Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (334)

British (45)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (398)

French (22)

German (0)

Spanish (118)

Italian (2)

 

Protection

All (398)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (394)

More options

Intimations

by Alexandra Kleeman

From the celebrated author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine,a thought-provoking, often unsettling story collection that consists, broadly, of narrative diagrams of the three main stages in a human life:...


The Collected Stories

by Mavis Gallant

This generous collection of fifty-two stories, selected from across her prolific career by the author, includes a preface in which she discusses the sources of her art.

A widely admired master of the short story,...


Dinosaurs on Other Planets: Stories

by Danielle McLaughlin

For fans of Alice Munro, Anne Enright, and William Trevor comes a stunning debut collection from a deeply original writer and observer of love, betrayal, and turning points in ordinary peoples’ lives.

 

In...


When Watched: Stories

by Leopoldine Core

“Core captures a precious slice of what it is to be human. . . . She reaches moments of extraordinary grace.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Pick up this book and prepare to face sublime recognition.” —...


You Are Having a Good Time

by Amie Barrodale

Ema was in a bad situation with a married man. She was visiting him in Washington, D.C. His wife was out of town. He had gotten them an outrageously expensive hotel room, out of respect for his wife and their...


The Dream Life of Astronauts: Stories

by Patrick Ryan

For readers of Tom Perrotta and Lorrie Moore, these nine unforgettable stories, all set in and around Cape Canaveral, showcase Patrick Ryan’s masterly understanding of regret and hope, relationships and family,...


The High Places

by Fiona McFarlane

What a terrible thing at a time like this: to own a house, and the trees around it. Janet sat rigid in her seat. The plane lifted from the city and her house fell away, consumed by the other houses. Janet worried...


The Pier Falls: And Other Stories

by Mark Haddon

From Mark Haddon, author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, A Spot of Bother, and The Red House, nine dazzling stories diverse in style but united in emotional power

The tales in Mark Haddon’s...


Desert Boys

by Chris McCormick

"Hilarious, devious, original, and unforgettable." - Karen Russell

A VIVID AND ASSURED WORK OF FICTION FROM A MAJOR NEW VOICE FOLLOWING THE LIFE OF A YOUNG MAN GROWING UP, LEAVING HOME, AND COMING BACK AGAIN,...


These Heroic, Happy Dead

by Luke Mogelson

With his harrowing debut, Luke Mogelson provides an unsentimental, unflinching glimpse into the lives of those forever changed by war. Subtle links between these ten powerful stories magnify the consequences...


The Bed Moved: Stories

by Rebecca Schiff

The audacious, savagely funny debut of a writer of razor-sharp wit and surprising tenderness: a collection of stories that gives us a fresh take on adolescence, death, sex; on being Jewish-ish; and on finding...


Lullabies for Little Criminals

by Heather O'neill

A new deluxe edition of the international bestseller by Heather O’Neill, the Giller-shortlisted author of Daydreams of Angels and The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, featuring an original foreword from the author,...


An Unrestored Woman

by Shobha Rao

“What an astonishing collection! Provoking, ferocious, moving, splendid, generous and essential. I seemed to finish the book in a different world than the one in which I began it.”

—Kelly Link, author...


The Best Place on Earth: Stories

by Ayelet Tsabari

Reminiscent of the early work of Jhumpa Lahiri, Ayelet Tsabari’s award-winning debut collection of stories is global in scope yet intimate in feel, beautifully written, and emotionally powerful. From Israel...


What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours

by Helen Oyeyemi

A VULTURE (NEW YORK MAGAZINE) BEST BOOK OF 2016 SO FAR

A TIME MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF 2016 SO FAR

ONE OF THE WASHINGTON POST’S 37 BOOKS WE’VE LOVED SO FAR IN 2016

ONE OF APPLE’S BEST BOOKS OF 2016 SO FAR ...


The Ancient Minstrel: Novellas

by Jim Harrison

“Among the most indelible American novelists of the last hundred years . . . [Harrison] remains at the height of his powers.” —Dwight Garner, The New York Times on The River Swimmer

New York Times bestselling...


Prodigals

by Greg Jackson

"People are bullets, fired," the narrator declares in one of the desperate, eerie stories that make up Greg Jackson's Prodigals. He's fleeing New York, with a woman who may be his therapist, as a storm bears...


For a Little While

by Rick Bass

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice

"A literary titan...Bass is, hands down, a master of the short form, creating in a few pages a natural world of mythic proportions." -- New York Times Book Review

Long...


Cities I've Never Lived In

by Sara Majka

In subtle, sensuous prose, the stories in Sara Majka's debut collection explore distance in all its forms: the emotional spaces that open up between family members, friends, and lovers; the gaps that emerge...


Dog Run Moon: Stories

by Callan Wink

In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a young writer from the American West who has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, and The Best...