Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (347)

British (48)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (413)

French (25)

German (0)

Spanish (120)

Italian (1)

 

Protection

All (413)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (409)

More options

Wait Till You See Me Dance

by Deb Olin Unferth

“Deb Olin Unferth’s stories are so smart, fast, full of heart, and distinctive in voice—each an intense little thought-system going out earnestly in search of strange new truths. What an important and...


The World to Come: Stories

by Jim Shepard

"Without a doubt the most ambitious story writer in America," according to The Daily Beast, Jim Shepard now delivers a new collection that spans borders and centuries with unrivaled mastery.

These ten stories...


Last Day on Earth: Stories

by Eric Puchner

From the award-winning author of Music Through the Floor and Model Home, a riveting and profoundly moving story collection by a writer “uncannily in tune with the heartbreak and absurdity of domestic life”...


The Refugees

by Viet Thanh Nguyen

Viet Thanh Nguyen's The Sympathizer was one of the most widely and highly praised novels of 2015, the winner not only of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, but also the Center for Fiction Debut Novel Prize,...


Mexico: Stories

by Josh Barkan

The unforgettable characters in Josh Barkan’s astonishing and beautiful story collection—chef, architect, nurse, high school teacher, painter, beauty queen, classical bass player, plastic surgeon, businessman,...


Homesick for Another World: Stories

by Ottessa Moshfegh

An electrifying first collection from one of the most exciting short story writers of our time

Ottessa Moshfegh's debut novel Eileen was one of the literary events of 2015. Garlanded with critical acclaim,...


The Man Who Shot Out My Eye Is Dead

by Chanelle Benz

A stunningly original debut collection, The Man Who Shot Out My Eye Is Dead is about lives across history marked by violence and longing. In ten stories of impressive range, Chanelle Benz displays a staggering...


Doctorow: Collected Stories

by E.L. Doctorow

A superb collection of fifteen stories by an American master, E. L. Doctorow—the author of Ragtime, The March, The Book of Daniel, and Billy Bathgate

He has been called “a national treasure” by George...


Difficult Women

by Roxane Gay

Award-winning author and powerhouse talent Roxane Gay burst onto the scene with An Untamed State and the New York Times bestselling essay collection Bad Feminist (Harper Perennial). Gay returns with Difficult...


Julieta (Movie Tie-in Edition): Three Stories That Inspired the Movie

by Alice Munro

The Three Stories that Inspired the Movie

With a foreword by Pedro Almodóvar

Alice Munro is cherished for her exquisite, affecting meditations on the human heart. In these three linked stories, “Chance,”...


Whatever Happened to Interracial Love?

by Kathleen Collins

Now available in Ecco’s Art of the Story series: a never-before-published collection of stories from a brilliant yet little known African American artist and filmmaker—a contemporary of revered writers including...


Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams

by Sylvia Plath

Renowned for her poetry, Sylvia Plath was also a brilliant writer of prose. This collection of short stories, essays, and diary excerpts highlights her fierce concentration on craft, the vitality of her intelligence,...


Virgin and Other Stories

by April Ayers Lawson

A confident and mesmerizing fiction debut, from the winner of the Plimpton Prize

Set in the South, at the crossroads of a world that is both secular and devoutly Christian, April Ayers Lawson's stories evoke...


Public Library and Other Stories

by Ali Smith

Why are books so very powerful? What do the books we’ve read over our lives—our own personal libraries—make of us? What does the unraveling of our tradition of public libraries, so hard-won but now in...


All That Man Is

by David Szalay

Finalist for the 2016 Man Booker Prize

Winner of the 2016 Paris Review Plimpton Prize for Fiction

A magnificent and ambitiously conceived portrait of contemporary life, by a genius of realism

Nine men. Each of...


After the Fireworks

by Aldous Huxley & Gary Giddins

"'After the Fireworks' is a major work and a turning point for Huxley, leading directly to Brave New World.” --Gary Giddins, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award 

In After the Fireworks, three...


Don't I Know You?

by Marni Jackson

What if some of the artists we feel as if we know—Meryl Streep, Neil Young, Bill Murray—turned up in the course of our daily lives?

This is what happens to Rose McEwan, an ordinary woman who keeps having...


Intimations

by Alexandra Kleeman

From the celebrated author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine,a thought-provoking, often unsettling story collection that consists, broadly, of narrative diagrams of the three main stages in a human life:...


The Collected Stories

by Mavis Gallant

This generous collection of fifty-two stories, selected from across her prolific career by the author, includes a preface in which she discusses the sources of her art.

A widely admired master of the short story,...


Dinosaurs on Other Planets: Stories

by Danielle McLaughlin

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples’ lives.

 

In...