Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (394)

British (55)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (467)

French (31)

German (0)

Spanish (134)

Italian (1)

 

Protection

All (467)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (463)

More options

The Vanishing Princess

by Jenny Diski

The only story collection from the beloved Jenny Diski—darkly funny, subversive, sexy, and eccentric tales from one of the most original and intelligent voices of our time

 

“Mordant and talon-sharp.” —Dwight...


Debriefing

by Susan Sontag

A collection of one of our most powerful intellectual’s short fiction

Debriefing collects all of Susan Sontag’s shorter fiction, a form she turned to intermittently throughout her writing life. The book ranges...


The King Is Always Above the People: Stories

by Daniel Alarcon

LONGLISTED for the 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

An urgent, essential collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high...


A Selfie as Big as the Ritz

by Lara Williams

“Lara Williams makes a bold debut with this razor-sharp, magnificently humane story collection.” —Entertainment Weekly

She finds herself single, twenty-nine, partially-employed, and about a half a stone...


He Played For His Wife And Other Stories

by Anthony Holden & Natalie Galustian

He Played For His Wife…And Other Stories continues a rich tradition of fictional writing on one of the world’s greatest games.

A ghost at the table, a heads-up with Shakespeare, a high stakes stick-up,...


Fresh Complaint

by Jeffrey Eugenides

The first collection of short fiction from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jeffrey Eugenides

Jeffrey Eugenides’s bestselling novels have shown him to be an astute observer of the crises of adolescence, self-discovery,...


Her Body and Other Parties

by Carmen Maria Machado

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales,...


The Relive Box and Other Stories

by T.C. Boyle

While T.C. Boyle is known as one of our greatest American novelists, he is also an acknowledged master of the short story and is perhaps at his funniest, his most moving, and his most surprising in the short...


Five-Carat Soul

by James McBride

One of The New York Times' 100 Notable Books of 2017

“A pinball machine zinging with sharp dialogue, breathtaking plot twists and naughty humor... McBride at his brave and joyous best.” —New York Times...


Kiss Me Someone: Stories

by Karen Shepard

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice

A Best Book of Fall at The Washington Post, BuzzFeed, BUST, and more

"Dark yet sensitive explorations of family and love—of all kinds—from a masterful writer....


Tales of Falling and Flying

by Ben Loory

“Mesmerizing and magical. . . . A stunning book.” NPR.org

“Short stories so imaginative — and yet so perplexingly familiar — they could have formed in a dream. . . . Taut, meticulously balanced and...


What Can You Do?

by Cynthia Flood

In these twelve stories that unfold over a few hours or a weekend or five decades, adults deceive themselves about their motives — greed, desire for control, jealousy, fear, ambition. With unflinching realism,...


The Mountain: Stories

by Paul Yoon

From Paul Yoon, the award-winning and critically acclaimed author of Once the Shore and Snow Hunters, comes a luminous collection of short stories set throughout the world—from the Hudson Valley to the Russian...


That Was a Shiver, and Other Stories

by James Kelman

A trucker passes through a town he used to know and a local tries to sell him his sister; a couple put their children to bed and hear a loud scratching at the wall; a Principal and his associate examine the...


Sour Heart: Stories

by Jenny Zhang

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

A fresh...


Madame Zero

by Sarah Hall

From one of the most accomplished British writers working today, the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Wolf Border, comes a unique and arresting collection of short fiction that is both disturbing and...


The Dark Dark

by Samantha hunt

A Best Book of the Year: NPR, Vogue, The Huffington Post, The Chicago Review of Books, Kirkus

“Wields such a subtle and alien power . . . Wonderfully spooky.” —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker

"A feminist manifesto...


The Graybar Hotel: Stories

by Curtis Dawkins

In this stunning debut collection, Curtis Dawkins, an MFA graduate and convicted murderer serving life without parole, takes us inside the worlds of prison and prisoners with stories that dazzle with their humor...


The Girl of the Lake: Stories

by Bill Roorbach

Nine richly varied, 

often funny, always moving stories that reveal 

the complex workings of the human heart. 

 

 

Bill Roorbach conjures vivid characters whose layered interior worlds feel at once familiar...


Continent

by Jim Crace

Jim Crace’s imaginative first book, seven linked stories, now available in a deluxe paperback edition in Ecco’s The Art of the Story Series

“Makes us see our own world more clearly . . . brilliant, provocative...