Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (211)

French (32)

German (0)

Spanish (152)

Italian (1)

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (184)

British (17)

Irish (4)

 

Protection

All (211)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (207)

More options

Trip Wires

by Sandra Hunter

• Current events, in particular climate change underpinning food and water shortage and shrinking livable land for humans, are creating unprecedented conflict, war, displacement, and mass migration of humans....


We Are Where the Nightmares Go and Other Stories

by C. Robert Cargill

From the critically acclaimed author of Sea of Rust and Queen of the Dark Things comes a hair-raising collection of short fiction that illuminates the strange, humorous, fantastical, and downright diabolical...


Half Gods

by Akil Kumarasamy

A startlingly beautiful debut, Half Gods brings together the exiled, the disappeared, the seekers. Following the fractured origins and destines of two brothers named after demigods from the ancient epic the...


Darker With the Lights On

by David Hayden

•For readers of Joanna Walsh, Eimear McBride, Max Porter, and Ben Lerner, these fictions are gorgeously written and the mark of a huge new talent. Hayden subverts the form into his own genre of storytelling....


A Lucky Man

by Jamel Brinkley

“This is the rare debut that introduces not a promising talent but a major writer, fully formed.” —Garth Greenwell

In the nine expansive, searching stories of A Lucky Man, fathers and sons attempt to salvage...


Tell Me

by Mary Robison

  • The second Counterpoint Robison reissue, after Why Did I Ever in Winter 2018
  • Robison, a beloved writer and essential voice on the Counterpoint list, is one of the writers Counterpoint is celebrating by reissuing...

  • Property

    by Lionel Shriver

    A striking new collection of ten short stories and two novellas that explores the idea of property in every meaning of the word, from the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award...


    Though I Get Home

    by Yz Chin

    “A welcome read in American contemporary literature. Though I Get Home is an intimate and complex look into Malaysian culture and politics, and a reminder of the importance of art in the struggle for social...


    Dictionary Stories

    by Jez Burrows

    "Dictionary Stories isn’t just a book for word nerds, but for anyone for whom language and story matter. Everybody will find themselves thoroughly in love with this book."  —Kory Stamper, editor for Merriam-Webster,...


    Black Swans

    by Eve Babitz & Stephanie Danler

    The Eve Babitz phenomenon continues with this special reissue of her 1993 story collection in a beautiful new edition A new reissue by the writer who has been acclaimed by the Boston Globe as a "true original"...


    Pure Hollywood

    by Christine Schutt

  • Esteemed writer Christine Schutt returns with a startlingly bold collection of stories that delve into the private lives and worlds of well-kept Americans whose groomed facades belie betrayals, obsessions, and...

  • Beautiful Days

    by Joyce Carol Oates

    A new collection of thirteen mesmerizing stories by American master Joyce Carol Oates, including the 2017 Pushcart Prize–winning “Undocumented Alien”

    The diverse stories of Beautiful Days, Joyce Carol Oates...


    We Are Taking Only What We Need

    by Stephanie Powell Watts

    In these powerfully rendered, prizewinning stories, working-class African Americans across the South strive for meaning and search for direction in lives shaped by forces beyond their control

    The ten stories...


    Points North

    by Howard Frank Mosher

    The final book by one of America’s most treasured writers.

    Upon his passing in January 2017, Howard Frank Mosher was recognized as one of America’s most acclaimed writers. His fiction set in the world of...


    The Unmapped Country: Stories and Fragments

    by Ann Quin & Jennifer Hodgson

    This new collection of rare and unpublished writing by the cult 1960s author Ann Quin explores the risks and seductions of going over the edge. The stories cut an alternative path across innovative twentieth-century...


    Watch With Me

    by Wendell Berry

    In these newly reissued stories, Wendell Berry transports readers to Port William, Kentucky, the fictional community he’s lovingly created across multiple novels, stories, and poems

    Never has Berry seemingly...


    Make Way for Her

    by Katie Cortese

    A girl afflicted with pyrokinesis tries to control her fire-starting long enough to go to a dance with a boy she likes. A woman trapped in a stalled marriage is excited by an alluring ex-con who enrolls in her...


    The Vanishing Princess

    by Jenny Diski

    The only story collection from the beloved Jenny Diski—darkly funny, subversive, sexy, and eccentric tales from one of the most original and intelligent voices of our time

     

    “Mordant and talon-sharp.” —Dwight...


    Debriefing

    by Susan Sontag

    A collection of one of our most powerful intellectual’s short fiction

    Debriefing collects all of Susan Sontag’s shorter fiction, a form she turned to intermittently throughout her writing life. The book ranges...


    A Selfie as Big as the Ritz

    by Lara Williams

    “Lara Williams makes a bold debut with this razor-sharp, magnificently humane story collection.” —Entertainment Weekly

    She finds herself single, twenty-nine, partially-employed, and about a half a stone...