English literature / British literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

Fiction

Mystery & Detective (1178)

Literary (657)

Fantasy (317)

Historical (283)

Science Fiction (228)

Thrillers (194)

Classics (116)

Horror (108)

Drama (60)

Espionage (54)

Short Stories (52)

Occult & Supernatural (49)

War & Military (21)

Juvenile & Young Adult (20)

 

Non-Fiction

Biography & autobiography (3)

Literary essay (3)

Religion (3)

Health & fitness (1)

Languages study (1)

Arts (1)

 

Language

English (3191)

French (300)

German (5)

Spanish (775)

Italian (1395)

 

Protection

All (3191)

DRM Free (147)

DRM (3043)

More options

Living the Dream

by Lauren Berry

A cheeky, charming debut about twentysomething best friends in London navigating their careers and love lives past post-collegiate turmoil and into adulthood with lots of pints along the way

Emma is a rising...


The Glovemaker's Daughter

by Leah Fleming

FROM THE ACCLAIMED AUTHOR OF THE LAST PEARL AND DANCING AT THE VICTORY CAFE, this is a beautiful novel about dark family secrets, betrayal, love and redemption.

1666. A child is born in the farmhouse at Windebank,...


The Flight of the Maidens

by Jane Gardam

Jane Gardam, author of the Old Filth Trilogy, delivers another modern classic in The Flight of the Maidens. With her characteristic wit, Gardam captures a moment in time for three young women on the cusp of...


Yesterday

by Felicia Yap

How do you solve a murder when you can only remember yesterday?

Imagine a world in which classes are divided not by wealth or religion but by how much each group can remember. Monos, the majority, have only one...


Anackire

by Tanith Lee

A recognized master fantasist, Tanith Lee has won multiple awards for her craft, including the British Fantasy Award, the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement, and the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement...


Birdcage Walk

by Helen Dunmore

It is 1792 and Europe is seized by political turmoil and violence. Lizzie Fawkes has grown up in Radical circles where each step of the French Revolution is followed with eager idealism. But she has recently...


The Followers

by Rebecca Wait

The Followers is a compassionate and suspenseful story of the dissolution of a family. Judith has been visiting her mother, Stephanie, in prison once a month for the last eight years. She still can't bring herself...


Penance of the Damned

Sister Fidelma #27

by Peter Tremayne

Ireland, AD 671. King Colgú of Cashel is shocked to learn that his loyal Chief Bishop and advisor has been murdered in the old enemy fortress of the Uí Fidgente. When word reaches Cashel that the culprit will...


Madame Zero

by Sarah Hall

From one of the most accomplished British writers working today, the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Wolf Border, comes a unique and arresting collection of short fiction that is both disturbing and...


Nature and Necessity

by Tariq Goddard

Even though they were mother and daughter they were known mostly as ‘the sisters’. It was a union that would lead them both into lives they wished they had not had.

 For thirty-five years, two women frighten...


Beautiful Animals: A Novel

by Lawrence Osborne

"Let’s not mince words. This is a great book. Truly difficult to put down... sophisticated, smart and uncomfortable, and the story is cracking."  Lionel Shriver, Washington Post 

"Startlingly good...O...


The Breakdown

by B. A. Paris

Named One of the Most Anticipated Thriller Novels Of 2017 by Bustle!

THE NEW CHILLING, PROPULSIVE NOVEL FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.

If you can’t...


A Distant View of Everything: An Isabel Dalhousie Novel (11)

Isabel Dalhousie #11

by Alexander McCall Smith

When a matchmaker begins to question her latest match, Isabel Dalhousie is called upon to help.

 

A new baby brings an abundance of joy to Isabel and her husband, Jamie—but almost-four-year-old Charlie is none...


A Favourite of the Gods and A Compass Error

by Sybille Bedford & Daniel Mendelsohn

A Favourite of the Gods is the story of two generations of a single family, united by a strong matrilineal bond but divided by the customs of their differing nationalities. Anna Howland, the matriarch and American...


My Sister's Bones

by Nuala Ellwood

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Renée Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all...


The Lighthouse

by Alison Moore

Futh, a middle-aged, recently separated man heads to Germany for a restorative walking holiday. During his circular walk along the Rhine, he contemplates the formative moments of his childhood. At the end of...


The Storm Lord

by Tanith Lee

A recognized master fantasist, Tanith Lee has won multiple awards for her craft, including the British Fantasy Award, the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement, and the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement...


Haweswater

by Sarah Hall

The village of Marsdale is a quiet corner of the world, cradled in a remote dale in England's lovely Lake District. The rhythm of life in the deeply religious, sheltered community has not changed for centuries....


The Electric Michelangelo

by Sarah Hall

Cy Parks is the Electric Michelangelo, an artist of extraordinary gifts whose medium happens to be the pliant, shifting canvas of the human body. Fleeing his mother's legacy -- a consumptives' hotel in a fading...


The Boy Who Saw

Solomon Creed #2

by Simon Toyne

Solomon Creed, the enigmatic hero introduced in The Searcher, must stop a killer tied to a conspiracy stretching back over generations to the dying days of World War II.

Solomon Creed has no recollection of who...