Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (383)

British (53)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (454)

French (30)

German (0)

Spanish (132)

Italian (1)

 

Protection

All (454)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (450)

More options

Fresh Complaint

by Jeffrey Eugenides

The first collection of short fiction from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jeffrey Eugenides

Jeffrey Eugenides’s bestselling novels have shown him to be an astute observer of the crises of adolescence, self-discovery,...


Her Body and Other Parties

by Carmen Maria Machado

Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

“[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

“In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales,...


The Relive Box and Other Stories

by T.C. Boyle

While T.C. Boyle is known as one of our greatest American novelists, he is also an acknowledged master of the short story and is perhaps at his funniest, his most moving, and his most surprising in the short...


Tales of Falling and Flying

by Ben Loory

“Mesmerizing and magical. . . . A stunning book.” NPR.org

“Short stories so imaginative — and yet so perplexingly familiar — they could have formed in a dream. . . . Taut, meticulously balanced and...


What Can You Do?

by Cynthia Flood

In these twelve stories that unfold over a few hours or a weekend or five decades, adults deceive themselves about their motives — greed, desire for control, jealousy, fear, ambition. With unflinching realism,...


The Mountain: Stories

by Paul Yoon

From Paul Yoon, the award-winning and critically acclaimed author of Once the Shore and Snow Hunters, comes a luminous collection of short stories set throughout the world—from the Hudson Valley to the Russian...


That Was a Shiver, and Other Stories

by James Kelman

A trucker passes through a town he used to know and a local tries to sell him his sister; a couple put their children to bed and hear a loud scratching at the wall; a Principal and his associate examine the...


Sour Heart: Stories

by Jenny Zhang

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

A fresh...


Madame Zero

by Sarah Hall

From one of the most accomplished British writers working today, the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Wolf Border, comes a unique and arresting collection of short fiction that is both disturbing and...


The Dark Dark

by Samantha hunt

“Wields such a subtle and alien power . . . Wonderfully spooky.” —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker

"A feminist manifesto threaded through imaginative fiction; it’s the most evocative, impressive collection...


The Graybar Hotel: Stories

by Curtis Dawkins

In this stunning debut collection, Curtis Dawkins, an MFA graduate and convicted murderer serving life without parole, takes us inside the worlds of prison and prisoners with stories that dazzle with their humor...


The Girl of the Lake: Stories

by Bill Roorbach

Nine richly varied, 

often funny, always moving stories that reveal 

the complex workings of the human heart. 

 

 

Bill Roorbach conjures vivid characters whose layered interior worlds feel at once familiar...


Continent

by Jim Crace

Jim Crace’s imaginative first book, seven linked stories, now available in a deluxe paperback edition in Ecco’s The Art of the Story Series

“Makes us see our own world more clearly . . . brilliant, provocative...


Disasters in the First World

by Olivia Clare

Olivia Clare’s delightfully strange and tender debut collection traces the impact of larger-than-life forces on everyday people. From siblings whose relationship is as fragile as glass, to a woman grappling...


Bad Dreams and Other Stories

by Tessa Hadley

The award-winning author of The Past once again "crystallizes the atmosphere of ordinary life in prose somehow miraculous and natural" (Washington Post), in a collection of stories that elevate the mundane into...


The Purple Swamp Hen and Other Stories

by Penelope Lively

A glimmering collection of new short fiction from the Booker Prize winner.

“Lively writes with an astringent blend of sympathy and detachment, emotional wisdom and satiric wit.” —Michiko Kakutani, The...


Trajectory: Stories

by Richard Russo

Following the best-selling Everybody's Fool, a new collection of short fiction that demonstrates that Richard Russo--winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Empire Falls--is also a master of this genre.

Russo's characters...


The Dinner Party: Stories

by Joshua Ferris

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--New York Magazine, The Washington Post, New York Observer, The Millions, Book Riot's "All the Books" Podcast, and Fuse

The first collection of short stories from the...


Fen

by Daisy Johnson

A singular debut that “marks the emergence of a great, stomping, wall-knocking talent” (Kevin Barry)

Daisy Johnson’s Fen, set in the fenlands of England, transmutes the flat, uncanny landscape into a rich,...


Wicked Wonders

by Ellen Klages & Karen Joy Fowler

The Scott O'Dell award-winning author of The Green Glass Sea returns with her second collection: a new decade of lyrical stories with vintage flair.

Inside of these critically-acclaimed tales are memorable characters...