History / History by country / United States

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete United States

 

In category

Other (2951)

Historical period (1532)

South (AL, AR, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN, VA, WV) (278)

State & Local (251)

Southwest (AZ, NM, OK, TX) (190)

West (AK, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, NV, UT, WY) (151)

Midwest (IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, MN, MO, ND, NE, OH, SD, WI) (90)

Middle Atlantic (DC, DE, MD, NJ, NY, PA) (74)

New England (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT) (56)

Pacific Northwest (OR, WA) (14)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (7905)

French (35)

German (3)

Spanish (6)

Italian (38)

 

Protection

All (7905)

DRM Free (231)

DRM (7673)

More options

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


The Bohannon Brothers: Ireland and America, 1857-1865

by Kerry R Keven, Kesra Hoffman & Aogan O' Muircheartaigh

The Bohannon Brothers - Ireland and America, 1857-1865 A timeless historical novel set in Ireland and the United States during the American Civil War era; this unique story plays out through the lives of immigrant...


The First and The Last

by Adolf Galland

Adolf "Dolfo" Joseph Ferdinand Galland (1912 -1996) was a German Luftwaffe General and one of the greatest flying aces of World War II. He flew 705 combat missions, and fought on the Western and the Defence...


VCs of the First World War: The Sideshows

by Gerald Gliddon

The latest volume in the series covering the VCs won in theatres of war away from the Western Front and Gallipoli. The book opens with the stories of four VC-winners who took part in the prolonged struggles...


Great War Britain: Swindon: Remembering 1914-18

by Mike Pringle

The First World War claimed over 995,000 British lives, and its legacy continues to be remembered today. Great War Britain: Swindon offers an intimate portrayal of the town and its people living in the shadow...


Sennen Cove Lifeboats: An Illustrated History

by Nicholas Leach

Considered one of the most treacherous areas of Britain's coastline, Land's End has seen many shipwrecks over the past 2,000 years. Where the waters of the Atlantic meet those of the English Channel, storms...


The Final Over: The Cricketers of Summer 1914

by Christopher Sandford

August 1914 brought an end to the 'Golden Age' of English cricket. At least 210 professional cricketers (out of a total of 278 registered) signed up to fight, of whom 34 were killed. Cricket stands as both a...


The Rush: America's Fevered Quest for Fortune, 1848-1853

by Edward Dolnick

A riveting portrait of the Gold Rush, by the award-winning author of Down the Great Unknown and The Forger's Spell.

In the spring of 1848, rumors began to spread that gold had been discovered in a remote spot...


The Columbia Sourcebook of Mormons in the United States

by Terryl L. Givens & Reid L. Neilson

This anthology provides rare access to key original documents illuminating Mormon history, theology, and culture in the United States from the nineteenth century to today. Brief introductions describe the theological...


LBJ and Grassroots Federalism: Congressman Bob Poage, Race, and Change in Texas

by Robert H. Duke

LBJ and Grassroots Federalism: Congressman Bob Poage, Race, and Change in Texas reveals the local ramifications of federal policy. Three case studies in the rising career of Lyndon B. Johnson show this in action:...


The First Family Detail: Secret Service Agents Reveal the Hidden Lives of the Presidents

by Ronald Kessler

As in a play, presidents, vice presidents, and presidential candidates perform on stage for the public and the media. What the nation’s leaders are really like and what goes on behind the scenes remains hidden....


The Invisible Bridge: The Fall of Nixon and the Rise of Reagan

by Rick Perlstein

From the bestselling author of Nixonland: a dazzling portrait of America on the verge of a nervous breakdown in the tumultuous political and economic times of the 1970s.

In January of 1973 Richard Nixon announced...


I Came Out of the Eighteenth Century

by John Andrew Rice & Mark Bauerlein

John Andrew Rice's autobiography, first published to critical acclaim in 1942, is a remarkable tour through late-nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century America. When the book was suppressed by the publisher...


Ukraine Diaries

by Andrey Kurkov & Sam Taylor

-16°C, sunlight, silence. I drove the children to school, then went to see the revolution. I walked between the tents. Talked with rev­olutionaries. They were weary today. The air was thick with the smell...


The Nixon Tapes (WITH AUDIO CLIPS): 1971-1972

by Douglas Brinkley & Luke Nichter

The infamous Nixon White House taping system captured 3,700 hours of Oval Office, Cabinet Room, and Camp David conversations between 1971 and 1973, automatically taping every single word spoken.  These audio...


Ambon: The Truth About One of the Most Brutal POW Camps in World War II and the Triumph of the Aussie Spirit

by Roger Maynard

Survival, heroism, courage and mateship in Ambon - a place of nightmares.

In February, 1942, Ambon, an Indonesian island north of Darwin, fell to the Japanese army and the Allied forces defending it were captured....


The Future of the Gun

by Frank Miniter

The history of the American gun is intricately entwined with the history of America itself. Promising developments in gun technology could change not only America's future, but the future of the world. Unfortunately,...


Sgt. Reckless: America's War Horse

by Robin Hutton

From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines."

A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning,...


Rough Country: How Texas Became America's Most Powerful Bible-Belt State

by Robert Wuthnow

Tracing the intersection of religion, race, and power in Texas from Reconstruction through the rise of the Religious Right and the failed presidential bid of Governor Rick Perry, Rough Country illuminates American...