Strange is the Night

by S.P. Miskowski

Over cocktails an executive describes to a friend the disturbing history of a strangely potent guardian angel. A young mom tries to perfect and prolong her daughter’s childhood with obsessive parenting. A...


A Martian Odyssey

by Stanley Weinbaum

A Martian Odyssey is a science fiction short story by Stanley Weinbaum. It was Weinbaum's second published story (in 1933 he had sold a romantic novel, The Lady Dances, to King Features Syndicate under the pseudonym...


A Hunger Artist

by Franz Kafka

A Hunger Artist is a short story by Franz Kafka. The story was also included in the collection A Hunger Artist (Ein Hungerkünstler), the last book Kafka prepared for publication, printed by Verlag Die Schmiede...


A Changed Man

by Thomas Hardy

A Changed Man and Other Tales is a collection of twelve tales written by Thomas Hardy. The collection was originally published in book form in 1913, although all of the tales had been previously published in...


Light Both Foreign and Domestic: A Collection

by Bradley Darin

Over the last decade, Darin Bradley has been dissecting the future--from the prophetic Book that heralded the arrival of Salvage Country in Noise to the impending repossession of our education in Chimpanzee...


The Brontë Sisters Boxed Set: Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, Villette (NTMC Classics)

by Charlotte Brontë, Emily Brontë & Anne Brontë

This book, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure! The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this...


James Allen Collection - As a Man Thinketh, Eight Pillars of Prosperity, The Way of Peace and The Heavenly Life

by James Allen

CONTENTS: 1901 - From Poverty to Power 1902 - As A Man Thinketh 1903 - All These Things Added 1903 - Through the Gates of Good or Christ and Conduct 1904 - Byways to Blessedness 1904 - Out From The Heart 1907...


The Whole Beautiful World

by Melissa Kuipers

Original, witty, and subtle, these stories feature characters who must navigate life in a small town, and will appeal to fans of Miriam Toews and Kathleen Winter.

This collection of beautifully crafted short...


Don't Wait to Be Called

by Jacob R Weber

Don't Wait to Be Called is a collection of short stories that span the distance from Eritrea and Ethiopia, whose refugee populations author Jacob Weber worked with in 2013 and 2014, all the way to Rustbelt towns...


Heavenly Switchboard

by Alessandro Forlani

Fantascienza - short story (18 pagine) - In a remote planet an artifact unveils a mystery of the human history. A story from the Urania Award Winner Alessandro Forlani

XXVII century: the mining ship Curiex, exploring...


Protocol One

by Diego Bortolozzo

Fantascienza - short story (11 pagine) - The ship moves away, but a strange asteroid enters the system and the crew decides to intercept it.

Takeri Ira crew, in search of new lands to colonize, reaches a planet...


Swan Landings

by Stephanie Shields

This short story collection offers the reader a rich canvas and many and varied slices of different lives. A British female writer of fiction, Stephanie Shields’ eye focuses on the human condition. The stories...


Fresh Complaint

by Jeffrey Eugenides

The first collection of short fiction from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jeffrey Eugenides

Jeffrey Eugenides’s bestselling novels have shown him to be an astute observer of the crises of adolescence, self-discovery,...


Her Body and Other Parties

by Carmen Maria Machado

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales,...