News and investigations

New Releases / Page 3

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete News and investigations

 

In category

True crime (1935)

Political science (86)

Society (71)

Economics (44)

Ecology (28)

Medical (21)

Medias (8)

Science and Technics (6)

Sports (1)

 

Language

English (2169)

French (441)

German (83)

Spanish (686)

Italian (1085)

 

Protection

All (2169)

DRM Free (48)

DRM (2121)

More options

Bombers, Rioters and Police Killers: Violent Crime and Disorder in Victorian Britain

by Simon Webb

Civil disorder, violent crime and terrorism were all considerably worse during the Victorian period than they are today, though ironically many regard this era of British history as a being a by-word for stability...


The Drama of Social Life: A Dramaturgical Handbook

by Charles Edgley

Whatever else they may be doing, human beings are also and always expressing themselves whenever they are in the awareness of others. As such, the metaphor of life as theater - of people playing roles to audiences...


White Devil: The True Story of the First White Asian Crime Boss

by Bob Halloran

The amazing true story of the only white man to rise to the top of the Chinese mafia.

In August 2013, “Bac Guai” John Willis, also known as the “White Devil” because of his notorious ferocity, was sentenced...


Socialization: Parent-Child Interaction in Everyday Life

by Sara Keel

Adopting a conversation analytic approach informed by ethnomethodology, this book examines the process of socialization as it takes place within everyday parent-child interactions. Based on a large audio-visual...


KooKooLand

by Gloria Norris

In the tradition of The Glass Castle and With or Without You, a bracingly funny and chilling true crime memoir about a girl’s gutsy journey to escape her charismatic yet cruel father’s reign—an unforgettable...


The Great Heroin Coup: Drugs, Intelligence & International Fascism

by Jerry Meldon, Henrik Krüger & Peter Dale Scott

In this new edition of a cult classic, Henrik Krüger and Jerry Meldon have added new material and provided updates of the investigations

 

Danish investigative author Henrik Krüger set out to write a book...


The Mafia Hit Man's Daughter

by Linda Rosencrance, Linda Scarpa & Marc Songini

“A riveting look at life inside a Mafia family.”—New York Times bestselling author George Anastasia

The world called him a killer. She called him Dad . . .

“We were always worried. Always looking over...


Soapbox-Momster: Cyber Stalker of the Abyss

by Don A Holbrook

The story of a very ugly cyber stalker and bully that extorts men and women for her own perverse pleasure and then extorts money from them to live her own lavish lifestyle.  She taunts, tortures and torments...


Social Networks and Travel Behaviour

by Matthias Kowald & Kay W. Axhausen

In aiming to understand and model peoples' out-of-home movements, the academic field of transport planning is confronted with two major challenges. Firstly, leisure travel is increasing in importance and is...


Research Methods and Global Online Communities: A Case Study

by Alexia Maddox

This book brings into focus the technologically augmented nature of global online communities, advancing research methods that reveal the imprint of emergent social forms and characterise digital frontiers of...


Researching Values with Qualitative Methods: Empathy, Moral Boundaries and the Politics of Research

by Antje Bednarek-Gilland

In several branches of social science, interest in values and moral evaluations has increased in recent years, with group values taking centre-stage, yet a satisfactory, theoretical account of the concept of...


Copper at the Yard: Inside the Real Sweeney

by John Edward Woodhouse

Being a copper at the yard was definitely an exciting time for the author, John Woodhouse, but it did take it's toll on social and family life. From east end detective, to the Bomb Squad in London's fight back...


The Poetics of Crime: Understanding and Researching Crime and Deviance Through Creative Sources

by Michael Hviid Jacobsen

The Poetics of Crime provides an invitation to reconsider and reimagine how criminological knowledge may be creatively and poetically constructed, obtained, corroborated and applied. Departing from the conventional...


Walking in the European City: Quotidian Mobility and Urban Ethnography

by Timothy Shortell & Evrick Brown

Sociologists have long noted that dynamism is an essential part of the urban way of life. However, walking as a significant social activity and crucial research method (in spite of its ubiquity as part of urban...


Remembering Anita Cobby: The Case, the Husband, the Aftermath - 30 Years On

by Mark Morri

Why John Cobby is ready to tell his story, 30 years since the murder of his wife, Anita. On 4 February 1986, John Cobby's life imploded. He was driving up the coast looking for his missing wife, Anita, when...


Death on the Beat: Police Officers Killed in the Line of Duty

by Dick Kirby

Little shocks the British public more than learning of the killing of policemen and women whilst tackling criminals. Even the vast majority of hardened crooks baulk at what is seen as the ultimate crime - the...


Murder in Grosse Pointe Park: Privilege, Adultery, and the Killing of Jane Bashara

by Steve Miller

Investigative reporter, and author of Nobody's Women, Steve Miller makes a thoroughly researched inquiry into a murder that rocked the privileged world of Grosse Pointe, Michigan.

Bob Bashara: husband, father,...


Crooked Brooklyn

by Michael Vecchione & Jerry Schmetterer

From 2001 to 2013, Mike Vecchione was chief of the Rackets Division in the Brooklyn District Attorney's office, which was the largest urban prosecution agency in the country. Vecchione grappled with organized...


Guilt by Matrimony: A Memoir of Love, Madness, and the Murder of Nancy Pfister

by Daleen Berry & Nancy Styler

In February 2014, Aspen socialite Nancy Pfister was murdered in her own home—brutally bludgeoned, wrapped in a sheet, and stuffed inside a locked closet. The question was: Who did it?

Fewer than twelve hours...


Hollywood P.I. Case of The Missing Screen Writer

by Don Crutchfield

The case of The Missing Screen Writer is a riveting documentary of an 18 year investigation into the disappearance of Producer/Screen Writer Gary Devore. An introduction by James Ellroy, provides all you will...