Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States / 20th Century

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete 20th Century

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (0)

Teen (0)

Young adult (0)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (187)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (3)

 

Protection

All (187)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (186)

More options

The Train Jumper

by Don Brown

OUT OF WORK AND OUT OF LUCK.  Ed "Collie" Collier encounters hobos, misers, racists, and even some kindness while riding the rails during the Great Depression. Collie leaves home in search of his older brother,...


Kate's Story, 1914

by Adele Whitby

There are more family secrets waiting to be discovered at Vandermeer Manor in America in the second book of a historical fiction mystery series.

It’s the end of June in 1914, and Beth Etheridge is traveling...


Girl in Reverse

by Barbara Stuber

Being adopted isn’t easy—especially when you’re seen as a national enemy. A teen seeks the roots of her identity in this stirring novel from the acclaimed author of Crossing the Tracks.

When Lily was three,...


What the Moon Said

by Gayle Rosengren

Thanks to her superstitious mother, Esther knows some tricks for avoiding bad luck: toss salt over your left shoulder, never button your shirt crooked, and avoid black cats. But even luck can't keep her family...


School of Charm

by Lisa Ann Scott

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool,...


Wanderville

by Wendy McClure

THE FIRST BOOK IN A HISTORICAL SERIES THAT'S PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE BOXCAR CHILDREN!

Jack, Frances, and Frances's younger brother Harold have been ripped from the world they knew in New York and sent to Kansas...


The Sittin' Up

by Shelia P. Moses

When Mr. Bro. Wiley, Bean's adopted grandfather and the last slave man around, dies in the summer of 1940, Bean and his very best friend Pole are some kind of hurt. Everyone in the Low Meadows is. Despite their...


Dear America: Hear My Sorrow: The Diary of Angela Denoto, a Shirtwaist Worker, New York City 1909

by Deborah Hopkinson

Critically acclaimed author Deborah Hopkinson's HEAR MY SORROW is now back in print with a beautiful new cover! Fourteen-year-old Angela Denoto and her family have arrived in New York City from their village...


Cy in Chains

by David L. Dudley

The hard-hitting story of Cy Williams, 17, who suffers the horrors of a labor camp where black boys accused of crimes are sent—brutality, near starvation, humiliation, rape. Cy hatches an escape plan that...


The Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons: Lucy at Sea

by Barbara Mariconda

Newbery Medal–winning author Katherine Applegate says this magnificent second book in the Voyage of Lucy P. Simmons series is "a grand and adventurous tale."

Ever since Lucy's parents drowned at sea, she's...


All the Broken Pieces

by Ann E. Burg

An award-winning debut novel from a stellar new voice in middle grade fiction. Matt Pin would like to forget: war torn Vietnam, bombs that fell like dead crows, and the terrible secret he left behind. But now...


Fallout

by Todd Strasser

What if the bomb had actually been dropped? What if your family was the only one with a shelter? In the summer of 1962, the possibility of nuclear war is all anyone talks about. But Scott's dad is the only one...


The Ghost in the Glass House

by Carey Wallace

A YA novel set in a seaside New England town in the 1920s, where twelve-year-old Clare discovers a mysterious glass house and falls in love with Jack, the ghost of a boy who can’t remember how he died.


Starting Early: A Boy and His Bugle in America During WWII

by Paul Kimpton & Ann Kaczkowski Kimpton

As World War II is being fought, Dale and his friends reach a long-awaited moment—the day they are old enough to play a musical instrument. Little does Dale know that his decision to play the cornet will take...


Dog Tags: A Boy and His Bugle in America During WWII

by Paul Kimpton & Ann Kaczkowski Kimpton

Summer is over, World War II is at its peak, and Dale has volunteered his dog Scout for service. Knowing that a dog like Scout once saved his own father’s life, Dale believes he is doing the right thing....


Summer of Firsts: WWII Is Ending, but the Music Adventures Are Just Beginning

by Paul Kimpton & Ann Kaczkowski Kimpton

Dale and his friends continue their musical adventures in book three of the Adventures with Music series as American involvement in World War II winds down. The band has its first concert, Chrissy plays a solo,...


The Treasure of Way Down Deep

by Ruth White

When Ruby Jolene Hurley sees the shadow of her dead pet goat Jethro dancing on his grave, that's the first hint that something strange is going on in Way Down Deep. Then on Halloween night, Miss Arbutus senses...


Listening for Lucca

by Suzanne Lafleur

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn to Maine...


Whistle in the Dark

by Susan Hill Long

It is the 1920s in Leadanna, Missouri, and thirteen-year-old Clem must leave school and join his Pap in the lead mines--money is tight in the Harding household. While searching for another way to help his family,...


Joshua's Song

by Joan Hiatt Harlow

Boston, 1919. It’s been a terrible year for thirteen-year-old Joshua Harper. The influenza pandemic that’s sweeping the world has claimed his father’s life; his voice has changed, so he can’t sing in...