History / History by country / United States / Other

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Other

 

In category

Military (2847)

Veterans (49)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (2890)

French (2)

German (3)

Spanish (1)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (2972)

DRM Free (81)

DRM (2890)

More options

Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers: How America Outsourced Our Security

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


Unknown Warriors: The Letters of Kate Luard RRC and Bar, Nursing Sister in France 1914-1918

by Kate Luard, John Stevens & Caroline Stevens

The words of Unknown Warriors resonate as powerfully today as when first written. It offers a very personal glimpse into the hidden world of the military field hospital where patients struggled with pain and...


As Good As Any Man: Scotland's First Black Tommy

by Douglas John Sadler, Rosie Serdiville & Morag Miller

When the harrowing Great War diaries of one of Britain's first black soldiers were unearthed in a dusty Scottish attic nearly 100 years after they were written, they posed a bit of a mystery. The diary entries...


VCs of the First World War: The Sideshows

by Gerald Gliddon

The latest volume in the series covering the VCs won in theatres of war away from the Western Front and Gallipoli. The book opens with the stories of four VC-winners who took part in the prolonged struggles...


Great War Britain: Swindon: Remembering 1914-18

by Mike Pringle

The First World War claimed over 995,000 British lives, and its legacy continues to be remembered today. Great War Britain: Swindon offers an intimate portrayal of the town and its people living in the shadow...


Sennen Cove Lifeboats: An Illustrated History

by Nicholas Leach

Considered one of the most treacherous areas of Britain's coastline, Land's End has seen many shipwrecks over the past 2,000 years. Where the waters of the Atlantic meet those of the English Channel, storms...


The Final Over: The Cricketers of Summer 1914

by Christopher Sandford

August 1914 brought an end to the 'Golden Age' of English cricket. At least 210 professional cricketers (out of a total of 278 registered) signed up to fight, of whom 34 were killed. Cricket stands as both a...


Ambon: The Truth About One of the Most Brutal POW Camps in World War II and the Triumph of the Aussie Spirit

by Roger Maynard

Survival, heroism, courage and mateship in Ambon - a place of nightmares.

In February, 1942, Ambon, an Indonesian island north of Darwin, fell to the Japanese army and the Allied forces defending it were captured....


The Future of the Gun

by Frank Miniter

The history of the American gun is intricately entwined with the history of America itself. Promising developments in gun technology could change not only America's future, but the future of the world. Unfortunately,...


The Model Occupation

by Madeline Bunting

When the Germans arrived on the Channel Islands after the defeat of France in the summer of 1940, they and the islanders agreed that it would be a 'Model Occupation'. But as the war dragged on and Britain appeared...


Double Agent: The First Hero of World War II and How the FBI Outwitted and Destroyed a Nazi Spy Ring

by Peter Duffy

The never-before-told tale of the German-American who spearheaded a covert mission to infiltrate New York’s Nazi underground in the days leading up to World War II—the most successful counterespionage operation...


Tropic Suns: Seadogs Aboard an English Galleon

by James Seay Dean

When a ship set out for the Americas in the sixteenth century, the crew faced a long voyage and a host of difficulties along the way. Ship-building, navigation and provisioning were all crucial to the vessel...


The British Army 1914-1918

by Andrew Rawson

The only indispensable guide to Britain's Army covers the 'Old Contemptibles' - the professTerritorials, Kitchener's 'New Army' and 'Derby's Men', the conscripts who eventually defeated the Kaiser's armies five...


The Book of the Poppy

by Chris McNab

The Remembrance Poppy is a haunting reminder of the ultimate cost of war. Worn by millions around the world every year, the Poppy compels us to remember war’s dead, wounded and bereaved, regardless of nationality...


The Lighthouse: The Mystery of the Eilean Mor Lighthouse Keepers

by Keith McCloskey

On 26 December 1900, the vessel Hesperus arrived at Eilean Mor in the remote Outer Hebrides with relief lighthouse men and fresh provisions. Staffed by three keepers, the lighthouse had been in operation for...


Female Tommies: The Frontline Women of the First World War

by Elisabeth Shipton

This book tells the story of women in the First World War at the front line, under fire, and in combat. Through their diaries, letters and memoirs, meet the women who defied convention and followed their convictions...


"The Best Kept Secret of World War Two!"

by Jr., Willis S. Cole

The Head Military Archivist at the National Archives created the title for the book, when he told the author, "You have discovered the best kept secret of World War Two and you are proving it by finding missing...


Fleet Tactics and Coastal Combat: Second Edition

by Wayne P. Hughes

This major revision updates Wayne Hughes's 1986 landmark study that is credited with providing decision makers a sound foundation for battle planning and tactical thinking. The book integrates the historical...


Disasters at Sea: A Visual History of Infamous Shipwrecks

by Liz Mechem

A fully illustrated collection of the most thrilling shipwrecks of all time!

Experience the mystery and wonder of the bottom of the sea with over sixty accounts of shipwreck catastrophes. Illustrated with detailed...