Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States / 20th Century

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete 20th Century

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (1)

Teen (0)

Young adult (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (204)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (2)

 

Protection

All (204)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (203)

More options

Part of Me

by Kimberly Willis Holt

The lives of four generations of one Louisiana family, woven together by a master storyteller Tracing a family’s roots is like taking a journey through the years. In the case of one Louisiana family, that...


Bo at Iditarod Creek

by Kirkpatrick Hill & Leuyen Pham

Ever since five-year-old Bo can remember, she and her papas have lived in the little Alaskan mining town of Ballard Creek. Now the family must move upriver to Iditarod Creek for work at a new mine, and Bo is...


On Track for Treasure

Wanderville #2

by Wendy McClure

Book two in a historically rooted series that's The Boxcar Children for a new era!

When the town sheriff discovers the exact location of "Wanderville," the orphans who live there-Jack, Frances, Harold, Alexander,...


Horrors of History: People of the Plague: Philadelphia Flu Epidemic 1918

by T. Neill Anderson

Well-researched and rich with ghastly details, this third historical fiction novel in the Horrors of History series is based on the great influenza epidemic of 1918. Actual and fictionalized victims and survivors,...


The Troubles of Johnny Cannon

by Isaiah Campbell

“A boy with a highly original voice winces his way into the bewildering world of adults during a neglected moment in American history” (Newbery Medalist Richard Peck) in this heroic coming-of-age novel.

Johnny...


Death Coming Up the Hill

by Chris Crowe

A strikingly innovative and powerful story. Death Coming Up the Hill portrays the momentous events of the year 1968—the escalating war in Vietnam, the explosive Democratic Convention in Chicago, the Martin...


The Paper Cowboy

by Kristin Levine

Though he thinks of himself as a cowboy, Tommy is really a bully. He's always playing cruel jokes on classmates or stealing from the store. But Tommy has a reason: life at home is tough. His abusive mother isn't...


Who Was That Masked Man Anyway?

by Avi

A fast-paced, madcap adventure--with a fresh new cover treatment--from the always surprising raconteur, Avi! It's the spring of 1945 in Brooklyn, and while WWII rages in Europe, sixth grader Frankie Wattleson--inspired...


The Pushcart War

by Jean Merrill & Ronni Solbert

50th Anniversary Edition

Do you know the history of the pushcart war? The REAL history? it’s a story of how regular people banded together and, armed with little more than their brains and good aim defeated...


The Train Jumper

by Don Brown

OUT OF WORK AND OUT OF LUCK. In Don Brown's The Train Jumper Ed "Collie" Collier encounters hobos, misers, racists, and even some kindness while riding the rails during the Great Depression. Collie leaves...


Kate's Story, 1914

by Adele Whitby

There are more family secrets waiting to be discovered at Vandermeer Manor in America in the second book of a historical fiction mystery series.

It’s the end of June in 1914, and Beth Etheridge is traveling...


Girl in Reverse

by Barbara Stuber

Being adopted isn’t easy—especially when you’re seen as a national enemy. A teen seeks the roots of her identity in this stirring novel from the acclaimed author of Crossing the Tracks.

When Lily was three,...


The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill

by Megan Frazer Blakemore

Hazel Kaplansky is a firm believer in the pursuit of knowledge and truth-and she also happens to love a good mystery. When suspicions swirl that a Russian spy has infiltrated her small town of Maple Hill, Vermont,...


Lantern Sam and the Blue Streak Bandits

by Michael D. Beil

Lantern Sam is the wise-cracking, sarcastic, talking cat (for those who can hear him, that is) who lives onboard the Lake Erie Shoreliner train and is one of the best detectives no one knows about. He doesn't...


Halley

by Faye Gibbons

Times are hard in Depression-era Georgia mountain country. Even so, fourteen-year-old Halley Owenby, her younger brother, Robbie, and their parents, Jim and Kate, manage to get by until Jim dies suddenly in...


What the Moon Said

by Gayle Rosengren

Fans of the Little House books will fall in love with Esther.

Thanks to her superstitious mother, Esther knows some tricks for avoiding bad luck: toss salt over your left shoulder, never button your shirt crooked,...


School of Charm

by Lisa Ann Scott

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool,...


Painting the Rainbow

by Amy Gordon

It's 1965, and during their annual month-long reunion at their grandparents' lake house, thirteen-year-old Holly and her cousin Ivy accidentally discover hidden family letters and drawings dating back to World...


Susan Marcus Bends the Rules

by Jane Cutler

It's 1943 and ten-year-old Susan Marcus has moved with her family from New York City to Clayton, Missouri. It's different from her old home in so many ways, and worst of all, for the first time in her life,...


Wanderville

Wanderville #1

by Wendy McClure

THE FIRST BOOK IN A HISTORICAL SERIES THAT'S PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE BOXCAR CHILDREN!

Jack, Frances, and Frances's younger brother Harold have been ripped from the world they knew in New York and sent to Kansas...