History / Other

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (2267)

French (790)

German (414)

Spanish (908)

Italian (804)

 

Category

Delete Other

 

In category

Social History (1022)

Revolutionary (173)

Historiography (146)

Essays (130)

Study & Teaching (99)

 

Protection

All (2267)

DRM Free (400)

DRM (1866)

More options

Empire and Belonging in the Eurasian Borderlands

by Krista A. Goff & Lewis H. Siegelbaum

Empire and Belonging in the Eurasian Borderlands engages with the evolving historiography around the concept of belonging in the Russian and Ottoman empires. The contributors to this book argue that the popular...


WALDEN, and  ON THE DUTY OF CIVIL Disobedience

by Henry David Thoreau

Henry David Thoreau was an American essayist, poet, philosopher, abolitionist, naturalist, tax resister, development critic, surveyor, and historian.


The League of Wives

by Heath Hardage Lee

"With astonishing verve, The League of Wives persisted to speak truth to power to bring their POW/MIA husbands home from Vietnam. And with astonishing verve, Heath Hardage Lee has chronicled their little-known...


Gendering Post-1945 German History

by Karen Hagemann, Donna Harsch & Friederike Brühöfener

For as much as "entanglement" has become a keyword in recent German history scholarship, entangled studies of the postwar era have largely limited their scope to politics and economics across the two Germanys...


The Engaged Historian

by Stefan Berger

On the surface, historical scholarship might seem thoroughly incompatible with political engagement: the ideal historian, many imagine, is a disinterested observer focused exclusively on the past. In truth,...


The Armenian Velvet Revolution

by Stepan Grigoryan

The book discusses the political situation in Armenia in recent years and presents a chronology and analysis of the political processes in the country from March 31, 2018, when opposition leader Nikol Pashinyan...


The Absent Hand

by Suzannah Lessard

  • For serious readers of ecocriticism, the theories of human geography, and literary essays, and for fans of Rebecca Solnit, Susan Sontag, or Wendell Berry
  • Lessard is a national bestselling author whose book will...

  • Our City

    by Jon Bloomfield

    Our City: Migrants and the Making of Modern Birmingham explores how one of Britain’s major cities has been transformed for the better by its migrant population. Based on original interviews, this book tells...


    London Made Us

    by Robert Elms

    Robert Elms has seen London change beyond all imagining: the house he grew up in is now the behemoth that is the Westway flyover, and areas once deemed murder miles have morphed into the stuff of estate agents'...


    Negotiating the Secular and the Religious in the German Empire

    by Rebekka Habermas

    With its rapid industrialization, modernization, and gradual democratization, Imperial Germany has typically been understood in secular terms. However, religion and religious actors actually played crucial...


    Beyond the Border

    by Tobias Haimin Wung-Sung

    In the nineteenth century, the hotly disputed border region between Denmark and Germany was the focus of an intricate conflict that complicates questions of ethnic and national identity even today. Beyond the...


    New World Cities

    by John Tutino & Martin V. Melosi

    For millennia, urban centers were pivots of power and trade that ruled and linked rural majorities. After 1950, explosive urbanization led to unprecedented urban majorities around the world. That transformation--inextricably...


    Civil War Places

    by Gary W. Gallagher, J. Matthew Gallman & Will Gallagher

    Much has been written about place and Civil War memory, but how do we personally remember and commemorate this part of our collective past? How do battlefields and other historic places help us understand our...


    They Call Me George

    by Cecil Foster

    A historical work of non-fiction that chronicles the little-known stories of black railway porters – the so-called “Pullmen” of the Canadian rail lines. The actions and spirit of these men helped define...


    Act Natural

    by Jennifer Traig

    From a distinctive, inimitable voice, a wickedly funny and fascinating romp through the strange and often contradictory history of Western parenting

    Why do we read our kids fairy tales about homicidal stepparents?...


    In the shadow of Enoch Powell

    by Shirin Hirsch

    Almost fifty years ago Enoch Powell made national headlines in what would become known as his 'Rivers of Blood' speech, warning of an immigrant invasion in the once respectable streets of Wolverhampton. This...


    Great Power Rising

    by John M. Thompson

    The nature of the US political system, with its overlapping powers, intense partisanship, and continuous scrutiny from the media and public, complicates the conduct of foreign policy. While numerous presidents...


    Coming Home

    by Wendy Kline

    By the mid-twentieth century, two things appeared destined for extinction in the United States: the practice of home birth and the profession of midwifery. In 1940, close to half of all U.S. births took place...


    Love at Last Sight

    by Tyler Carrington

    In June 1914, a seamstress named Frieda Kliem left Berlin on a commuter train to meet the man she had fallen in love with through a newspaper personal ad. Instead of proposing marriage, the man lured her into...


    American Labyrinth

    by Raymond Haberski, Jr. & Andrew Hartman

    Intellectual history has never been more relevant and more important to public life in the United States. In complicated and confounding times, people look for the principles that drive action and the foundations...