Asian literature / Japanese literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (17)

French (5)

German (0)

Spanish (77)

Italian (105)

 

Origin

Delete Japanese literature

 

Fiction

Literary (7)

Mystery & Detective (7)

Horror (2)

Historical (1)

 

Protection

All (17)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (17)

More options

Manazuru

by Hiromi Kawakami & Michael Emmerich

  • Kawakami is an author known and reviewed around the world
  • Manazuru received great praise when Counterpoint released it in 2010; the book already has reviews by Booklist, the Paris Review Daily, the Independent...

  • Strange Weather in Tokyo

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • Asleep

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Michael Emmerich

    Banana Yoshimoto’s novels have established her as one of Japan’s finest and most popular writers, and an acclaimed and best-selling literary star all over the world. Now she delivers three novellas that...


    Soul Cage

    by Tetsuya Honda

    A severed hand, a missing body, and a victim who was living under a false identity all add up to the most complex and challenging case yet for Homicide Detective Reiko Himekawa - in Tetsuya Honda's Soul Cage...


    Six Four

    by Hideo Yokoyama & Jonathan Lloyd-Davies

    Named one of the best books of 2017 by The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, and Literary Hub. Winner of the Best Japanese Crime Fiction of the Year Award. One of Vulture's...


    Moshi-Moshi: A Novel

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Asa Yoneda

    In Moshi-Moshi, Yoshie’s much-loved musician father has died in a suicide pact with an unknown woman. It is only when Yoshie and her mother move to Shimo-kitazawa, a traditional Tokyo neighborhood of narrow...


    Under the Midnight Sun

    by Keigo Higashino

    From the acclaimed international bestseller Keigo Higashino (The Devotion of Suspect X) comes a sweeping novel in the tradition of Les Miserables and Crime and Punishment. This is the compelling story of a brutal...


    The Graveyard Apartment

    by Mariko Koike

    One of the most popular writers working in Japan today, Mariko Koike is a recognized master of detective fiction and horror writing. Known in particular for her hybrid works that blend these styles with elements...


    A Midsummer's Equation

    Detective Galileo #6

    by Keigo Higashino

    Manabu Yukawa, the physicist known as "Detective Galileo," has traveled to Hariguara, a once-popular summer resort town that has fallen on hard times. He is there to speak at a conference on a planned underwater...


    Malice

    Kyoichiro Kaga #4

    by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

    "This smart and original mystery is a true page-turner… will baffle, surprise, and draw out suspicion until the final few pages. With each book, Higashino continues to elevate the modern mystery as an intense...


    Revenge

    by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder

    "It's not just Murakami but also the shadow of Borges that hovers over this mesmerizing book... [and] one may detect a slight bow to the American macabre of E.A. Poe. Ogawa stands on the shoulders of giants,...


    Kiku's Prayer: A Novel

    by Shusaku Endo & Van C. Gessel

    Endo Shusaku was a renowned twentieth-century Japanese author who wrote from the unusual perspective of being both Japanese and Catholic. His work is often compared to that of Graham Greene, who himself considered...


    Salvation of a Saint

    Detective Galileo #5

    by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

    From the author of the internationally bestselling, award-winning The Devotion of Suspect X comes the latest novel featuring "Detective Galileo"

    In 2011, The Devotion of Suspect X was a hit with critics and...


    The Devotion of Suspect X

    Detective Galileo #3

    by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

    This e-book now includes preview chapters from Higashino's newest mystery, SALVATION OF A SAINT.

    Yasuko Hanaoka is a divorced, single mother who thought she had finally escaped her abusive ex-husband Togashi....


    Hotel Iris

    by Yoko Ogawa

    A tale of twisted love from Yoko Ogawa—author of The Diving Pool and The Housekeeper and the Professor.

    In a crumbling seaside hotel on the coast of Japan, quiet seventeen-year-old Mari works the front desk...


    The Housekeeper and the Professor

    by Yoko Ogawa

    He is a brilliant math Professor with a peculiar problem—ever since a traumatic head injury, he has lived with only eighty minutes of short-term memory.

    She is an astute young Housekeeper—with a ten-year-old...


    The Diving Pool

    by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder

    The first major English translation of one of contemporary Japan's bestselling and most celebrated authors

    From Akutagawa Award-winning author Yoko Ogawa comes a haunting trio of novellas about love, fertility,...