History / Holocaust

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Holocaust

 

Language

English (311)

French (21)

German (33)

Spanish (9)

Italian (90)

 

Protection

All (311)

DRM Free (16)

DRM (295)

More options

Humanitarians at War

by Gerald Steinacher

The Geneva-based International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is one of the world's oldest, most prominent, and revered aid organizations. But at the end of World War II things could not have looked more...


The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance

by Anders Rydell & Henning Koch

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books...


A World Erased: A Grandson's Search for His Family's Holocaust Secrets

by Noah Lederman

This moving memoir by the grandson of Holocaust survivors transports readers from Noah’s grandmother’s home in Brooklyn to World War II Poland. Together, they explore the memories—of Auschwitz, the Warsaw...


I'll Be Damned

by Eric Braeden

In this startling candid and poignant memoir, the legendary Emmy Award-winning star of The Young and The Restless, America's #1 soap opera, chronicles his amazing life, from his birth in World War II Germany...


Why?: Explaining the Holocaust

by Peter Hayes

A bold new exploration that answers the most commonly asked questions about the Holocaust.

Despite the outpouring of books, movies, museums, memorials, and courses devoted to the Holocaust, a coherent explanation...


The Holocaust Across Generations

by Janet Jacobs

Over the last two decades, the cross-generational transmission of trauma has become an important area of research within both Holocaust studies and the more broad study of genocide. The overall findings of the...


Jewish Families in Europe, 1939-Present: History, Representation, and Memory

by Joanna Beata Michlic

Examining World War II, the Holocaust, and their aftermath through the lens of Central and Eastern European Jewish families


From Auschwitz

by Daniel G Fischer

Dr. Daniel G. Fischer was a 15-year-old schoolboy in 1944 when taken from Transylvania (Hungary) and incarcerated in the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp. He weighed less than 60 pounds when he was liberated...


Auschwitz and Birkenau: Rare Photographs from Wartime Archives

by Ian Baxter

Auschwitz and Birkenau were separate from each other,by about a 45 minute walk. Auschwitz was adapted to hold political prisoners in 1940 and evolved into a killing machine in 1941. Later that year a new site...


When Memory Comes

by Saul Friedländer, Helen R. Lane & Claire Messud

A classic of Holocaust literature, the eloquent, acclaimed memoir of childhood by a Pulitzer-winning historian, now reissued with a new introduction by Claire Messud

 

Four months before Hitler came to power,...


Year of the Sword

by Joseph Yacoub

The Armenian genocide of 1915 has been well documented. Much less known is the Turkish genocide of the Assyrian, Chaldean and Syriac peoples, which occurred simultaneously in their ancient homelands in and around...


Romania and the Holocaust: Events ¿ Contexts ¿ Aftermath

by Simon Geissbühler

From summer 1941 onwards, Romania actively pursued at its own initiative the mass killing of Jews in the territories it controlled. 1941 saw 13,000 Jewish residents of the Romanian city of Ia?i killed, the extermination...


Defying the Nazis: The Sharps' War

by Artemis Joukowsky & Ken Burns

Official companion to the Ken Burns film premiering September 20, 2016, on PBS tells the little-known story of the Sharps, an otherwise ordinary couple whose faith and commitment to social justice inspired them...


Denial [Movie Tie-in]

by Deborah E. Lipstadt

In her acclaimed 1993 book Denying the Holocaust, Deborah Lipstadt called David Irving, a prolific writer of books on World War II, “one of the most dangerous spokespersons for Holocaust denial.” The following...


Chasing Portraits: A Great-Granddaughter's Quest for Her Lost Art Legacy

by Elizabeth Rynecki

The memoir of one woman’s emotional quest to find the art of her Polish-Jewish great-grandfather, lost during World War II.

 

Moshe Rynecki’s body of work reached close to eight hundred paintings and sculptures...


The Holocaust: Europe, the World, and the Jews, 1918 - 1945

by Norman Goda

The Holocaust: Europe, the World, and the Jews is a readable text for undergraduate students containing sufficient but manageable detail. The author provides a broad set of perspectives, while emphasizing the...


Four Scraps of Bread

by Magda Hollander-Lafon & Anthony T. Fuller

Born in Hungary in 1927, Magda Hollander-Lafon was among the 437,000 Jews deported from Hungary between May and July 1944. Magda, her mother, and her younger sister survived a three-day deportation to Auschwitz-Birkenau;...


Kasztners Crime

by Paul Bogdanor

This book reexamines one of the most intense controversies of the Holocaust: the role of Rezs Kasztner in facilitating the murder of most of Nazi-occupied Hungary’s Jews in 1944. Because he was acting head...


The Holocaust in the Twenty-First Century: Contesting/Contested Memories

by David M. Seymour & Mercedes Camino

This volume locates and explores historical and contemporary sites of contested meanings of Holocaust memory across a range of geographical, geo-political, and disciplinary contexts, identifying and critically...


National Policy, Global Memory: The Commemoration of the ¿Righteous¿ From Jerusalem to Paris, 1942-2007

by Sarah Gensburger

Since 1963, the state of Israel has awarded the title of "Righteous among the Nations" to individuals who risked their lives sheltering Jews during the Holocaust. This distinction remained solely an Israeli...