Human Science / Philosophy / Eastern

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Eastern

 

In category

Buddhist (227)

Zen (83)

Taoist (31)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (490)

French (25)

German (39)

Spanish (1)

Italian (52)

 

Protection

All (490)

DRM Free (44)

DRM (445)

More options

A Force for Good: The Dalai Lama's Vision for Our World

by Daniel Goleman & Dalai Lama

For more than half a century, in such books as The Art of Happiness and The Dalai Lama’s Little Book of Inner Peace, the Dalai Lama has guided us along the path to compassion and taught us how to improve our...


Dialogues in a Dream: The Life and Zen Teaching of Muso Soseki

by Muso Soseki & Thomas Kirchner

Drawing on his encyclopaedic knowledge, one of the most famous masters in the history of Zen leads us on a grand tour of Buddhist theology in all its timeless relevance.Muso Soseki, the renowned fourteenth century...


Realizing Awakened Consciousness: Interviews with Buddhist Teachers and a New Perspective on the Mind

by Richard P. Boyle

If, as Buddhism claims, the potential for awakening exists in all human beings, we should be able to map the phenomenon with the same science we apply to other forms of consciousness. A student of cognitive...


Buddhism for Couples: A Calm Approach to Relationships

by Sarah Napthali

Learn Buddhist principles that can help enrich your romantic life, your life in general, and the lives of those around you.Surely a happy marriage for a normally adjusted couple is a simple matter of give-and-take—some...


Happiness and Goodness: Philosophical Reflections on Living Well

by Christine Vitrano, Steven M. Cahn & Robert Talisse

How should we evaluate the success of each person’s life? Countering the prevalent philosophical perspective on the subject, Steven M. Cahn and Christine Vitrano defend the view that our well-being is dependent...


Dinner with Buddha

by Roland Merullo

Algonquin’s long-awaited follow-up to Breakfast with Buddha--one of our best-loved “word of mouth” bestsellers (with 200,000 copies in print)--finds Otto Ringling and Mongolian monk Volya Rinpoche on another...


The Dalai Lama's Little Book of Buddhism

by Dalai Lama & Robert A. F. Thurman

“The essence of all spiritual life is your attitude to others.” —His Holiness the Dalai Lama

 

With clarity and candor, the Dalai Lama expounds on the core teachings of Buddhism. Fusing ancient wisdom...


Process of Consciousness and Matter: The Philosophical Psychology of Buddhism

by Rewata Dhamma

Intended for all serious students of the Abhidhamma, this book compliments other texts on the subject and explains the important aspects of consciousness and matter in a detailed manner.  As a whole, the teachings...


The Regal Way to Realization: Yogadarsana

by Patanjali & Raphael (Asram Vidya Order)

From ancient times the Rsis or great Sages, in composing their works, drew from a fount of Wisdom that embraces the knowledge of the spiritual and scientific laws that regulate the micro and macrocosm. After...


The Divine Message About You: Sacred Teachings

by Bourne Robert & Borlase Mary

This book contains modern sacred teachings informing mankind who they really are. These messages were put in my mind to share with you by the Golden Light of Pure Awareness. Freedom from suffering is about awakening...


Simple Buddhism: A Guide to Enlightened Living

by C. Alexander Simpkins & Annellen Simpkins

Exploring a new religion is no easy task. That's why the Simple series is so popular-these delightful books take readers by the hand and lead them into the basics of an Eastern faith without intimidation or...


Tao Te Ching

by David Hinton

Having masterfully translated a wide range of ancient Chinese poets and philosophers, David Hinton is uniquely qualified to offer the definitive contemporary English version of Lao Tzu's Tao Te Ching. Like all...


Mencius

by David Hinton

This ancient text records the teachings of Mencius (4th c. B.C.E.), the second originary sage in the Confucian tradition which has shaped Chinese civilization for over two thousand years. In a culture that makes...


Families of Virtue: Confucian and Western Views on Childhood Development

by Erin M. Cline

Families of Virtue reads a range of thinkers and scientists, from ancient Greek and Chinese philosophers to contemporary feminist ethicists and attachment theorists, to articulate the critical role of the parent-child...


How to Walk

by Thich Nhat Hanh & Jason DeAntonis

How to Walk is the fourth title in Parallax’s popular Mindfulness Essentials series of how-to titles by Zen master Thich Nhat Hanh, introducing beginners and reminding seasoned practitioners of the essentials...


Buddha For Beginners

by Stephen T. Asma

Despite the widespread popularity of Buddhist practices (like meditation), there is little understanding of the complex philosophy behind Buddhism. The historical Buddha, Gautama, was a real person—a radical—who...


Conflict, Culture, Change: Engaged Buddhism in a Globalizing World

by Sulak Sivaraksa

From Nobel Peace Prize nominee Sulak Sivaraksa comes this look at Buddhism's innate ability to help change life on the global scale. Conflict, Culture, Change explores the cultural and environmental impacts...


Sixty-Four Chance Pieces: A Book of Changes

by Will Buckingham

The Chinese I Ching, or Book of Changes, is one of the oldest and strangest of all books, a masterpiece of world literature, a divination manual, and a magnet for the deranged and the obsessive. In Sixty-Four...


Mindfulness as Medicine: A Story of Healing Body and Spirit

by Sister Dang Nghiem

Before she became a Buddhist nun in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, Sister Dang Nghiem was a doctor. She’d traveled far in her 43 years. Born during the Tet Offensive and part of the amnesty for Amerasian...


Confucius: And the World He Created

by Michael Schuman

Confucius is perhaps the most important philosopher in history. Today, his teachings shape the daily lives of more than 1.6 billion people. Throughout East Asia, Confucius’s influence can be seen in everything...