History / World War II

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete World War II

 

Language

English (2622)

French (96)

German (101)

Spanish (85)

Italian (188)

 

Protection

All (2622)

DRM Free (43)

DRM (2576)

More options

The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

by Anders Rydell & Henning Koch

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books...


Churchill's Ministry of Ungentlemanly Warfare

by Giles Milton

Six gentlemen, one goal: the destruction of Hitler's war machine

In the spring of 1939, a top-secret organization was founded in London: its purpose was to plot the destruction of Hitler's war machine through...


A World Erased: A Grandson's Search for His Family's Holocaust Secrets

by Noah Lederman

This moving memoir by the grandson of Holocaust survivors transports readers from Noah’s grandmother’s home in Brooklyn to World War II Poland. Together, they explore the memories—of Auschwitz, the Warsaw...


Reporting on Hitler

by Will Wainewright

Allegedly the only man capable of holding the Führer's intense gaze, Rothay Reynolds was a leading foreign correspondent between the wars and ran the Daily Mail's bureau in Berlin throughout the 1920s and 1930s....


Weimar in Exile: The Antifascist Emigration in Europe and America

by Jean Michel Palmier

A magisterial history of the artists and writers who left Weimar when the Nazis came to power

In 1933 thousands of intellectuals, artists, writers, militants and other opponents of the Nazi regime fled Germany....


The Lost Eleven: The Forgotten Story of Black American Soldiers Brutally Massacred in World War II

by Denise George & Robert Child

Nearly forgotten by history, this is the story of the Wereth Eleven, African-American soldiers who fought courageously for freedom in WWII—only to be ruthlessly executed by Nazi troops during the Battle of...


From Battle of Britain Airman to PoW Escapee: The Story of Ian Walker RAF

by Angela Walker

This is the Second World War story of a champion cyclist turned airman who lived to tell the tale against almost impossible odds. A New Zealander in the RAF, Ian Walker took part in the Battle of Britain before...


The Battle of Britain

by 50 minutes

Keen to learn but short on time? Get to grips with the events of the Battle of Britain in next to no time with this concise guide.

50Minutes.com provides a clear and engaging analysis of the Battle of Britain....


Adolf Hitler

by 50 minutes

Keen to learn but short on time? Get to grips with the life of Adolf Hitler in next to no time with this concise guide.

50Minutes.com provides a clear and engaging analysis of Adolf Hitler. Adolf Hitler’s name...


Panzergrenadier vs US Armored Infantryman

by Steven J. Zaloga & Johnny Shumate

During World War II, the two pre-eminent mechanized infantry forces of the conflict, the German Panzergrenadier arm and the US Army's armoured infantrymen, clashed in France and Belgium after the Normandy landings....


Shot Down: The Secret Diary of One POW's Long March to Freedom

by Alex Kerr

Alex Kerr's Wellington, a twin-engine bomber, was shot down over Germany in 1941. At first hospitalised with hopes of repatriation, he unexpectedly found himself a prisoner in a German POW camp. Throughout those...


Why?: Explaining the Holocaust

by Peter Hayes

A bold new exploration that answers the most commonly asked questions about the Holocaust.

Despite the outpouring of books, movies, museums, memorials, and courses devoted to the Holocaust, a coherent explanation...


Detours: A Memoir of a Railroad Man

by Gail F. Menitzer

Learn about Gail F. Meintzer's philosophies from lessons learned the hard way, as he took the long road less traveled on the iron highway.

Travel with Gail F. Meintzer as he journeys with the railroad system...


Shadow Warriors of World War II: The Daring Women of the OSS and SOE

by Gordon Thomas & Greg Lewis

In a dramatically different tale of espionage and conspiracy in World War II, Shadow Warriors of World War II unveils the history of the courageous women who volunteered to work behind enemy lines. Sent into...


Hitler's Stormtroopers: The SA, The Nazis' Brownshirts, 1922 - 1945

by Jean-Denis Lepage

The Sturm Abteilung der NSDAP (SA, assault battalion of the Nazi party) – created in August 1920 – were squads of strong arms intended to protect the Nazis’ meetings, to provoke disturbance, to break up...


Hemingway at War: Ernest Hemingway's Adventures as a World War II Correspondent

by Terry Mort

From Omaha Beach on D-Day and the French Resistance to the tragedy of Huertgen Forest and the Liberation of Paris, this is the story of Ernest Hemingway's adventures in journalism during World War II. In the...


What Was World War II? Who Won World War II? What Was the Great Patriotic War? : SHORT STORY # 13.  Nonfiction series #1 - # 60.

by Alla P Gakuba

Adolf Hitler’s raise to power in Germany in 1930s was a threat to the 20th century civilization.

In 1930s, to pull Germany from a deep depression and mass unemployment, Hitler started drumming up his doctrine....


What Were the Happiest Years of Your Life? Or, What Is Happiness? : SHORT STORY #7. Nonfiction series #1- #60.

by Alla P. Gakuba

Life is full of surprises, both big and small unexpected stressful events. They are occurring many times a day and every day. These events challenge people’s knowledge, creativity, and skills and test their...


Churchill's Last Wartime Secret: The 1943 German Raid Airbrushed from History

by Adrian Searle

Its been a State secret for more than seventy years. The official line in the UK has always been that it never happened but this new work challenges the assertion that no German force set foot on British soil...


Intelligence Images from the Eastern Front

by Roy M Stanley

Despite the Luftwaffe being ordered to destroy millions of aerial photos in 1945, the Allies found no less than twenty tons of photos in eleven locations, including a hoard in a Bavarian barn.  These together...