History

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (14104)

World War II (2089)

Other (1674)

1945-1989 (1083)

Ancient (798)

Medieval (503)

World War I (497)

1799-before 1945 (419)

<1799 (417)

Holocaust (219)

Renaissance (136)

>1989 (115)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (21877)

French (942)

German (195)

Spanish (658)

Italian (1074)

 

Protection

All (21877)

DRM Free (591)

DRM (21278)

More options

A History of Reading

by Alberto Manguel

At one magical instant in your early childhood, the page of a book-that string of confused, alien ciphers-shivered into meaning, and at that moment, whole universes opened. You became, irrevocably, a reader....


The Columbia Sourcebook of Literary Taiwan

by Sung-sheng Yvonne Chang, Michelle Yeh & Ming-ju Fan

This sourcebook contains more than 160 documents and writings that reflect the development of Taiwanese literature from the early modern period to the twenty-first century. Selections include seminal essays...


Victory at Yorktown

by Richard M. Ketchum

From "the finest historian of the American Revolution" comes the definitive account of the battle and unlikely triumph that led to American independence (Douglas Brinkley)

In 1780, George Washington's army lay...


The Wandering Jews

by Joseph Roth & Michael Hofmann

The classic portrait of a vanished people. Every few decades a book is published that shapes Jewish consciousness. One thinks of Wiesel's Night or Levi's Survival in Auschwitz. But in 1927, years before these...


In the Presence of Mine Enemies: The Civil War in the Heart of America, 1859-1864

by Edward L. Ayers

Winner of the Bancroft Prize: Through a gripping narrative based on massive new research, a leading historian reshapes our understanding of the Civil War. Our standard Civil War histories tell a reassuring story...


Love on Trial: An American Scandal in Black and White

by Heidi Ardizzone & Earl Lewis

"Too important to be ignored....A fascinating look at America's obsession with race, pride, and privilege."—Essence When Alice Jones, a former nanny, married Leonard Rhinelander in 1924, she became the first...


Primes of the Form x2+ny2: Fermat, Class Field Theory, and Complex Multiplication

by David A. Cox

An exciting approach to the history and mathematics of number theory

“. . . the author’s style is totally lucid and very easy to read . . .the result is indeed a wonderful story.” —Mathematical Reviews...


The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History

by Jacqueline Hogan Towery, Robert Towery & Peter Barbour

The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History is a unique family portrait of one of golf's greatest legends. Lavishly illustrated with never-before-seen family photos, The Brothers Hogan follows the lives of Ben...


Modigliani: A Life

by Jeffrey Meyers

In 1920, at the age of thirty-five, Amedeo Modigliani died in poverty and neglect in Paris, much like a figure out of La Bohéme. His life had been as dramatic as his death. An Italian Jew from a bourgeois family,...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


How the Scoundrel Seduces

by Sabrina Jeffries

The third deliciously sexy novel in the New York Times bestselling Duke’s Men historical romance series, featuring an investigator who sets out to find gypsies—and unexpectedly finds love.

Investigator Tristan...


When Britain Burned the White House

by Peter Snow

In August 1814, the United States army was defeated just outside Washington, D.C., by the world’s greatest military power. President James Madison and his wife had just enough time to flee the White House...


The Bohannon Brothers: Ireland and America, 1857-1865

by Kerry R Keven, Kesra Hoffman & Aogan O' Muircheartaigh

The Bohannon Brothers - Ireland and America, 1857-1865 A timeless historical novel set in Ireland and the United States during the American Civil War era; this unique story plays out through the lives of immigrant...


Haunted Wexford

by Michael Benson

Discover the darker side of Wexford with this collection of spine-chilling tales from across the county. This spooky selection features stories of unexplained phenomena, ghostly apparitions and poltergeist activity...


Unknown Warriors: The Letters of Kate Luard RRC and Bar, Nursing Sister in France 1914-1918

by Kate Luard, John Stevens & Caroline Stevens

The words of Unknown Warriors resonate as powerfully today as when first written. It offers a very personal glimpse into the hidden world of the military field hospital where patients struggled with pain and...


Voices from History: East London Suffragettes

by Sarah Jackson & Rosemary Taylor

In 1914, the East London Federation of Suffragettes, led by Sylvia Pankhurst, split from the WSPU. Sylvia's mother and sister, Emmeline and Christabel, had encouraged her to give up her work with the poor women...


Inside the Wire: The Prisoner of War Camps and Hostels of Gloucestershire 1938-1948

by Ian M C Hollingsbee

Stalag VIII-B, Colditz, these names are synonymous with Prisoners of War in the Second World War. But what of those caught on British soil? Where did they go? Gloucestershire was home to a wealth of PoW camps...


As Good As Any Man: Scotland's First Black Tommy

by Douglas John Sadler, Rosie Serdiville & Morag Miller

When the harrowing Great War diaries of one of Britain's first black soldiers were unearthed in a dusty Scottish attic nearly 100 years after they were written, they posed a bit of a mystery. The diary entries...


History for Common Entrance 13+ Revision Guide

by Ed Adams

History for Common Entrance 13+ Revision Guide reflects the style and content of the new ISEB Common Entrance syllabus and provides essential support and guidance for thorough exam preparation. - Consolidates...