Nature, recreation and sports / Sports & recreation / Martial Arts & Self-Defense

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Martial Arts & Self-Defense

 

Language

English (448)

French (9)

German (4)

Spanish (34)

Italian (20)

 

Protection

All (448)

DRM Free (17)

DRM (431)

More options

The Boxer Within

by Vicki Simos

Based on true events, this story is set predominantly in Adelaide, and takes a trip down memory lane to my childhood home of Barmera in the Riverland, 222 kilometres north of Adelaide. Born in 1974 to Greek...


Bruce Lee: Words of the Dragon: Interviews, 1958-1973

by John Little

Here they are, available for the first time in one collection, Bruce Lee's conversations with the press from 1958 to 1973.

Words of the Dragon is an anthology of rare newspaper and magazine interviews with Bruce...


Iberian Swordplay: Domingo Luis Godinho's Art of Fencing (1599)

by Tim Rivera

In 1599, during the period when the Portuguese crown was united to the crowns of Castile and Aragon, a Portuguese master-at-arms called Domingo Luis Godinho wrote a manuscript in Spanish entitled Arte de Esgrima...


Foil and Sabre - A Grammar of Fencing in Detailed Lessons for the Professor and Pupil

by Louis Rondelle

First published in 1892, "Foil and Sabre" is a comprehensive, step-by-step guide to fencing. It aims to provide the student with a complete course of instruction in the contemporary European fencing style, and...


Kick Start your Life!

by Ewan C. Briscoe

Ewan's book is for you if....

  • You are looking for your path in life, or have come to a barrier and wonder how to climb over it;
  • You are facing challenges, whether in your personal or working life, and feel...


KARATE - BENEATH THE SURFACE: Emotional Content of Kata

by Roy K Kamen

This book is for Martial Artists, who train their bodies and minds but have yet to find the spirit that lies deep within their art.

Martial Arts are brutal and deadly forms of fighting, however, they also contain...


Heaven's Wind: The Life and Teachings of Nakamura Tempu-A Mind-Body Integration Pioneer

by Stephen Earle

For the first time in English, Stephen Earle tells the epic story of Nakamura Tempu, one of Japan’s most inspirational twentieth-century thinkers and teachers, whose mind-body approach to personal transformation...


T'ai Chi Classics

by Waysun Liao

According to Master Liao, the great power of T'ai Chi cannot be realized without knowing its inner meaning. T'ai Chi Classics presents the inner meaning and techniques of T'ai Chi movements through translations...


Samurai Wisdom Stories: Tales from the Golden Age of Bushido

by Pascal Fauliot & Sherab Chödzin Kohn

A collection of samurai stories, drawn from traditional sources, of battles, strategy, conflict, and intrigue--featuring some of the greatest warriors and military leaders of the samurai era.

     Martial...


GRAND MASTER

by Alex Dong & David Saltman

The story of Dong Ying Jie, Tai Chi champion of China. First time in English.

More than 250-million people worldwide practice Tai Chi Chuan, an ancient art of physical, mental and spiritual culture. Developed...


Strength and Conditioning for Judo

by Andy Burns & Mike Callan

Judo is a dynamic Olympic sport that requires a wide range of physical attributes and skills. It is the second largest participation sport in the world after football, and estimates suggest there are 20 million...


fearless:  A Woman's Guide to Personal Self Protection

by Logan Doughty, Chris Henderson & Teresa C Berry

Carol Kline, #1 NYT bestselling co-author of five books in the Chicken Soup for the Soul series writes:

“Fearless is a must-read for any woman who wants to walk through the world with confidence and serenity....


Part Reptile: UFC, MMA and Me

by Dan Hardy

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and...


Fight Like a Marine - Close Combat Fighting (Official U.S. Marine Handbook)

by U.S. Department of Defense

This book thoroughly explains military techniques of close combat fighting necessary for self-defense in every situation. They will enhance your strength, flexibility, balance, and cardio-respiratory fitness....


The Laws of Success: A Spiritual Guide to Turning Your Hopes into Reality

by Okawa Ryuho

The Laws of Success offers 8 spiritual principles that, when put to practice in our day-to-day life, will help us attain lasting success and let us experience the fulfillment of living our purpose and the joy...


Krav Maga Tactical Survival

by Gershon Ben Keren & Miki Assulin

Krav Maga Tactical Survival presents proven solutions to dangerous, real life situations.

Krav Maga is the official self-defense system of the Israeli Defense Forces, and has been battle-tested by police, armed...


Kuatsu, Or the Restoration of Life - A Guide to the Medical Art of Kuatsu - Including Images

by Anon.

Almost since the inception of jiu-jitsu, probably twenty-five centuries ago, the Japanese began to get inklings of the possibilities of that wonderful science of vitality which has since become known under the...


Mythologies of Martial Arts

by Paul Bowman

What do martial arts signify today? What do they mean for East-West cross cultural exchanges? How does the representation of martial arts in popular culture impact on the wide world? What is authentic practice?...


Embodying Brazil: An ethnography of diasporic capoeira

by Sara Delamont, Neil Stephens & Claudio Campos

The practice of capoeira, the Brazilian dance-fight-game, has grown rapidly in recent years. It has become a popular leisure activity in many cultures, as well as a career for Brazilians in countries across...


The Lost Samurai School: Secrets of Mubyoshi Ryu

by Antony Cummins & Mieko Koizumi

Available for the first time in English, this book is both an illustrated samurai arts manual and a groundbreaking historical account of the teachings of a Japanese samurai who formed a school known as Mubyoshi...