Short Stories

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (366)

Asian (14)

Hispanophone (13)

Nordic (8)

Slavic (7)

Middle eastern (5)

Francophone (5)

Germanophone (4)

Italian (4)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

African (3)

Lusophone (1)

Greek (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3101)

French (1016)

German (438)

Spanish (591)

Italian (143)

 

Protection

All (3101)

DRM Free (233)

DRM (2863)

More options

Rousseau Moon

by David Cameron

These stories are pictures of contemporary life and primitive longing, peopled by characters who often seem to be moving through interior landscapes. 'It is too easy to call it escape,' the narrator of ARID...


The Warning

by Sophie Hannah

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, a gripping short story from the New York Times bestselling author of Woman with a Secret.

Don't say I didn't warn you…

When a kindly stranger does Chloe a good...


Fairy Tales From all Nations

by Anthony R. Montalba

The time has been, but happily exists no longer, when it would have been necessary to offer an apology for such a book as this. In those days it was not held that Beauty is its own excuse for being; on the contrary,...


The Watercress Girl

by H.E. Bates

Stories about children are not always for children. In The Watercress Girl, H. E. Bates masterfully depicts a childhood which, by proxy, reveals the mystifying world of the adult. Through a series of short,...


Peripheral Vision: Stories

by Paddy O¿Reilly

A teenager on the tram meets an old man claiming to be Jesus Christ. Six young women band together on a night prowl. A Filipino immigrant clashes with his eldest sister, who has brought him to Australia for...


Music for Wartime: Stories

by Rebecca Makkai

Named one of the must-read books of the summer by The Chicago Tribune, O Magazine, BuzzFeed, The Huffington Post, Minneapolis Star-Tribune, and The L MagazineRebecca Makkai’s first two novels, The Borrower...


Only Wounded

by Patrick Taylor

Ireland, home of legendary poets and storytellers, has been wracked by bloody sectarian violence over the last quarter century. Bombs and guns were, and once again are, the primary negotiation tools used by...


Black Glass: Short Fictions

by Karen Joy Fowler

An early work from PEN/Faulkner Award winner and Man Booker finalist Karen Joy Fowler, reissued and beautifully repackaged for new fans and old. First published in 1998 to high praise, and now reissued with...


Viral: Stories

by Emily Mitchell

A dazzling collection of stories about how the familiar can suddenly turn strange. A guidebook introduces foreign visitors to a recognizable but dreamlike America, where mirrors are haunted and the Statue of...


The Wrangler of Kings: A Collection of Short Stories

by C A Avila, Tamara Peynado & Chelsea Yen

We are each the kings of our own lives, but even kings can and will be wrangled into their rightful place. Enjoy this collection of short stories that explore the spirituality, hopes, romances, and inspirations...


Tales of the Jazz Age

by F. Scott Fitzgerald

"John T. Unger came from a family that had been well known in Hades—a small town on the Mississippi River—for several generations. John's father had held the amateur golf championship through many a heated...


What the Moon Saw

by Hans Christian Andersen

The present book is put forth as a sequel to the volume of Hans C. Andersen's "Stories and Tales". It contains tales and sketches various in character; and following, as it does, an earlier volume, care has...


In the Country: Stories

by Mia Alvar

These nine globe-trotting, unforgettable stories from Mia Alvar, a remarkable new literary talent, vividly give voice to the women and men of the Filipino diaspora. Here are exiles, emigrants, and wanderers...


Collected Stories

by Tennessee Williams

This definitive collection establishes Williams as a major American fiction writer of the twentieth century. Tennessee Williams’ Collected Stories combines the four short-story volumes published...


Finding The One: A Selection Of Short Stories

by Adele Parks

Adele Parks, the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE STATE WE'RE IN and WHATEVER IT TAKES, draws together some of her most popular short stories in a collection that will delight existing and new fans alike,...


Babies

by Ann Packer

A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Selection

 

Virginia, a copywriter at an ad agency, looks around her office one day and realizes that everyone—well, nearly everyone—is pregnant.  Can she be happy...


When She Is Old and I Am Famous

by Julie Orringer

A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Selection

 

Mira is studying art in Florence when her cousin Aïda arrives for a visit. Aïda is a model who almost died—but after a grievous injury, she leaves the...


The Crushed Flower

by Leonid Andreyev

"His name was Yura. He was six years old, and the world was to him enormous, alive and bewitchingly mysterious. He knew the sky quite well. He knew its deep azure by day, and the white-breasted, half silvery,...


Peep Show

by Nathan Englander

A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Selection

Allen Fein— née Ari Feinberg—is on his way to Port Authority when he hears it: “Girls,” the hawker says. “Three-hundred-and-sixty-degree all-around...


Coming, Aphrodite

by Willa Cather

A Vintage Shorts “Short Story Month” Selection

Don Hedger had lived for four years on the top floor of an old house on the south side of Washington Square, New York, and nobody had ever disturbed him. But...