Short Stories / English literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (329)

British (46)

Irish (11)

 

Language

English (394)

French (21)

German (0)

Spanish (107)

Italian (2)

 

Protection

All (394)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (390)

More options

The High Places

by Fiona McFarlane

What a terrible thing at a time like this: to own a house, and the trees around it. Janet sat rigid in her seat. The plane lifted from the city and her house fell away, consumed by the other houses. Janet worried...


The Pier Falls: And Other Stories

by Mark Haddon

From Mark Haddon, author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, A Spot of Bother, and The Red House, nine dazzling stories diverse in style but united in emotional power

The tales in Mark Haddon’s...


These Heroic, Happy Dead

by Luke Mogelson

With his harrowing debut, Luke Mogelson provides an unsentimental, unflinching glimpse into the lives of those forever changed by war. Subtle links between these ten powerful stories magnify the consequences...


The Bed Moved: Stories

by Rebecca Schiff

The audacious, savagely funny debut of a writer of razor-sharp wit and surprising tenderness: a collection of stories that gives us a fresh take on adolescence, death, sex; on being Jewish-ish; and on finding...


Lullabies for Little Criminals

by Heather O'neill

A new deluxe edition of the international bestseller by Heather O’Neill, the Giller-shortlisted author of Daydreams of Angels and The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, featuring an original foreword from the author,...


An Unrestored Woman

by Shobha Rao

“What an astonishing collection! Provoking, ferocious, moving, splendid, generous and essential. I seemed to finish the book in a different world than the one in which I began it.”

—Kelly Link, author...


The Best Place on Earth: Stories

by Ayelet Tsabari

Reminiscent of the early work of Jhumpa Lahiri, Ayelet Tsabari’s award-winning debut collection of stories is global in scope yet intimate in feel, beautifully written, and emotionally powerful. From Israel...


What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours

by Helen Oyeyemi

"Transcendent." —The New York Times Book Review

"Flawless. . . another masterpiece from an author who seems incapable of writing anything that's less than brilliant." NPR

From the award-winning author of...


The Ancient Minstrel: Novellas

by Jim Harrison

“Among the most indelible American novelists of the last hundred years . . . [Harrison] remains at the height of his powers.” —Dwight Garner, The New York Times on The River Swimmer

New York Times bestselling...


Prodigals

by Greg Jackson

"People are bullets, fired," the narrator declares in one of the desperate, eerie stories that make up Greg Jackson's Prodigals. He's fleeing New York, with a woman who may be his therapist, as a storm bears...


For a Little While

by Rick Bass

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice

"A literary titan...Bass is, hands down, a master of the short form, creating in a few pages a natural world of mythic proportions." -- New York Times Book Review

Long...


Sweet Home

by Carys Bray

They say there's no place like home. It's where the heart is...

Meet the little boy who believes in miracles.

Meet the mother who loves to bring babies home from the newborn aisle of her supermarket.

Meet the husband...


Cities I've Never Lived In

by Sara Majka

In subtle, sensuous prose, the stories in Sara Majka's debut collection explore distance in all its forms: the emotional spaces that open up between family members, friends, and lovers; the gaps that emerge...


Dog Run Moon: Stories

by Callan Wink

In the tradition of Richard Ford, Annie Proulx, and Kent Haruf comes a dazzling debut story collection by a young writer from the American West who has been published in The New Yorker, Granta, and The Best...


American Housewife: Stories

by Helen Ellis

A sharp, funny, delightfully unhinged collection of stories set in the dark world of domesticity, American Housewife features murderous ladies who lunch, celebrity treasure hunters, and the best bra fitter south...


Skeleton Crew

by Stephen King

“Stephen King at his best” (The Denver Post)—a terrifying, award-winning collection of stories from the outer limits of one of the greatest imaginations of our time.

A supermarket becomes the place where...


The Lady in the Van

by Alan Bennett & Nicholas Hytner

The screenplay edition of the major motion picture adaptation, starring Maggie Smith, of Alan Bennett's acclaimed story "The Lady in the Van"

From acclaimed author and playwright Alan Bennett, whose smash hit...


Collected Stories

by W. Somerset Maugham

 

From one of the twentieth century’s most enduringly popular fiction writers: the only hardcover edition of his short stories.

 

Though W. Somerset Maugham was also famous for his novels and plays, it has...


Tales of Accidental Genius

by Simon Van Booy

A master storyteller’s vision reawakens us to the human experience in this diverse, haunting, and unexpectedly humorous new collection of short fiction from Simon Van Booy—his first since Love Begins in...


The Lesson

by Jesse Ball

A Vintage Short 

Loring is a widow and chess master who makes her living giving chess lessons; her newest student, who might be a prodigy, bears a striking resemblance to her dead spouse. Has her chess champion...