Social science / Political science

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Political science

 

In category

Political Freedom & Security (2788)

International Relations (2436)

Political Ideologies (1336)

Economic Conditions (1247)

History & Theory (1196)

Government (1023)

Public Affairs & Administration (1015)

Social Policy (666)

Democracy (524)

City Planning & Urban Development (405)

Globalization (371)

Elections (349)

Political Parties (280)

Political Process (280)

 

Language

English (17075)

French (1082)

German (1213)

Spanish (654)

Italian (1094)

 

Protection

All (17075)

DRM Free (1474)

DRM (15596)

More options

Exceptional America

by Mugambi Jouet

Why does a country built on the concept of liberty have the highest incarceration rate in the world? How could the first Western nation to elect a person of color as its leader suffer from institutional racism? ...


The Water Problem

by Pat Mulroy

Building water resilience is the single biggest challenge in a changing global climate.

The United States faces a water crisis as critical as the energy crisis that once dominated headlines. Like the energy crisis,...


Nationalism and War

by John Hutchinson

This interdisciplinary book is the first systematic study of the relationship between nationalism and war and, as such, makes an original contribution to theories of nationalism and state formation. It offers...


The New Politics of Class

by Geoffrey Evans & James Tilley

This book explores the new politics of class in 21st century Britain. It shows how the changing shape of the class structure since 1945 has led political parties to change, which has both reduced class voting...


How Soon is Now: From Personal Initiation to Global Transformation

by Daniel Pinchbeck, Russell Brand & Sting

We are on the brink of an ecological mega-crisis, threatening the future of life on earth, and our actions over the next few years may well determine the destiny of our descendants. Between a manifesto and a...


Direct Action: Protest and the Reinvention of American Radicalism

by L.A. Kauffman

A longtime movement insider's powerful account of the origins of today's protest movements and what they can achieve now

 

As Americans take to the streets in record numbers to resist the presidency of Donald...


Unwarranted

by Barry Friedman

“At a time when policing in America is at a crossroads, Barry Friedman provides much-needed insight, analysis, and direction in his thoughtful new book. Unwarranted illuminates many of the often ignored issues...


The Politics of Freedom of Information

by Ben Worthy

Why do governments pass freedom of information laws? The symbolic power and force surrounding FOI makes it appealing as an electoral promise but hard to disengage from once in power. However, behind closed doors...


A Concise History of U.S. Foreign Policy

by Joyce P. Kaufman

This fully updated edition offers a historical perspective on the evolution of U.S. foreign policy from the founding through the Obama administration. With its strong narrative and use of compelling case studies,...


Yours for the Union

by Baruch Hirson & Tom Lodge

Yours for the Union stands as a landmark history of the making of the black working class in South Africa. Drawing on a wide range of sources, it covers the crucial period of 1930-47, when South Africa's rapid...


The Story of an African Working Class

by Jeff Crisp & Gavin Hilson

  • A story of struggle against exploitative mining companies, repressive governments, and authoritarian trade union leaders

  • Combines lively historical narrative with original analysis

  • A unique contribution to the...

Pourquoi l'Amérique nous espionne ?

by Olivier Chopin

Que font les États-Unis avec nos données personnelles ?

Nos emails, nos conversations téléphoniques, nos transactions bancaires. Rien n’échappe à la NSA, l’agence américaine d’espionnage. Son ancien...


Pourquoi Bruxelles brade l'Europe ?

by Charlotte Dammane

Un débat au cœur de l'actualité

Pourquoi un traité de libre-échange transatlantique ? Qui y gagnerait ? Y a-t-on vraiment intérêt ? Quel impact sur notre économie, nos libertés, notre vie quotidienne...


Pourquoi Pékin nous enfume ?

by Matthieu Timmerman

Quand les affaires se font au détriment de la préservation de l'environnement

10 % de croissance valent-ils le sacrifice de 1,2 million de personnes chaque année ? Pour Pékin, la réponse est oui. Et il est...


Where Have All the Heroes Gone?

by Bruce Peabody & Krista Jenkins

From the men and women associated with the American Revolution and Civil War to the seminal figures in the struggles for civil and women's rights, Americans have been fascinated with icons of great achievement,...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**One of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017**

**One of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

Beth Macy, author of Factory Man...


Civil Society, Second Edition: The Critical History of an Idea

by John R. Ehrenberg

In the absence of noble public goals, admired leaders, and compelling issues, many warn of a dangerous erosion of civil society, which includes families, religious organizations, and all other NGOs. Are they...


Participation and Non-Participation in Student Activism

by Alexander Hensby

There is a strong need to understand the changing dynamics of contemporary youth participation: how they engage, what repertoires are considered efficacious, and their motivations to get involved.

This book uses...


A History of Civil Rights Through Legislation: Constitutional Amendments, Laws, Supreme Court Decisions & Key Foreign Policy Acts

by U.S. Government, U.S. Supreme Court & U.S. Congress

This collection incorporates the crucial democratic principles on which our identity as Americans is based. From the Declaration of Independence to the Civil Rights Act of 1968, this edition contains 40 most...


The Declaration of Independence & United States Constitution – Including Bill of Rights and Complete Amendments

by George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams & Benjamin Franklin et al.

This collection is an essential reading for all those who wish to learn about the creation of the American nation. It is comprised of the most important legal documents in early American history which are considered...