Middle Eastern literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Origin

Delete Middle Eastern literature

 

Fiction

Literary (100)

Mystery & Detective (10)

Short Stories (6)

Historical (3)

Espionage (2)

Thrillers (1)

Biographical (1)

Fantasy (1)

 

Origin

Israeli (71)

Turkish (19)

Egyptian (17)

Persian (4)

 

Language

English (123)

French (13)

German (0)

Spanish (99)

Italian (150)

 

Protection

All (123)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (122)

More options

Endgame: A Novel

by Ahmet Altan & Alexander Dawe

In this atmospheric and enigmatic literary noir, an unnamed writer visits a small town and finds himself involved in a mystery with existentialist implications.

A womanizing writer who has lived his entire life...


Three Envelopes

by Nir Hezroni

A thrilling debut, Three Envelopes delves into the twisted mind of a rogue agent in the Israeli intelligence agency and his mysterious plot for revenge.

Agent 10483 carried out his missions perfectly. Too perfectly....


Waking Lions

by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen

WINNER OF THE JEWISH QUARTERLY WINGATE PRIZE

10 WOMEN TO WATCH IN 2017--BookPage

After one night's deadly mistake, a man will go to any lengths to save his family and his reputation.

Neurosurgeon Eitan Green has...


A Horse Walks into a Bar: A novel

by David Grossman & Jessica Cohen

**SHORT-LISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE**

The award-winning and internationally acclaimed author of the To the End of the Land now gives us a searing short novel about the life of a stand-up...


The Man Who Never Stopped Sleeping: A Novel

by Aharon Appelfeld

From the award-winning, internationally acclaimed author (“One of the greatest writers of the age” –The Guardian): a young Holocaust survivor takes his first steps toward creating a new life in the newly...


The Gardens of Consolation

by Parisa Reza

Publisher's Weekly Best Book of 2016

Parisa Reza has written a powerful love story filled with scenes of hope and heartbreak centered around an Iranian woman named Talla, "a formidable and hard-to-forget...


Judas

by Amos Oz & Nicholas de Lange

Winner of the International Literature Prize, the new novel by Amos Oz is his first full length work since the best-selling A Tale of Love and Darkness


The Man Who Wanted to Know Everything

by D. A. Mishani

Inspector Avraham Avraham is back in this sequel to the acclaimed thrillers A Possibility of Violence and The Missing File—internationally bestselling author D. A. Mishani’s The Man Who Wanted to Know Everything...


Unto the Soul: A novel

by Aharon Appelfeld

In turn of the century Eastern Europe, a brother and sister have been chosen to guard an ancient cemetery of Jewish martyrs situated on an isolated mountain. The endless snows protect them from the pogroms and...


The Retreat: A novel

by Aharon Appelfeld

The year is 1937. On a remote hilltop some distance from Vienna stands a hotel called The Retreat. Founded by a man who is determined to cleanse himself and his guests of all "Jewish traits," it is a resort...


Laish: A novel

by Aharon Appelfeld

A caravan of Jews wanders through Eastern Europe at the end of the nineteenth century on a heartbreaking quest. Spiritual seekers and the elderly, widows and orphans, the sick and the dying, con artists and...


The Conversion: A novel

by Aharon Appelfeld

Our story opens in an Austrian city, two generations before the Holocaust, where almost all of the Jews have converted to Christianity. Today the church bells are pealing for Karl, an ambitious young civil servant...


The Angel of History: A Novel

by Rabih Alameddine

“There are many ways to break someone’s heart, but Rabih Alameddine is one rare writer who not only breaks our hearts but gives every broken piece a new life.”—Yiyun Li

Following the critical and commercial...


The English Teacher: A Novel

by Yiftach Reicher Atir & Philip Simpson

For readers of John Le Carré and viewers of Homeland, a slow-burning psychological spy-thriller by a former brigadier general of intelligence in the Israeli army

One of The Washington Post's 10 Best mystery...


Autumn Quail

by Naguib Mahfouz

Autumn Quail is a tale of moral responsibility, alienation, and political downfall featuring a corrupt young bureaucrat, Isa ad-Dabbagh, who is one of the early victims of the purge after the 1952 Revolution...


The Time and the Place: And Other Stories

by Naguib Mahfouz

Selected and translated by the distinguished scholar Denys Johnson-Daivies, these stories have all the celebrated and distinctive characters and qualities found in Mahfouz's novels:  The denizens of the dark,...


The Beginning and the End

by Naguib Mahfouz

First published in 1956, this is a powerful portrayal of a middle-class Egyptian family confronted by material, moral, and spiritual problems during World War II.


The Harafish

by Naguib Mahfouz

Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1988,  Naguib Mahfouz is perhaps the best-known living  Arab writer. His books have had great success in  this country, particularly The Cairo  Trilogy. Fans...


The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem

by Sarit Yishai-Levi & Anthony Berris

Finalist for the Book Club category of the 2016 National Jewish Book Awards.

The #1 International Best Seller, The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem is a dazzling novel of mothers and daughters, stories told and untold,...


A Man Lies Dreaming

by Lavie Tidhar

The novel that stunned—and scandalized—Europe comes to America

Wolf, a low-rent private detective, roams London’s gloomy, grimy streets, haunted by dark visions of a future that could have been—and a...