Social science / Political science

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Political science

 

In category

Political Freedom & Security (2792)

International Relations (2435)

Political Ideologies (1336)

Economic Conditions (1245)

History & Theory (1196)

Government (1022)

Public Affairs & Administration (1016)

Social Policy (669)

Democracy (527)

City Planning & Urban Development (405)

Globalization (374)

Elections (351)

Political Process (281)

Political Parties (280)

 

Language

English (17114)

French (1079)

German (1212)

Spanish (653)

Italian (1219)

 

Protection

All (17114)

DRM Free (1470)

DRM (15639)

More options

Does Policy Analysis Matter?

by Lee S. Friedman

Just how well can democracy incorporate knowledge and expertise through public policy analysts? This book examines the evolution of policy analysis, its use in legislative and regulatory bodies, and its use...


Participation and Non-Participation in Student Activism

by Alexander Hensby

There is a strong need to understand the changing dynamics of contemporary youth participation: how they engage, what repertoires are considered efficacious, and their motivations to get involved.

This book uses...


States of Discipline

by Cemal Burak Tansel

Despite the severity of the global economic crisis and the widespread aversion towards austerity policies, neoliberalism remains the dominant mode of economic governance in the world. What makes neoliberalism...


The Unbroken Machine

by Dale Smith

  • Written in an easily accessible style for the lay reader
  • Author is a freelance journalist in the Canadian Parliamentary Press Gallery, and is one of three or four reporters who attends Question Period in the...


Biosecurity Dilemmas

by Christian Enemark

Biosecurity Dilemmas examines conflicting values and interests in the practice of “biosecurity,” the safeguarding of populations against infectious diseases through security policies. Biosecurity encompasses...


Yours for the Union

by Baruch Hirson & Tom Lodge

Yours for the Union stands as a landmark history of the making of the black working class in South Africa. Drawing on a wide range of sources, it covers the crucial period of 1930-47, when South Africa's rapid...


The Story of an African Working Class

by Jeff Crisp & Gavin Hilson

  • A story of struggle against exploitative mining companies, repressive governments, and authoritarian trade union leaders

  • Combines lively historical narrative with original analysis

  • A unique contribution to the...

Where Have All the Heroes Gone?

by Bruce Peabody & Krista Jenkins

From the men and women associated with the American Revolution and Civil War to the seminal figures in the struggles for civil and women's rights, Americans have been fascinated with icons of great achievement,...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**One of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017**

**One of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

Beth Macy, author of Factory Man...


Civil Society, Second Edition: The Critical History of an Idea

by John R. Ehrenberg

In the absence of noble public goals, admired leaders, and compelling issues, many warn of a dangerous erosion of civil society, which includes families, religious organizations, and all other NGOs. Are they...


A History of Civil Rights Through Legislation: Constitutional Amendments, Laws, Supreme Court Decisions & Key Foreign Policy Acts

by U.S. Government, U.S. Supreme Court & U.S. Congress

This collection incorporates the crucial democratic principles on which our identity as Americans is based. From the Declaration of Independence to the Civil Rights Act of 1968, this edition contains 40 most...


The Declaration of Independence & United States Constitution – Including Bill of Rights and Complete Amendments

by George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams & Benjamin Franklin et al.

This collection is an essential reading for all those who wish to learn about the creation of the American nation. It is comprised of the most important legal documents in early American history which are considered...


Creating U.S. Democracy: Key Civil Rights Acts, Constitutional Amendments, Supreme Court Decisions & Acts of Foreign Policy (Including Declaration of Independence, Constitution & Bill of Rights)

by U.S. Government, U.S. Supreme Court & U.S. Congress

This is a unique collection of U.S. Government legal documents that shaped and built the American democracy. From the Declaration of Independence to the Civil Rights Act of 1968, this collection contains 40...


The Despot's Accomplice

by Brian Klaas

For the first time since the end of the Cold War, the world is steadily becoming less democratic. The true culprits are dictators and counterfeit democrats. But, argues Klaas, the West is also an accomplice,...


Summer Madness

by Harry Mount

In the three short weeks between the EU referendum on 23 June 2016 and Theresa May's ascent to Downing Street on 13 July, Brexit morphed into a mass murderer, destroying everything it touched. As the Bullingdon...


Energy Security and Environmental Sustainability in the Western Hemisphere

by Marcelo R. S. Zorovich, Bruce M. Bagley, Remi B. Piet & George Philippidis et al.

Energy Security and Environmental Sustainability in the Western Hemisphere examines the need to integrate sustainability at the core of national energy security strategy. With case studies from countries throughout...


A Safety Net That Works: Improving Federal Programs for Low-Income Americans

by Robert Doar

This is an edited volume reviewing the major means-tested social programs in the United States. Each author addresses a major program or area, reviewing each area’s successes and recommending how to address...


Congress and the Media

by C. Danielle Vinson

Over the last four decades, members of Congress have increasingly embraced media relations as a way to influence national policymaking and politics. In 1977, nearly half of congressional members had no press...


The People's War

by Mark Hewitson

How did ministers, journalists, academics, artists, and subjects in the German lands imagine war during the nineteenth century? The Napoleonic Wars had been the bloodiest in Europe's history, directly affecting...


Dilly

by Mavis Batey

Alfred Dillwyn Knox was Britain's leading wartime codebreaker, a famously eccentric and temperamental genius who cracked German ciphers in both wars. During the Second World War Knox became Britain's chief cryptographer,...