History

New Releases / Page 5

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (14161)

World War II (2103)

Other (1708)

1945-1989 (1118)

Ancient (821)

Medieval (522)

World War I (515)

<1799 (430)

1799-before 1945 (427)

Holocaust (222)

Renaissance (138)

>1989 (118)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (22147)

French (952)

German (197)

Spanish (664)

Italian (1100)

 

Protection

All (22147)

DRM Free (671)

DRM (21468)

More options

Primes of the Form X2+ny2: Fermat, Class Field Theory, and Complex Multiplication

by David A. Cox

An exciting approach to the history and mathematics of number theory

“. . . the author’s style is totally lucid and very easy to read . . .the result is indeed a wonderful story.” —Mathematical Reviews...


My Family History: Book Two

by Denise Pinch

She would like to meet George Clooney and go to Egypt with an Egyptian someday. Written down in the morning while the imagery and emotions are still fresh, Denise bravely shares her personal and most intimate...


The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History

by Jacqueline Hogan Towery, Robert Towery & Peter Barbour

The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History is a unique family portrait of one of golf's greatest legends. Lavishly illustrated with never-before-seen family photos, The Brothers Hogan follows the lives of Ben...


Dragon Sea: A True Tale of Treasure, Archeology, and Greed off the Coast of Vietnam

by Frank Pope

Frank Pope pulls back the curtain on the intensely competitive underworld of shipwrecks in this thrilling story of treasure hunting gone wrong. When Oxford archeologist Mensun Bound—dubbed the "Indiana Jones...


Modigliani: A Life

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


How the Scoundrel Seduces

by Sabrina Jeffries

The third deliciously sexy novel in the New York Times bestselling Duke’s Men historical romance series, featuring an investigator who sets out to find gypsies—and unexpectedly finds love.

Investigator Tristan...


When Britain Burned the White House

by Peter Snow

In August 1814, the United States army was defeated just outside Washington, D.C., by the world’s greatest military power. President James Madison and his wife had just enough time to flee the White House...


A Coast Guardsman's History of the U.S. Coast Guard

by Douglas Kroll

More a book about Coast Guard heritage than an academic history, this book focuses on a variety of relatively unknown Coast Guardsmen who personify the service's core values. The author highlights the contributions...


Great Speeches of the 20th Century

by Bob Blaisdell

A great speech can stir the soul — and move a nation. This compact and affordable anthology gathers complete speeches and selected excerpts from some of the twentieth century's most memorable addresses. Writers...


On the Potomac River

by Douglas E. Campbell & Thomas B. Sherman

The Potomac River meanders in its 383-mile journey past natural settings of the forests, rocks and falls (Great Falls, Little Falls, Three Sisters Rocks, Mather Gorge), the convergence of other rivers into the...


Lost Memories

by Rebecca Sørensen

I am not a professional writer and I wrote this to the best of my ability with the information I have discovered. It took thousands of people to make just one you. Some travelled from distant lands, stayed in...


The Bohannon Brothers: Ireland and America, 1857-1865

by Kerry R Keven, Kesra Hoffman & Aogan O' Muircheartaigh

The Bohannon Brothers - Ireland and America, 1857-1865 A timeless historical novel set in Ireland and the United States during the American Civil War era; this unique story plays out through the lives of immigrant...


Fire on the Water: China, America, and the Future of the Pacific

by Robert Haddick

The main theme of Fire on the Water is that conventional measures of military balance, employed by both the general public and many policy experts, underestimate the threat that China’s military modernization...


Calendar of Crime: 365 True Cases from British History

by Peter Stubley

19 May 1536: Anne Boleyn, charged with high treason, is beheaded at the Tower of London. 31 August 1888: Mary Ann Nichols, the first victim of Jack the Ripper, is found murdered in Buck's Row. 18 December 1914:...


Into the Maelstrom: The Wreck of HMHS Rohilla

by Colin Brittain

On 29 October 1914 the hospital ship Rohilla left Queensferry with 229 persons on board, bound for Dunkirk on an errand of mercy, under wartime restrictions and in deteriorating weather. Just after 4am there...


The Forgotten Front: The East African Campaign 1914-1918

by Ross Anderson

The war in East Africa spanned the entire period of the conflict. It was the largest yet to take place on African soil. Four empires and their subject peoples were engaged, from modern Kenya in the north to...


Ten Days in August: The Siege of Liège 1914

by Terence Zuber

In August 1914 the German main attack was conducted by the 2nd Army. It had missions of taking the vital fortresses of Liège and Namur, and then defeating the Anglo-French-Belgian forces in the open plains...


War Hammers: The Story of West Ham United during the First World War

by Brian Belton

This book tells the fascinating story of West Ham United Football Club during the First World War, charting the relationship between war and football by following the pursuits of West Ham from 1913/14 to 1918/19....