Literary collections / Essays

New Releases / Page 6

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Essays

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (684)

French (47)

German (0)

Spanish (2)

Italian (8)

 

Protection

All (684)

DRM Free (8)

DRM (676)

More options

Ornament and Silence: Essays on Women's Lives From Edith Wharton to Germaine Greer

by Kennedy Fraser

In these fourteen essays, Fraser focuses on women in love affairs, friendships, marriages, and families; in relation to one another and to the talented men who so often rendered them invisible. In Ornament and...


What They Did For Love: The Extraordinary Ways Ordinary People Express the Heart's Finest Emotion

by Editors of Reader's Digest

A powerful collection of stories that is at once heart-warming and heart-wrenching as writers offer stories of love in its many forms set against the challenges of modern life.

 

Over the years Reader’s Digest...


Psycho Too

by Will Self & Ralph Steadman

Will Self and Ralph Steadman join forces once again in a further post-millennial meditation on the vexed relationship of psyche and place in a globalised world; Psycho Too brings together a second helping of...


White Girls

by Hilton Als

White Girls, Hilton Als’s first book since The Women fourteen years ago, finds one of The New Yorker's boldest cultural critics deftly weaving together his brilliant analyses of literature, art, and music...


Griffith REVIEW 43: Pacific Highways

by Julianne Schultz

Migration, demographic changes and new cultural references are re-shaping New Zealand. It is fast becoming a hub where Pacific and Tasman currents meet. As a result New Zealand is changing, responding to surging...


Radio On

by Sarah Vowell

There are approximately 502 million radios in America. For this savvy, far-reaching diary, celebrated journalist and author Vowell turned hers on and listened—closely, critically, creatively—for an entire...


A Place to Read: Life and Books

by Michael Cohen

In this essay collection, Michael Cohen tells us about his surprise encounter with the remains of Frida Kahlo, about his father's murder, and about his son's close shave with death on the highway. His subjects...


Red Holler: Contemporary Appalachian Literature

by John Branscum & Wayne Thomas

Anthology of contemporary Appalachian literature travels through housing projects, forest-stripped ravines, and trailer high-rises, exploring Appalachia's vibrant migrant tradition.


Something of Myself and Others

by Mary Kenny

‘We are all witnesses of our time, and this is something of a witness to mine.’ Something of Myself and Others is a fascinating collection of articles and reflections on the public and private life of one...


The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and...


These Are the Breaks

by Idris Goodwin

These Are The Breaks is the debut essay collection of NEA award-winning playwright, HBO Def Poet, and critically acclaimed "indie" rapper, Idris Goodwin. Diverse in scope and wickedly satirical, Goodwin's poetic...


This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage

by Ann Patchett

The New York Times bestselling author of State of Wonder, Run, and Bel Canto creates a resonant portrait of a life in this collection of writings on love, friendship, work, and art.

"The tricky thing about being...


The Adding Machine

by William S. Burroughs

"Sheer pleasure. . . . Wonderfully entertaining."—Chicago Sun-Times

Acclaimed by Norman Mailer more than twenty years ago as "possibly the only American writer of genius," William S. Burroughs has produced a...


The Broken Book

by Fiona Farrell

A mix of poetry and prose, this compilation by New Zealand’s Fiona Ferrell is simultaneously a memoir, a meandering travel book, and a poetry collection. Demonstrating how a natural disaster can turn a life...


Finding a Form: Essays

by William H. Gass

From the author of The Tunnel comes a new collection of essays, his first in eight years, on art, writing, nature and culture. This book is by one of the most important and briliant thinkers at work today.


Inside the Zhivago Storm

by Paolo Mancosu

In Inside the Zhivago Storm. The Editorial Adventures of Pasternak’s Masterpiece, Paolo Mancosu, Professor of Philosophy at the University of California at Berkeley, provides a riveting account of the story...


An Archaeology of Yearning

by Bruce Mills

The moving story of a father's bond with his autistic son embodies powerful themes of family relationships and human connections.


Our Boston: Writers Celebrate the City They Love

by Andrew Blauner

An anthology of essays about Boston and what it means to the contributors, including Susan Orlean, Kevin Cullen, Mike Barnicle, Pico Iyer, and many more.


Mind of an Outlaw: Selected Essays

by Norman Mailer, Phillip Sipiora & Jonathan Lethem

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE GLOBE AND MAIL

Norman Mailer was one of the towering figures of twentieth-century American letters and an acknowledged master of the essay. Mind of an Outlaw, the...


Critical Mass: Four Decades of Essays, Reviews, Hand Grenades, and Hurrahs

by James Wolcott

A career-spanning collection of critical essays and cultural journalism from one of the most acute, entertaining, and sometimes acerbic (but in a good way) critics of our time

From his early-seventies dispatches...