History / History by country

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History by country

 

In category

United States (8035)

Europe (3541)

Asia (1225)

Middle East (838)

Africa (384)

Australia & New Zealand (299)

South America (285)

Canada (251)

Mexico (149)

Caribbean & West Indies (54)

Central America (51)

Cuba (22)

Oceania (18)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (14422)

French (524)

German (86)

Spanish (371)

Italian (552)

 

Protection

All (14422)

DRM Free (420)

DRM (13996)

More options

Cromwell was Framed: Ireland 1649

by Tom Reilly

Revealed: The definitive research that proves the Irish nation owes Oliver Cromwell a huge posthumous apology for wrongly convicting him of civilian atrocities in 1649.


Victory at Yorktown

by Richard M. Ketchum

From "the finest historian of the American Revolution" comes the definitive account of the battle and unlikely triumph that led to American independence (Douglas Brinkley)

In 1780, George Washington's army lay...


The Turkish Empire, its Growth and Decay

by Lord Eversley

THE favour with which, two years ago, my book on The Partitions of Poland was received by the public has induced me to devote the interval to a study of the history of another State which, in modern times, has...


The Wandering Jews

by Joseph Roth & Michael Hofmann

The classic portrait of a vanished people. Every few decades a book is published that shapes Jewish consciousness. One thinks of Wiesel's Night or Levi's Survival in Auschwitz. But in 1927, years before these...


In the Presence of Mine Enemies: The Civil War in the Heart of America, 1859-1864

by Edward L. Ayers

Winner of the Bancroft Prize: Through a gripping narrative based on massive new research, a leading historian reshapes our understanding of the Civil War. Our standard Civil War histories tell a reassuring story...


Religion and Revolution in Mexico's North: Even Unto Death . . . Tengamos Fe

by Philip R. Stover

Religion and revolution reverberated through northern Mexico like the thunder and lightning of its wild and fierce storms. Religion and Revolution in Mexico?s North reveals the motivation behind the madness...


5 Steps to a 5 AP US History, 2015 Edition

by Daniel Murphy

This easy-to-follow study guide includes a complete course review, full-length practice tests, and access to an AP Planner app!

5 Steps to a 5: AP U.S. History features an effective, 5-step plan to guide your...


The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History

by Jacqueline Hogan Towery, Robert Towery & Peter Barbour

The Brothers Hogan: A Fort Worth History is a unique family portrait of one of golf's greatest legends. Lavishly illustrated with never-before-seen family photos, The Brothers Hogan follows the lives of Ben...


Modigliani: A Life

by Jeffrey Meyers

In 1920, at the age of thirty-five, Amedeo Modigliani died in poverty and neglect in Paris, much like a figure out of La Bohéme. His life had been as dramatic as his death. An Italian Jew from a bourgeois family,...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


How the Scoundrel Seduces

by Sabrina Jeffries

The third deliciously sexy novel in the New York Times bestselling Duke’s Men historical romance series, featuring an investigator who sets out to find gypsies—and unexpectedly finds love.

Investigator Tristan...


When Britain Burned the White House

by Peter Snow

In August 1814, the United States army was defeated just outside Washington, D.C., by the world’s greatest military power. President James Madison and his wife had just enough time to flee the White House...


The Bohannon Brothers: Ireland and America, 1857-1865

by Kerry R Keven, Kesra Hoffman & Aogan O' Muircheartaigh

The Bohannon Brothers - Ireland and America, 1857-1865 A timeless historical novel set in Ireland and the United States during the American Civil War era; this unique story plays out through the lives of immigrant...


Truth of a Hopi: Stories Relating to the Origin, Myths and Clan Histories of the Hopi

by Edmund Nequatewa

In the Truth of a Hopi, Edmund Nequatewa relates the Hopis' myths, legends, belief systems, and oral history. Nequatewa's writings give us a glimpse into the psyche of the Hopi in the way that only a Hopi could....


Unknown Warriors: The Letters of Kate Luard RRC and Bar, Nursing Sister in France 1914-1918

by Kate Luard, John Stevens & Caroline Stevens

The words of Unknown Warriors resonate as powerfully today as when first written. It offers a very personal glimpse into the hidden world of the military field hospital where patients struggled with pain and...


As Good As Any Man: Scotland's First Black Tommy

by Douglas John Sadler, Rosie Serdiville & Morag Miller

When the harrowing Great War diaries of one of Britain's first black soldiers were unearthed in a dusty Scottish attic nearly 100 years after they were written, they posed a bit of a mystery. The diary entries...


VCs of the First World War: The Sideshows

by Gerald Gliddon

The latest volume in the series covering the VCs won in theatres of war away from the Western Front and Gallipoli. The book opens with the stories of four VC-winners who took part in the prolonged struggles...


The Price of Peace

by James B Johnston

The 1998 Belfast Peace Agreement signals the end to thirty years of conflict in Northern Ireland. But victims of The Troubles soon realize there's a price to pay- the early release from prison of the very people...


Great War Britain: Swindon: Remembering 1914-18

by Mike Pringle

The First World War claimed over 995,000 British lives, and its legacy continues to be remembered today. Great War Britain: Swindon offers an intimate portrayal of the town and its people living in the shadow...