Nature, recreation and sports / Sports & recreation / Martial Arts & Self-Defense

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Martial Arts & Self-Defense

 

Language

English (452)

French (9)

German (5)

Spanish (33)

Italian (22)

 

Protection

All (452)

DRM Free (14)

DRM (438)

More options

How to Defend Your Family and Home

by Dave Young

The Ultimate Guide to Protecting Yourself and Your Family from a Home Invasion

Dave Young has survived his fair share of violent attacks, including witnessing a home invasion first-hand as a teenager when two...


KARATE - BENEATH THE SURFACE: Emotional Content of Kata

by Roy K Kamen

This book is for Martial Artists, who train their bodies and minds but have yet to find the spirit that lies deep within their art.

Martial Arts are brutal and deadly forms of fighting, however, they also contain...


Heaven's Wind: The Life and Teachings of Nakamura Tempu-A Mind-Body Integration Pioneer

by Stephen Earle

For the first time in English, Stephen Earle tells the epic story of Nakamura Tempu, one of Japan’s most inspirational twentieth-century thinkers and teachers, whose mind-body approach to personal transformation...


T'ai Chi Classics

by Waysun Liao

According to Master Liao, the great power of T'ai Chi cannot be realized without knowing its inner meaning. T'ai Chi Classics presents the inner meaning and techniques of T'ai Chi movements through translations...


Samurai Wisdom Stories: Tales from the Golden Age of Bushido

by Pascal Fauliot & Sherab Chödzin Kohn

A collection of samurai stories, drawn from traditional sources, of battles, strategy, conflict, and intrigue--featuring some of the greatest warriors and military leaders of the samurai era.

     Martial...


GRAND MASTER

by Alex Dong & David Saltman

The story of Dong Ying Jie, Tai Chi champion of China. First time in English.

More than 250-million people worldwide practice Tai Chi Chuan, an ancient art of physical, mental and spiritual culture. Developed...


Strength and Conditioning for Judo

by Andy Burns & Mike Callan

Judo is a dynamic Olympic sport that requires a wide range of physical attributes and skills. It is the second largest participation sport in the world after football, and estimates suggest there are 20 million...


fearless:  A Woman's Guide to Personal Self Protection

by Logan Doughty, Chris Henderson & Teresa C Berry

Carol Kline, #1 NYT bestselling co-author of five books in the Chicken Soup for the Soul series writes:

“Fearless is a must-read for any woman who wants to walk through the world with confidence and serenity....


Part Reptile: UFC, MMA and Me

by Dan Hardy

For fans of Ronda Rousey's My Fight Your Fight and John Kavanagh's Win or Learn comes the first book from UFC fighter and now analyst Dan Hardy, who lifts the lid on his own career and writes with insight and...


Fight Like a Marine - Close Combat Fighting (Official U.S. Marine Handbook)

by U.S. Department of Defense

This book thoroughly explains military techniques of close combat fighting necessary for self-defense in every situation. They will enhance your strength, flexibility, balance, and cardio-respiratory fitness....


The Laws of Success: A Spiritual Guide to Turning Your Hopes into Reality

by Okawa Ryuho

The Laws of Success offers 8 spiritual principles that, when put to practice in our day-to-day life, will help us attain lasting success and let us experience the fulfillment of living our purpose and the joy...


Krav Maga Tactical Survival

by Gershon Ben Keren & Miki Assulin

Krav Maga Tactical Survival presents proven solutions to dangerous, real life situations.

Krav Maga is the official self-defense system of the Israeli Defense Forces, and has been battle-tested by police, armed...


Kuatsu, Or the Restoration of Life - A Guide to the Medical Art of Kuatsu - Including Images

by Anon.

Almost since the inception of jiu-jitsu, probably twenty-five centuries ago, the Japanese began to get inklings of the possibilities of that wonderful science of vitality which has since become known under the...


Mythologies of Martial Arts

by Paul Bowman

What do martial arts signify today? What do they mean for East-West cross cultural exchanges? How does the representation of martial arts in popular culture impact on the wide world? What is authentic practice?...


Embodying Brazil: An ethnography of diasporic capoeira

by Sara Delamont, Neil Stephens & Claudio Campos

The practice of capoeira, the Brazilian dance-fight-game, has grown rapidly in recent years. It has become a popular leisure activity in many cultures, as well as a career for Brazilians in countries across...


The Lost Samurai School: Secrets of Mubyoshi Ryu

by Antony Cummins & Mieko Koizumi

Available for the first time in English, this book is both an illustrated samurai arts manual and a groundbreaking historical account of the teachings of a Japanese samurai who formed a school known as Mubyoshi...


A Brief History of the Martial Arts: East Asian Fighting Styles, from Kung Fu to Ninjutsu

by Jonathan Clements

Folk tales of the Shaolin Temple depict warrior monks with superhuman abilities. Today, dozens of East Asian fighting styles trace their roots back to the Buddhist brawlers of Shaolin, although any quest for...


The Virtual Ninja Manifesto

by Chris Goto-Jones

Navigating between society’s moral panics about the influence of violent videogames and philosophical texts about self-cultivation in the martial arts, The Virtual Ninja Manifesto asks whether the figure of...


Dueling with O-sensei: Grappling with the Myth of the Warrior Sage - Expanded Edition

by Ellis Amdur

If there were an "ordinary martial arts book", this would be its evil twin. Unflinchingly honest, writing from an unique, insider-turned-outsider's perspective, Ellis explores aspects of bud?, its philosophies...


The Main Locks of Jiu-Jitsu - Including Pictures and Step by Step Instructions

by Anon.

This book contains classic material dating back to the 1900s and before. The content has been carefully selected for its interest and relevance to a modern audience.