Asian literature / Japanese literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Origin

Delete Japanese literature

 

Fiction

Literary (44)

Mystery & Detective (9)

Short Stories (8)

Thrillers (4)

Horror (2)

Historical (1)

Romance (1)

Classics (1)

 

Language

English (70)

French (4)

German (0)

Spanish (75)

Italian (99)

 

Protection

All (70)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (70)

More options

Manazuru

by Hiromi Kawakami & Michael Emmerich

  • Kawakami is an author known and reviewed around the world
  • Manazuru received great praise when Counterpoint released it in 2010; the book already has reviews by Booklist, the Paris Review Daily, the Independent...

  • Strange Weather in Tokyo

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • Asleep

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Michael Emmerich

    Banana Yoshimoto’s novels have established her as one of Japan’s finest and most popular writers, and an acclaimed and best-selling literary star all over the world. Now she delivers three novellas that...


    Soul Cage

    by Tetsuya Honda

    A severed hand, a missing body, and a victim who was living under a false identity all add up to the most complex and challenging case yet for Homicide Detective Reiko Himekawa - in Tetsuya Honda's Soul Cage...


    The Nakano Thrift Shop: A Novel

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

    From the author of Strange Weather in Tokyo comes this funny, heartwarming story about love, life, and human relationships that features a delightfully offbeat cast of characters.

    Objects for sale at the Nakano...


    Men Without Women: Stories

    by Haruki Murakami, Philip Gabriel & Ted Goossen

    A dazzling new collection of short stories--the first major new work of fiction from the beloved, internationally acclaimed, Haruki Murakami since his #1 best-selling Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of...


    Inheritance from Mother

    by Minae Mizumura

    Award-winning novelist Minae Mizumura demystifies the notion of the selfless Japanese mother and the adult daughter honor-bound to care for her.

     

    Mitsuki Katsura, a Japanese woman in her mid-fifties, is a...


    Penance

    by Kanae Minato

    The tense, chilling story of four women haunted by a childhood trauma.

    When they were children, Sae, Maki, Akiko and Yuko were tricked into separating from their friend Emily by a mysterious stranger. Then...


    Six Four

    by Hideo Yokoyama & Jonathan Lloyd-Davies

    International Bestseller

    Winner of the Best Japanese Crime Fiction of the Year Award

    “Already a bestseller in Japan and the U.K., this cinematic crime novel suffused with fascinating cultural details follows...


    Memoirs of a Polar Bear

    Warwick Prize for Women in Translation 2017

    by Yoko Tawada & Susan Bernofsky

    The Memoirs of a Polar Bear stars three generations of talented writers and performers—who happen to be polar bears

    The Memoirs of a Polar Bear has in spades what Rivka Galchen hailed in the New Yorker as...


    Under the Midnight Sun

    by Keigo Higashino

    From the acclaimed international bestseller Keigo Higashino (The Devotion of Suspect X) comes a sweeping novel in the tradition of Les Miserables and Crime and Punishment. This is the compelling story of a brutal...


    The Graveyard Apartment

    by Mariko Koike

    One of the most popular writers working in Japan today, Mariko Koike is a recognized master of detective fiction and horror writing. Known in particular for her hybrid works that blend these styles with elements...


    Shield of Straw

    by Kazuhiro Kiuchi

    BASIS OF THE TAKASHI MIIKE FILM | SOON TO BE A MOTION PICTURE STATESIDE

    Ever since Assistant Inspector Mekari’s wife passed away, he has found no joy in living. As a member of Japan’s security police, he...


    A Midsummer's Equation

    Detective Galileo #6

    by Keigo Higashino

    Manabu Yukawa, the physicist known as "Detective Galileo," has traveled to Hariguara, a once-popular summer resort town that has fallen on hard times. He is there to speak at a conference on a planned underwater...


    Wind/Pinball: Two novels

    by Haruki Murakami & Ted Goossen

    NATIONAL BESTSELLER

    In the spring of 1978, a young Haruki Murakami sat down at his kitchen table and began to write. The result: two remarkable short novels—Hear the Wind Sing and Pinball, 1973—that launched...


    Genocide of One: A Thriller

    by Kazuaki Takano & Philip Gabriel

    The internationally bestselling, award-winning Japanese thriller about a child who may be the future of the human race--or the cause of its extinction.

    During a briefing in Washington D.C., the President is...


    The Strange Library

    by Haruki Murakami & Ted Goossen

    From internationally acclaimed author Haruki Murakami—a fantastical illustrated short novel about a boy imprisoned in a nightmarish library.

     

    Opening the flaps on this unique little book, readers will find...


    Malice

    Kyoichiro Kaga #4

    by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

    "This smart and original mystery is a true page-turner… will baffle, surprise, and draw out suspicion until the final few pages. With each book, Higashino continues to elevate the modern mystery as an intense...


    Confessions

    by Kanae Minato & Stephen Snyder

    Her pupils murdered her daughter. Now she will have her revenge.

    After calling off her engagement in the wake of a tragic revelation, Yuko Moriguchi had nothing to live for except her only child, four-year-old...


    Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage: A novel

    by Haruki Murakami & Philip Gabriel

    New York Times #1 Bestseller

    A New York Times and Washington Post notable book, and one of the Financial Times, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Slate, Mother Jones, The Daily Beast, and BookPage's best books...