Germanophone literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection




Delete Germanophone literature



Literary (90)

Mystery & Detective (23)

Thrillers (12)

Historical (10)

Short Stories (6)

Fantasy (4)

War & Military (2)

Science Fiction (1)

Classics (1)

Espionage (1)

Poetry (1)

Horror (1)



English (145)

French (28)

German (83)

Spanish (225)

Italian (339)



All (145)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (144)

More options

Bright Magic: Stories

by Alfred Döblin, Damion Searls & Gunter Grass

Alfred Döblin’s many imposing novels, above all Berlin Alexanderplatz, have established him as one of the titans of modern German literature. This collection of his stories —astonishingly, the first ever...


by Peter Stamm & John Cullen

Peter Stamm's best-selling debut novel, Agnes, now available for the first time in the United States.


"Write a story about me," Agnes said to her lover, "so I know what you think of me." So he started to...

Murder on Brittany Shores

by Jean-Luc Bannalec

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal-clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May, three bodies wash up on shore....

Girlfriends, Ghosts, and Other Stories

by Robert Walser, Tom Whalen & Nicole Kongeter

Girlfriends, Ghosts, and Other Stories brings together eighty-one brief texts spanning Robert Walser’s career, from pieces conceived amid his early triumphs to later works written at a psychiatric clinic...

Angel of Oblivion

by Maja Haderlap & Tess Lewis

Haderlap is an accomplished poet, and that lyricism leaves clear traces on this ravishing debut, which won the prestigious Bachmann Prize in 2011. The descriptions are sensual, and the unusual similes and metaphors...

The Fox Was Ever the Hunter

by Herta Müller & Philip Boehm

An early masterpiece from the winner of the Nobel Prize hailed as the laureate of life under totalitarianism

Romania-the last months of the Ceausescu regime. Adina is a young schoolteacher. Paul is a musician....

The Lamentations of Zeno: A Novel

by Ilija Trojanow & Philip Boehm

A literary fiction about climate disaster and a scientist imploding on a journey to the Antarctic

Zeno Hintermeier is a scientist working as a travel guide on an Antarctic cruise ship, encouraging the wealthy...


by Heinz Helle & Kári Driscoll

Alone in New York, separated from his girlfriend by the Atlantic Ocean, the nameless narrator of Heinz Helle's electric debut novel is sinking slowly into an invisible crisis.

He loves his girlfriend but finds...

Carry Me: A Novel

by Peter Behrens

The award-winning author of The O'Briens and The Law of Dreams now gives us a devastating novel of love and family set in the violent years between 1914 and 1938 as Europe staggers between two world wars....

My Marriage

by Jakob Wassermann & Michael Hofmann

Alexander Herzog, a young writer, goes to Vienna to escape his debts and a failed love affair. There he is pursued by book-loving Ganna: giddy, girlish, clumsy, eccentric, and wild. Dazzled and unnerved by her...

I Am Your Judge

Bodenstein & Kirchhoff #7

by Nele Neuhaus & Steven T. Murray

Police Detective Pia Kirchhoff is about to leave on her long-delayed honeymoon when she receives a phone call from police headquarters: An elderly woman has been shot and killed while walking her dog. Neither...

On a Dark Night I Left My Silent House

by Peter Handke & Krishna Winston

A short, powerful new novel by one of the greatest writers in the German language

On a Dark Night I Left My Silent House is Peter Handke's evocative, moving, often fantastic, novel about one man's conflict with...

All for Nothing

by Walter Kempowski & Anthea Bell

Winter, January 1945. It is cold and dark, and the German army is retreating from the Russian advance. Germans are fleeing the occupied territories in their thousands, in cars and carts and on foot. But in a...

The Sleep of the Righteous

by Wolfgang Hilbig, Isabel Fargo Cole & László||| Krasznahorkai

Doppelgängers, a murderer’s guilt, pulp noir, fanatical police, and impossible romances—these are the pieces from which German master Wolfgang Hilbig builds a divided nation battling its demons. Delving...

The Last Days of Mankind: The Complete Text

by Karl Kraus, Fred Bridgham & Edward Timms

One hundred years after Austrian satirist Karl Kraus began writing his dramatic masterpiece, The Last Days of Mankind remains as powerfully relevant as the day it was first published. Kraus's play enacts the...

Woman of the Dead: A Novel

by Bernhard Aichner

The #1 international bestseller praised as “one of the most arresting thrillers I’ve read in years” (#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner), Woman of the Dead is the darkly thrilling tale of...


by Christian Kracht & Daniel Bowles

An outrageous, fantastical, uncategorizable novel of obsession, adventure, and coconuts

In 1902, a radical vegetarian and nudist from Nuremberg named August Engelhardt set sail for what was then called the Bismarck...

Death in Brittany

by Jean-Luc Bannalec

"Roll over, Maigret. Commissaire Dupin has arrived."—M.C. Beaton

Commissaire Georges Dupin, a cantankerous, Parisian-born caffeine junkie recently relocated from the glamour of Paris to the remote (if picturesque)...

Ice Cold

by Andrea Maria Schenkel

Andrea Maria Schenkel's second novel Ice Cold recreates Munich, Germany in the 1930s to revisit a terrible crime, and offers thrilling crime fiction that draws on historical events. Ice Cold, like The Murder...

Zodiac Station

Zodiac Station #1

by Tom Harper

For fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton—an eerie, evocative thriller set in the unforgiving Arctic from the author of The Orpheus Descent.

Deep in the Arctic, the US Coast Guard icebreaker Terra Nova batters...