Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (341)

British (48)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (407)

French (24)

German (0)

Spanish (116)

Italian (1)

 

Protection

All (407)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (403)

More options

Whatever Happened to Interracial Love?

by Kathleen Collins

Now available in Ecco’s Art of the Story series: a never-before-published collection of stories from a brilliant yet little known African American artist and filmmaker—a contemporary of revered writers including...


Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams

by Sylvia Plath

Renowned for her poetry, Sylvia Plath was also a brilliant writer of prose. This collection of short stories, essays, and diary excerpts highlights her fierce concentration on craft, the vitality of her intelligence,...


Virgin and Other Stories

by April Ayers Lawson

A confident and mesmerizing fiction debut, from the winner of the Plimpton Prize

Set in the South, at the crossroads of a world that is both secular and devoutly Christian, April Ayers Lawson's stories evoke...


Public Library and Other Stories

by Ali Smith

Why are books so very powerful? What do the books we’ve read over our lives—our own personal libraries—make of us? What does the unraveling of our tradition of public libraries, so hard-won but now in...


All That Man Is

by David Szalay

* Finalist for the 2016 Man Booker Prize *

* Winner of the 2016 Paris Review Plimpton Prize for Fiction *

A magnificent and ambitiously conceived portrait of contemporary life, by a genius of realism

Nine men....


After the Fireworks

by Aldous Huxley & Gary Giddins

"'After the Fireworks' is a major work and a turning point for Huxley, leading directly to Brave New World.” --Gary Giddins, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award 

In After the Fireworks, three...


Intimations

by Alexandra Kleeman

From the celebrated author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine,a thought-provoking, often unsettling story collection that consists, broadly, of narrative diagrams of the three main stages in a human life:...


The Collected Stories

by Mavis Gallant

This generous collection of fifty-two stories, selected from across her prolific career by the author, includes a preface in which she discusses the sources of her art.

A widely admired master of the short story,...


Dinosaurs on Other Planets: Stories

by Danielle McLaughlin

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples’ lives.

 

In...


When Watched: Stories

by Leopoldine Core

“Core captures a precious slice of what it is to be human. . . . She reaches moments of extraordinary grace.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Pick up this book and prepare to face sublime recognition.” —...


You Are Having a Good Time

by Amie Barrodale

Ema was in a bad situation with a married man. She was visiting him in Washington, D.C. His wife was out of town. He had gotten them an outrageously expensive hotel room, out of respect for his wife and their...


The Dream Life of Astronauts: Stories

by Patrick Ryan

For readers of Tom Perrotta and Lorrie Moore, these nine unforgettable stories, all set in and around Cape Canaveral, showcase Patrick Ryan’s masterly understanding of regret and hope, relationships and family,...


Swallowed by the Cold

by Jensen Beach

The intricate, interlocking stories of Jensen Beach's extraordinarily poised story collection are set in a Swedish village on the Baltic Sea as well as in Stockholm over the course of two eventful years.

In Swallowed...


The High Places

by Fiona McFarlane

What a terrible thing at a time like this: to own a house, and the trees around it. Janet sat rigid in her seat. The plane lifted from the city and her house fell away, consumed by the other houses. Janet worried...


The Pier Falls: And Other Stories

by Mark Haddon

From Mark Haddon, author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, A Spot of Bother, and The Red House, nine dazzling stories diverse in style but united in emotional power

The tales in Mark Haddon’s...


Desert Boys

by Chris McCormick

"Hilarious, devious, original, and unforgettable." - Karen Russell

A VIVID AND ASSURED WORK OF FICTION FROM A MAJOR NEW VOICE FOLLOWING THE LIFE OF A YOUNG MAN GROWING UP, LEAVING HOME, AND COMING BACK AGAIN,...


These Heroic, Happy Dead

by Luke Mogelson

With his harrowing debut, Luke Mogelson provides an unsentimental, unflinching glimpse into the lives of those forever changed by war. Subtle links between these ten powerful stories magnify the consequences...


The Bed Moved: Stories

by Rebecca Schiff

The audacious, savagely funny debut of a writer of razor-sharp wit and surprising tenderness: a collection of stories that gives us a fresh take on adolescence, death, sex; on being Jewish-ish; and on finding...


Lullabies for Little Criminals

by Heather O'neill

A new deluxe edition of the international bestseller by Heather O’Neill, the Giller-shortlisted author of Daydreams of Angels and The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, featuring an original foreword from the author,...


An Unrestored Woman

by Shobha Rao

“What an astonishing collection! Provoking, ferocious, moving, splendid, generous and essential. I seemed to finish the book in a different world than the one in which I began it.”

—Kelly Link, author...