History / History by country / United States / Other / Military

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Military

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (2987)

French (4)

German (3)

Spanish (0)

Italian (3)

 

Protection

All (2987)

DRM Free (87)

DRM (2899)

More options

Predator

by Richard Whittle

The untold story of the birth of the Predator drone, a wonder weapon that transformed the American military, reshaped modern warfare, and sparked a revolution in aviation

The creation of the first weapon in history...


Wards in the Sky: The RAF's Remarkable Nursing Service

by Mary Mackie

This is the eventful story of the nurses who since 1918 have worn the grey-blue uniform of the RAF, from the Great War to D-Day; through the Falklands, in Bosnia and on to Afghanistan. These brave professionals...


The Other First World War: The Blood-Soaked Russian Fronts 1914-1922

by Douglas Boyd

Unlike the stalemate of the trenches in Flanders, the little-known eastern front of the First World War was a war of movement that cost 12 million casualties, including female combatants. It spanned thousands...


Who Takes Britain To War?

by James Gray, Mark Lomas QC & Secretary of State for Defence Hammond

The long-standing Parliamentary convention known as the 'Royal Perogative' has always allowed Prime Ministers to take the country to war without any formal approval by Parliament. The dramatic vote against any...


Battle Story Mafeking 1900

by Edmund Yorke

The Siege of Mafeking remains one of the most famous actions of the Second Boer War, with the British Army defeating a Boer force of over 8,000 men with only 1,500 troops. The town of Mafeking was designated...


Byzantium and the Crusades

by Jonathan Harris

This new edition of Byzantium and the Crusades provides a fully-revised and updated version of Jonathan Harris's landmark text in the field of Byzantine and crusader history.

The book offers a chronological exploration...


HMS Victory: First-Rate 1765

by Iain Ballantyne & Jonathan Eastland

HMS Victory is probably the best-known historic ship in the world. A symbol of the Royal Navy's achievements during the great age of sail, she is based in Portsmouth and seen by tens of thousands of visitors...


U.S. Army Weapons Systems 2014-2015

by Army

From the Advanced Threat Infrared Countermeasures to the XM320 grenade launcher, this comprehensive guide profiles nearly every weapon currently in use by the U.S. Army. In addition, it covers cutting-edge technology...


Warlords of Ancient Mexico: How the Mayans and Aztecs Ruled for More Than a Thousand Years

by Peter G. Tsouras

Learn the unbelievable true history of the great warrior tribes of Mexico.

More than thirteen centuries of incredible spellbinding history are detailed in this intriguing study of the rulers and warriors of Mexico....


Such Troops as These: The Genius and Leadership of Confederate General Stonewall Jackson

by Bevin Alexander

Acclaimed military historian Bevin Alexander offers a fresh and cogent analysis of Stonewall Jackson's military genius and reveals how the Civil War might have ended differently if Jackson's strategies had been...


Crossed Currents: Navy Women in a Century of Change

by Jean Ebbert

This new, revised edition of the path-breaking first history of the female members of the U.S. Navy has been updated to include the recent integration of Navy women into the crews of combaant shops and tactical...


The Great Illusion

by Norman Angell

If this, the fourth American edition, is bulkier than its predecessors, it is chiefly because the events of the last two years throw an interesting light upon the bearing of the book's main thesis on actual...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


A Coast Guardsman's History of the U.S. Coast Guard

by Douglas Kroll

More a book about Coast Guard heritage than an academic history, this book focuses on a variety of relatively unknown Coast Guardsmen who personify the service's core values. The author highlights the contributions...


Fire on the Water: China, America, and the Future of the Pacific

by Robert Haddick

The main theme of Fire on the Water is that conventional measures of military balance, employed by both the general public and many policy experts, underestimate the threat that China’s military modernization...


The Forgotten Front: The East African Campaign 1914-1918

by Ross Anderson

The war in East Africa spanned the entire period of the conflict. It was the largest yet to take place on African soil. Four empires and their subject peoples were engaged, from modern Kenya in the north to...


Ten Days in August: The Siege of Liège 1914

by Terence Zuber

In August 1914 the German main attack was conducted by the 2nd Army. It had missions of taking the vital fortresses of Liège and Namur, and then defeating the Anglo-French-Belgian forces in the open plains...


Arnhem: Nine Days of Battle

by Chris Brown

The greatest airborne operation in history commenced on 17 September 1944. Nine days later nearly four out of five of the British 1st Airborne Division and their Polish comrades would be killed, wounded or captured...


Unknown Warriors: The Letters of Kate Luard RRC and Bar, Nursing Sister in France 1914-1918

by Kate Luard, John Stevens & Caroline Stevens

The words of Unknown Warriors resonate as powerfully today as when first written. It offers a very personal glimpse into the hidden world of the military field hospital where patients struggled with pain and...