History

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (17544)

Other (2180)

World War II (2133)

Ancient (1212)

1945-1989 (1048)

World War I (776)

Medieval (662)

<1799 (528)

1799-before 1945 (496)

Holocaust (289)

Renaissance (170)

>1989 (129)

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (28232)

DRM Free (1402)

DRM (26821)

More options

In Europe's Shadow: Two Cold Wars and a Thirty-Year Journey Through Romania and Beyond

by Robert D. Kaplan

From the New York Times bestselling author Robert D. Kaplan, named one of the world’s Top 100 Global Thinkers by Foreign Policy magazine, comes a riveting journey through one of Europe’s frontier countries—and...


The Most Wanted Man in China

by Fang Lizhi

The long-awaited memoir by Fang Lizhi, the celebrated physicist whose clashes with the Chinese regime helped inspire the Tiananmen Square protests

Fang Lizhi was one of the most prominent scientists of the People's...


Donovan's Devils: OSS Commandos Behind Enemy Lines—Europe, World War II

by Albert Lulushi

The stirring, little-known story of the forerunners to today's Special Forces.

The OSS—Office of Strategic Services—created under the command of William Donovan, has been celebrated for its cloak-and-dagger...


Coal: A Human History

by Barbara Freese

The fascinating, often surprising story of how a simple black rock has altered the course of history.


And Then All Hell Broke Loose: Two Decades in the Middle East

by Richard Engel

Based on two decades of reporting, NBC’s chief foreign correspondent’s riveting story of the Middle East revolutions, the Arab Spring, war, and terrorism seen up-close—sometimes dangerously so.

When he...


The First Congress: How James Madison, George Washington, and a Group of Extraordinary Men Invented the Government

by Fergus M. Bordewich

The little known story of perhaps the most productive Congress in US history, the First Federal Congress of 1789–1791.

The First Congress was the most important in US history, says prizewinning author and historian...


The Annals

by Tacitus

"The Annals" by Roman historian and senator Tacitus is a history of the Roman Empire from the reign of Tiberius to that of Nero, the years AD 14–68. Publius (or Gaius) Cornelius Tacitus (c. AD 56 – after...


9 Presidents Who Screwed Up America: And Four Who Tried to Save Her

by Brion McClanahan

Of the forty-four presidents who have led the United States, nine made mistakes that permanently scarred the nation. Which nine? Brion McClanahan, author of The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Founding Fathers...


Hair: A Human History

by Kurt Stenn

A microhistory in the vein of Salt and Cod exploring the biological, evolutionary, and cultural history of one of the world's most fascinating fibers. Most people don't give a second thought to the stuff on...


Mesa of Sorrows: A History of the Awat'ovi Massacre

by James F. Brooks

“In this rich work of anthropology, archaeology, and personal sleuthing, James Brooks carefully unravels a mystery of enormous violence that convulsed the desert Southwest some three hundred years ago—and...


The Struggle for Sea Power: A Naval History of the American Revolution

by Sam Willis

A fascinating naval perspective on one of the greatest of all historical conundrums: How did thirteen isolated colonies, which in 1775 began a war with Britain without a navy or an army, win their independence...


History of Florence and of the Affairs of Italy

by Niccolo Machiavelli

Niccolo Machiavelli, the first great Italian historian, and one of the most eminent political writers of any age or country, was born at Florence, May 3, 1469. He was of an old though not wealthy Tuscan family,...


The Firebrand and the First Lady: Portrait of a Friendship: Pauli Murray, Eleanor Roosevelt, and the Struggle for Social Justice

by Patricia Bell-Scott

A groundbreaking book—two decades in the works—that tells the story of how a brilliant writer-turned-activist, granddaughter of a mulatto slave, and the first lady of the United States, whose ancestry gave...


Agony and Eloquence: John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and a World of Revolution

by Daniel L. Mallock

The drama of John Adams and Thomas Jefferson is the foundational story of America—courage, loyalty, hope, fanaticism, greatness, failure, forgiveness, love.

Agony and Eloquence is the story of the greatest friendship...


The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America

by Michael Eric Dyson

A provocative and lively deep dive into the meaning of America's first black presidency, from “one of the most graceful and lucid intellectuals writing on race and politics today” (Vanity Fair).

Michael...


Hitler's Forgotten Children: A True Story of the Lebensborn Program and One Woman's Search for Her Real Identity

by Ingrid Von Oelhafen & Tim Tate

Created by Heinrich Himmler, the Lebensborn program abducted as many as half a million children from across Europe. Through a process called Germanization, they were to become the next generation of the Aryan...


United States of Jihad: Investigating America's Homegrown Terrorists

by Peter Bergen

A riveting, panoramic look at “homegrown” Islamist terrorism from 9/11 to the present

 

Since 9/11, more than three hundred Americans—born and raised in Minnesota, Alabama, New Jersey, and elsewhere—have...


A Year in the South

by Stephen V. Ash

A Year in the South is about four ordinary people in an extraordinary time. They lived in the South during 1865 -- a year that saw war, disunion, and slavery give way to peace, reconstruction, and emancipation....


Exit Right: The People Who Left the Left and Reshaped the American Century

by Daniel Oppenheimer

A provocative, intimate look at the evolution of America’s political soul through the lives of six political figures—from Whittaker Chambers to Christopher Hitchens—who abandoned the left and joined the...


The Prospect of Global History

by James Belich, John Darwin, Margret Frenz & Chris Wickham

The Prospect of Global History takes a new approach to the study of global history, seeking to apply it, rather than advocate it. The volume seeks perspectives on history from East Asian and Islamic sources...