Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (378)

British (53)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (449)

French (30)

German (0)

Spanish (132)

Italian (1)

 

Protection

All (449)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (445)

More options

Tales of Falling and Flying

by Ben Loory

“Mesmerizing and magical. . . . A stunning book.” NPR.org

“Short stories so imaginative — and yet so perplexingly familiar — they could have formed in a dream. . . . Taut, meticulously balanced and...


What Can You Do?

by Cynthia Flood

In these twelve stories that unfold over a few hours or a weekend or five decades, adults deceive themselves about their motives — greed, desire for control, jealousy, fear, ambition. With unflinching realism,...


The Mountain: Stories

by Paul Yoon

From Paul Yoon, the award-winning and critically acclaimed author of Once the Shore and Snow Hunters, comes a luminous collection of short stories set throughout the world—from the Hudson Valley to the Russian...


That Was a Shiver, and Other Stories

by James Kelman

A trucker passes through a town he used to know and a local tries to sell him his sister; a couple put their children to bed and hear a loud scratching at the wall; a Principal and his associate examine the...


Sour Heart: Stories

by Jenny Zhang

A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

A fresh...


Madame Zero

by Sarah Hall

From one of the most accomplished British writers working today, the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Wolf Border, comes a unique and arresting collection of short fiction that is both disturbing and...


The Dark Dark

by Samantha hunt

“Wields such a subtle and alien power . . . Wonderfully spooky.” —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker

"A feminist manifesto threaded through imaginative fiction; it’s the most evocative, impressive collection...


The Graybar Hotel: Stories

by Curtis Dawkins

In this stunning debut collection, Curtis Dawkins, an MFA graduate and convicted murderer serving life without parole, takes us inside the worlds of prison and prisoners with stories that dazzle with their humor...


Continent

by Jim Crace

Jim Crace’s imaginative first book, seven linked stories, now available in a deluxe paperback edition in Ecco’s The Art of the Story Series

“Makes us see our own world more clearly . . . brilliant, provocative...


Disasters in the First World

by Olivia Clare

Olivia Clare’s delightfully strange and tender debut collection traces the impact of larger-than-life forces on everyday people. From siblings whose relationship is as fragile as glass, to a woman grappling...


Bad Dreams and Other Stories

by Tessa Hadley

The award-winning author of The Past once again "crystallizes the atmosphere of ordinary life in prose somehow miraculous and natural" (Washington Post), in a collection of stories that elevate the mundane into...


The Purple Swamp Hen and Other Stories

by Penelope Lively

A glimmering collection of new short fiction from the Booker Prize winner.

“Lively writes with an astringent blend of sympathy and detachment, emotional wisdom and satiric wit.” —Michiko Kakutani, The...


Trajectory: Stories

by Richard Russo

Following the best-selling Everybody's Fool, a new collection of short fiction that demonstrates that Richard Russo--winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Empire Falls--is also a master of this genre.

Russo's characters...


The Dinner Party: Stories

by Joshua Ferris

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--New York Magazine, The Washington Post, New York Observer, The Millions, Book Riot's "All the Books" Podcast, and Fuse

The first collection of short stories from the...


Fen

by Daisy Johnson

A singular debut that “marks the emergence of a great, stomping, wall-knocking talent” (Kevin Barry)

Daisy Johnson’s Fen, set in the fenlands of England, transmutes the flat, uncanny landscape into a rich,...


Wicked Wonders

by Ellen Klages & Karen Joy Fowler

The Scott O'Dell award-winning author of The Green Glass Sea returns with her second collection: a new decade of lyrical stories with vintage flair.

Inside of these critically-acclaimed tales are memorable characters...


Large Animals

by Jess Arndt

  • In Large Animals, author Jess Arndt displays the most fresh, modern, and original voice to break on to the contemporary US literary scene in years.

  • Jess Arndt is a protégé of Maggie Nelson and Eileen Myles,...

  • I'd Die For You: And Other Lost Stories

    by F. Scott Fitzgerald & Anne Margaret Daniel

    A collection including the last complete unpublished short stories by F. Scott Fitzgerald, the iconic American writer of The Great Gatsby who is more widely read today than ever.

    I’d Die For You is a collection...


    Tender

    by Sofia Samatar

    The first collection of short fiction from a rising star whose stories have been anthologized in the first two volumes of the Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy series and nominated for many awards. Some...


    Living in the Weather of the World: Stories

    by Richard Bausch

    In these fourteen indelible stories, Richard Bausch once again proves himself a modern master.

    From the prize-winning novelist and universally acclaimed short story writer ("Richard Bausch is a master of the...