History

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (14339)

World War II (2140)

Other (1705)

1945-1989 (1088)

Ancient (861)

World War I (513)

Medieval (507)

1799-before 1945 (429)

<1799 (419)

Holocaust (219)

Renaissance (138)

>1989 (119)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (22409)

French (1292)

German (232)

Spanish (671)

Italian (1153)

 

Protection

All (22409)

DRM Free (622)

DRM (21779)

More options

Modigliani: A Life

by Jeffrey Meyers

In 1920, at the age of thirty-five, Amedeo Modigliani died in poverty and neglect in Paris, much like a figure out of La Bohéme. His life had been as dramatic as his death. An Italian Jew from a bourgeois family,...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


How the Scoundrel Seduces

by Sabrina Jeffries

The third deliciously sexy novel in the New York Times bestselling Duke’s Men historical romance series, featuring an investigator who sets out to find gypsies—and unexpectedly finds love.

Investigator Tristan...


The First and The Last

by Adolf Galland

Adolf "Dolfo" Joseph Ferdinand Galland (1912 -1996) was a German Luftwaffe General and one of the greatest flying aces of World War II. He flew 705 combat missions, and fought on the Western and the Defence...


Truth of a Hopi: Stories Relating to the Origin, Myths and Clan Histories of the Hopi

by Edmund Nequatewa

In the Truth of a Hopi, Edmund Nequatewa relates the Hopis' myths, legends, belief systems, and oral history. Nequatewa's writings give us a glimpse into the psyche of the Hopi in the way that only a Hopi could....


Great War Britain: West Sussex: Remembering 1914-18

by West Sussex County Council & Martin Hayes

The First World War claimed over 995,000 British lives, and its legacy continues to be remembered today. Great War Britain: West Sussex offers an intimate portrayal of the county and its people living in the...


The Secret History of Chelmsford

by Paul Wreyford

Charles Dickens described Chelmsford as the 'dullest' place on earth and added that there was not a lot to see here. He was wrong. This book does not tell you what you already know about Chelmsford, but what...


VCs of the First World War: The Sideshows

by Gerald Gliddon

The latest volume in the series covering the VCs won in theatres of war away from the Western Front and Gallipoli. The book opens with the stories of four VC-winners who took part in the prolonged struggles...


Great War Britain: Oxfordshire: Remembering 1914-18

by Jane Cotter

The First World War claimed over 995,000 British lives, and its legacy continues to be remembered today. Great War Britain: Oxfordshire offers an intimate portrait of the couny and its people living in the shadow...


The Price of Peace

by James B Johnston

The 1998 Belfast Peace Agreement signals the end to thirty years of conflict in Northern Ireland. But victims of The Troubles soon realize there's a price to pay- the early release from prison of the very people...


The Ugly Animals: We Can't All Be Pandas

by Simon Watt

The Ugly Animals is a collection of 60 of the world's most ugly (and endangered) animals, featuring rare imagery and explanatory text. The author is a high-profile biologist and TV presenter but also a stand-up...


Haunted Halifax

by Kai Roberts

Nestled amidst the windswept moorlands of the South Pennines, Halifax has always had a wild reputation: 'From Hell, Hull and Halifax, good Lord deliver us' ran the Beggars' Litany. But was it just a grisly fate...


Great War Britain: Swindon: Remembering 1914-18

by Mike Pringle

The First World War claimed over 995,000 British lives, and its legacy continues to be remembered today. Great War Britain: Swindon offers an intimate portrayal of the town and its people living in the shadow...


Sennen Cove Lifeboats: An Illustrated History

by Nicholas Leach

Considered one of the most treacherous areas of Britain's coastline, Land's End has seen many shipwrecks over the past 2,000 years. Where the waters of the Atlantic meet those of the English Channel, storms...


My Family and Other Scousers: A Liverpool Boy's Summer of Adventure in '69

by Dave Joy

This is an evocative memoir of Liverpool in the summer of 1969, as seen through the eyes of eleven-year-old Deejay. Infused with a distinctive Scouse sense of humour, this book tells the story of how Deejay...


Kildare Folk Tales

by Steve Lally

County Kildare has a rich heritage of myths and legends which is uniquely captured in this collection of tales by professional storyteller Steve Lally. Included in this collection are the exploits of the Wizard...


First World War Folk Tales

by Taffy Thomas & Helen Watts

From 2014 to 2018, people all over the world will be commemorating the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. They will not only be honouring those who lost their lives on the battlefield...


The Final Over: The Cricketers of Summer 1914

by Christopher Sandford

August 1914 brought an end to the 'Golden Age' of English cricket. At least 210 professional cricketers (out of a total of 278 registered) signed up to fight, of whom 34 were killed. Cricket stands as both a...


A Toby in the Lane: A History of London's East End Markets

by Paul Morris

A Toby in the Lane reveals the rich fabric of the East End markets, primarily in Petticoat Lane and Brick Lane, and celebrates the street traders and stalls which all these London institutions home. This is...