History

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (14296)

World War II (2110)

Other (1698)

1945-1989 (1093)

Ancient (805)

Medieval (506)

World War I (501)

1799-before 1945 (423)

<1799 (420)

Holocaust (223)

Renaissance (136)

>1989 (118)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (22172)

French (947)

German (196)

Spanish (660)

Italian (1075)

 

Protection

All (22172)

DRM Free (610)

DRM (21554)

More options

Harold Nicolson

by Norman Rose

Harold Nicolson was a man of extraordinary gifts. A renowned politician, historian, biographer, diarist, novelist, lecturer, journalist, broadcaster and gardener, his position in society and politics allowed...


History for Common Entrance: The Making of the UK 1485-1750

by Bob Pace

History for Common Entrance: The Making of the UK 1485-1750 ensures a thorough understanding of the 'Making of the UK' element of the Common Entrance exam syllabus. Clearly presented content, lively illustrations...


History for Common Entrance: Medieval Realms Britain 1066-1485

by Bob Pace

History for Common Entrance: Medieval Realms Britain 1066-1485 ensures a thorough understanding of the 'Medieval Realms' element of the Common Entrance exam syllabus. Clearly presented content, lively illustrations...


Cromwell was Framed: Ireland 1649

by Tom Reilly

Revealed: The definitive research that proves the Irish nation owes Oliver Cromwell a huge posthumous apology for wrongly convicting him of civilian atrocities in 1649.


The Great Illusion

by Norman Angell

If this, the fourth American edition, is bulkier than its predecessors, it is chiefly because the events of the last two years throw an interesting light upon the bearing of the book's main thesis on actual...


A History of Reading

by Alberto Manguel

At one magical instant in your early childhood, the page of a book-that string of confused, alien ciphers-shivered into meaning, and at that moment, whole universes opened. You became, irrevocably, a reader....


The Columbia Sourcebook of Literary Taiwan

by Sung-sheng Yvonne Chang, Michelle Yeh & Ming-ju Fan

This sourcebook contains more than 160 documents and writings that reflect the development of Taiwanese literature from the early modern period to the twenty-first century. Selections include seminal essays...


Victory at Yorktown

by Richard M. Ketchum

From "the finest historian of the American Revolution" comes the definitive account of the battle and unlikely triumph that led to American independence (Douglas Brinkley)

In 1780, George Washington's army lay...


The Wandering Jews

by Joseph Roth & Michael Hofmann

The classic portrait of a vanished people. Every few decades a book is published that shapes Jewish consciousness. One thinks of Wiesel's Night or Levi's Survival in Auschwitz. But in 1927, years before these...


In the Presence of Mine Enemies: The Civil War in the Heart of America, 1859-1864

by Edward L. Ayers

Winner of the Bancroft Prize: Through a gripping narrative based on massive new research, a leading historian reshapes our understanding of the Civil War. Our standard Civil War histories tell a reassuring story...


Love on Trial: An American Scandal in Black and White

by Heidi Ardizzone & Earl Lewis

"Too important to be ignored....A fascinating look at America's obsession with race, pride, and privilege."—Essence When Alice Jones, a former nanny, married Leonard Rhinelander in 1924, she became the first...


Religion and Revolution in Mexico's North: Even Unto Death . . . Tengamos Fe

by Philip R. Stover

Religion and revolution reverberated through northern Mexico like the thunder and lightning of its wild and fierce storms. Religion and Revolution in Mexico?s North reveals the motivation behind the madness...


5 Steps to a 5 AP US History, 2015 Edition

by Daniel Murphy

This easy-to-follow study guide includes a complete course review, full-length practice tests, and access to an AP Planner app!

5 Steps to a 5: AP U.S. History features an effective, 5-step plan to guide your...


Primes of the Form x2+ny2: Fermat, Class Field Theory, and Complex Multiplication

by David A. Cox

An exciting approach to the history and mathematics of number theory

“. . . the author’s style is totally lucid and very easy to read . . .the result is indeed a wonderful story.” —Mathematical Reviews...


My Family History: Book Two

by Denise Pinch

She would like to meet George Clooney and go to Egypt with an Egyptian someday. Written down in the morning while the imagery and emotions are still fresh, Denise bravely shares her personal and most intimate...


The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History

by Jacqueline Hogan Towery, Robert Towery & Peter Barbour

The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History is a unique family portrait of one of golf's greatest legends. Lavishly illustrated with never-before-seen family photos, The Brothers Hogan follows the lives of Ben...


Dragon Sea: A True Tale of Treasure, Archeology, and Greed off the Coast of Vietnam

by Frank Pope

Frank Pope pulls back the curtain on the intensely competitive underworld of shipwrecks in this thrilling story of treasure hunting gone wrong. When Oxford archeologist Mensun Bound—dubbed the "Indiana Jones...


Modigliani: A Life

by Jeffrey Meyers

In 1920, at the age of thirty-five, Amedeo Modigliani died in poverty and neglect in Paris, much like a figure out of La Bohéme. His life had been as dramatic as his death. An Italian Jew from a bourgeois family,...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...