History

New Releases / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (18623)

World War II (2453)

Other (2333)

1945-1989 (1353)

Ancient (1316)

World War I (875)

Medieval (718)

<1799 (595)

1799-before 1945 (564)

Holocaust (297)

Renaissance (175)

>1989 (138)

 

Language

English (29898)

French (2970)

German (1224)

Spanish (1487)

Italian (2317)

 

Protection

All (29898)

DRM Free (1416)

DRM (28473)

More options

The Human Side of Science: Edison and Tesla, Watson and Crick, and Other Personal Stories behind Science's Big Ideas

by Arthur W. Wiggins, Charles M. Wynn Sr. & Sidney Harris

This lively and humorous book focuses attention on the fact that science is a human enterprise. The reader learns about the foibles and quirks as well as the admirable ingenuity and impressive accomplishments...


Into the Black: The Extraordinary Untold Story of the First Flight of the Space Shuttle Columbia and the Astronauts Who Flew Her

by Rowland White & Richard Truly

The real-life techno-thriller from a bestselling author and aviation expert that recaptures the historic moments leading up to the launch of the space shuttle Columbia and the exciting story of her daring maiden...


Operation Whisper: The Capture of Soviet Spies Morris and Lona Cohen

by Barnes Carr

The true story of the master spies who stole the atomic bomb


Their Home and Native Land

by Robert MacBain

With the skills he honed as one of Canada’s top newspaper reporters and speech writers, Toronto author Robert MacBain tells the absorbing story of life in four Ojibway communities in northwestern Ontario in...


Palestinians in Syria: Nakba Memories of Shattered Communities

by Anaheed Al-Hardan

One hundred thousand Palestinians fled to Syria after being expelled from Palestine upon the establishment of the state of Israel in 1948. Integrating into society over time, their experience stands in stark...


The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu: And Their Race to Save the World's Most Precious Manuscripts

by Joshua Hammer

To save precious centuries-old Arabic texts from Al Qaeda, a band of librarians in Timbuktu pulls off a brazen heist worthy of Ocean’s Eleven.

In the 1980s, a young adventurer and collector for a government...


By Chance Alone

by Max Eisen

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a new memoir by Canadian survivor

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian...


The Clouds

by Juan José|Dobel, Hilary Vaughn Saer

A doctor leads five mental patients to an asylum in this meditation on exile, madness, and the writing process.


The Attempt

by Magdaléna Platzová & Alex Zucker

From an assassination attempt by early anarchists to Occupy Wall Street, a novel of radical lives and loves


High Street to Homestead

by Angela Williams

From her Grey Lynn apartment to one of New Zealand's most historic homesteads and horse studs, this is an inspirational journey from a corporate life working with Louis Vuitton back to the golden hills of rural...


Japan's Imperial Army: Its Rise and Fall

by Edward J. Drea

Society for Military History Distinguished Book Award

Popular impressions of the imperial Japanese army still promote images of suicidal banzai charges and fanatical leaders blindly devoted to their emperor....


The Fightin' Texas Aggie Defenders of Bataan and Corregidor

by John A. Adams

By any measure, the battles of Bataan and Corregidor were among the most intensely fought and devastating episodes in the World War II Pacific theater. Beginning in early 1942, the Japanese Imperial Army invaded...


Forty Years Master: A Life in Sail and Steam

by Daniel O. Killman, John Lyman & Harold D. Huycke

During Daniel O. Killman’s more than fifty years at sea, he was shipwrecked off Coos Bay, discovered gold in Alaska, was dismasted in a hurricane near Fiji, lost a rudder en route to Adelaide, had run-ins...


Over at College: A Texas A&M Campus Kid in the 1930s

by James Knox Walker & Debbie Spies

In 1926 James Knox Walker, staff civil engineer in charge of building at A&M, and his new bride moved onto the campus of what was then known as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas. The greater community,...


Guests Behind the Barbed Wire: German POWs in America: A True Story of Hope and Friendship

by Ruth Cook

Chronicling a lesser-known aspect of World War II, this glimpse into secret history re-creates the world of Aliceville, Alabama, during the war, when as many as 6,000 German prisoners-of-war (POWs) and 1,000...


Insurrection

by Susan Loughlin

Autumn 1536. Both Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn are dead. Henry VIII has married Jane Seymour, and still awaits his longed-for male heir. Disaffected conservatives in England may have seen an opportunity...


The Last Raid

by Will Fowler

The occupation of the Channel Islands in World War II is an often-neglected aspect of the war: here, for the first time, Will Fowler presents an atmospheric account of life under German occupation peppered with...


The Ordnance Survey and Modern Irish Literature

Truyen tranh dan gian Viet Nam - Chuyen My Chau, Trong Thuy

by Nam Vu Tu

 An Duong Vuong King and set up its capital in Phong Khe province and built Loa Thành citadel. By the Golden Turtle Genie’s grace, An Duong Vuong had a magic bow which was able to kill thousands of invaders...


Detroit Resurrected: To Bankruptcy and Back

by Nathan Bomey

What happens when an iconic American city goes broke?

At exactly 4:06 p.m. on July 18, 2013, the city of Detroit filed for bankruptcy. It was the largest municipal bankruptcy in American history—the Motor...