Social science / Sociology

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Sociology

 

Language

English (11447)

French (588)

German (226)

Spanish (328)

Italian (648)

 

Protection

All (11447)

DRM Free (1038)

DRM (10407)

More options

Exceptional America

by Mugambi Jouet

Why does a country built on the concept of liberty have the highest incarceration rate in the world? How could the first Western nation to elect a person of color as its leader suffer from institutional racism? ...


Homeward Bound

by Amy Ziettlow & Naomi Cahn

Homeward Bound shows that as family structure becomes more complex, so too does elder care, and existing institutions and legal approaches are not prepared to handle those complexities. As 79 million American...


How Soon is Now: From Personal Initiation to Global Transformation

by Daniel Pinchbeck, Russell Brand & Sting

We are on the brink of an ecological mega-crisis, threatening the future of life on earth, and our actions over the next few years may well determine the destiny of our descendants. Between a manifesto and a...


The Politics of Freedom of Information

by Ben Worthy

Why do governments pass freedom of information laws? The symbolic power and force surrounding FOI makes it appealing as an electoral promise but hard to disengage from once in power. However, behind closed doors...


Yours for the Union

by Baruch Hirson & Tom Lodge

Yours for the Union stands as a landmark history of the making of the black working class in South Africa. Drawing on a wide range of sources, it covers the crucial period of 1930-47, when South Africa's rapid...


The Story of an African Working Class

by Jeff Crisp & Gavin Hilson

  • A story of struggle against exploitative mining companies, repressive governments, and authoritarian trade union leaders

  • Combines lively historical narrative with original analysis

  • A unique contribution to the...

The Function of Evil across Disciplinary Contexts

by Brian Johnson, Malcah Effron, Bettina Jossen & Olivia Coulomb et al.

The book offers an interdisciplinary approach to a subject that has largely been the province of religious studies and philosophy. Tackling the function of evil across social contexts rather than seeking a definition...


Stand Your Ground: A History of America's Love Affair with Lethal Self-Defense

by Caroline Light

A history of America’s Stand Your Ground gun laws, from Reconstruction to Trayvon Martin

After a young, white gunman killed twenty-six people at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, in December...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**One of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017**

**One of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

Beth Macy, author of Factory Man...


Race and Ethnicity in America

by John Iceland

Race and Ethnicity in America succinctly examines patterns and trends in inequality over the past 60 years for different racial groups, focusing on education, income, poverty, wealth, residential attainment,...


Total Survey Error in Practice

by Paul P. Biemer, Edith de Leeuw & Stephanie Eckman

Featuring a timely presentation of total survey error (TSE), this edited volume introduces valuable tools for understanding and improving survey data quality in the context of evolving large-scale data sets...


Total Survey Error in Practice

by Paul P. Biemer, Edith de Leeuw, Stephanie Eckman & Brad Edwards et al.

Featuring a timely presentation of total survey error (TSE), this edited volume introduces valuable tools for understanding and improving survey data quality in the context of evolving large-scale data sets...


Participation and Non-Participation in Student Activism

by Alexander Hensby

There is a strong need to understand the changing dynamics of contemporary youth participation: how they engage, what repertoires are considered efficacious, and their motivations to get involved.

This book uses...


Oasis n. 24, Beetween Immigration and Islam (ed. inglese)

by Fondazione Internazionale Oasis

LEADER A Complex Encounter Destined to Change Us (Michele Brignone) FOCUS Christianity and Europe, between Liquid Secularism and Migrations (Pierangelo Sequeri) The Brain Drain and the Future of Syria (Omar...


The Field of Honor: Essays on Southern Character and American Identity

by Todd Hagstette, John Mayfield & Edward L. Ayers

Collected scholarship on the history and evolution of moral standards and its role in southern society


Heartthrobs

by Carol Dyhouse

What can a cultural history of the heartthrob teach us about women, desire, and social change? From dreams of Prince Charming or dashing military heroes, to the lure of dark strangers and vampire lovers; from...


Introduction to Social Innovation

by Gilberto Marzano & Mirosław Grewiński

It is commonly shared the idea that social innovation is the creation of social value by solving social problems. Accordingly, social innovation can be deemed to be the production of new solutions to social...


States of Discipline

by Cemal Burak Tansel

Despite the severity of the global economic crisis and the widespread aversion towards austerity policies, neoliberalism remains the dominant mode of economic governance in the world. What makes neoliberalism...


Generation Revolution: On the Front Line Between Tradition and Change in the Middle East

by Rachel Aspden

Generation Revolution unravels the complex forces shaping the lives of four young Egyptians on the eve and in the aftermath of the Arab Spring, and what their stories mean for the future of the Middle East....


Hit Makers: The Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction

by Derek Thompson

“This book picks up where The Tipping Point left off." -- Adam Grant, Wharton professor and New York Times bestselling author of ORIGINALS and GIVE AND TAKE

Nothing “goes viral.” If you think a popular...