Australian, Pacific, Oceanian and Polynesian literature / Australian literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Origin

Delete Australian literature

 

Fiction

Fantasy (137)

Literary (85)

Mystery & Detective (65)

Thrillers (24)

Science Fiction (23)

Historical (21)

Occult & Supernatural (18)

Short Stories (6)

Romance (5)

Juvenile & Young Adult (3)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (1)

 

Language

English (362)

French (34)

German (0)

Spanish (73)

Italian (76)

 

Protection

All (362)

DRM Free (46)

DRM (316)

More options

Crimes of the Father

by Thomas Keneally

From one of our greatest living writers, a bold and timely novel about sin cloaked in sacrament, shame that enforces silence, and the courage of one priest who dares to speak truth to power.

Sent away from his...


The Dark Lake

by Sarah Bailey

Rosalind's secrets didn't die with her.

The lead homicide investigator in a rural town, Detective Sergeant Gemma Woodstock is deeply unnerved when a high school classmate is found strangled, her body floating...


The Good People

by Hannah Kent

Short-listed for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction

One of Entertainment Weekly's "Must-Read" books for Fall

From the author of Burial Rites, "a literary novel with the pace and tension of a thriller...


Black Rock White City

by A. S. Patric

Winner of the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award

A powerful debut novel about two refugees starting over after losing everything

Jovan and Suzana have fled war-torn Sarajevo. They have lost their children, their...


A Loving, Faithful Animal

by Josephine Rowe

Market

  • Smart, literary-inclined readers who voraciously read and recommend books
  • Book clubs, particularly those focused on family relationships, travel, and Australian history
  • Groups or organizations centered...

  • Common People

    by Tony Birch

    In this unforgettable new collection, Tony Birch introduces a cast of characters from all walks of life. These remarkable and surprising stories capture common people caught up in the everyday business of living...


    The Body in the Clouds: A Novel

    by Ashley Hay

    “Exquisite…a rich, meditative novel that explores the connectivity of people living in the same geographical space across the distance of time.” —New York Times Book Review

    From the acclaimed author of...


    Death on Delos

    The Athenian Mysteries #7

    by Gary Corby

    ​In the seventh in Gary Corby's Athenian Mystery series, Nico and Diotima must solve a murder case while also preparing to have a baby. Set on the sacred island of Delos in 5th century BC, Death on Delos is...


    Swimming Home: A Novel

    by Mary-Rose MacColl

    From the author of the international bestseller In Falling Snow. In 1925, a young woman swimmer will defy the odds to swim the English Channel—a chance to make history. 

    London 1925: Fifteen-year-old Catherine...


    The Housekeeper: A Novel

    by Suellen Dainty

    "An addictively dark tale full of psychological drama, long-hidden secrets, and the dangers of fabricating a pristine public façade, The Housekeeper will satisfy any reader’s cravings for family drama." —...


    Foe: A Novel

    by J. M. Coetzee

    With the same electrical intensity of language and insight that he brought to Waiting for the Barbarians, J.M. Coetzee reinvents the story of Robinson Crusoe—and in so doing, directs our attention to the seduction...


    The Waiting Room

    by Leah Kaminsky

    The Waiting Room is both haunted, and haunting.”—Geraldine Brooks, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of March

    The Waiting Room unfolds over the course of a single, life-changing day, but the story it tells...


    Black Jade

    Celestial Battle #3

    by Kylie Chan

    From the international bestselling author of The Dark Heavens and Journey to Wudang series..

    The Heavenly defenses struggle to hold against the combined might of the Eastern and Western demon hordes. The God...


    A Shattered Empire

    Sorcery Ascendant Sequence #3

    by Mitchell Hogan

    In Mitchell Hogan's gritty and breathtaking conclusion to the Sorcery Ascendant Sequence—the award-winning fantasy series that started with A Crucible of Souls and Blood of Innocents—a young sorcerer must...


    Nine Island

    by Jane Alison

    “Nine Island is a crackling incantation, brittle and brilliant and hot and sad and full of sideways humor that devastates and illuminates all at once.” —Lauren Groff, author of Fates and Furies

    Nine Island...


    The Shadow of What Was Lost

    The Licanius Trilogy #1

    by James Islington

    "Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy Blog

    "Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to...


    Holden's Performance

    by Murray Bail

    Holden's Performance by award-winning author Murray Bail is the story of Holden Shadbolt, a guileless and matter-of-fact innocent as he passes through the cities and landscape of Australia. His reassuring silent...


    Camouflage

    by Murray Bail

    From the "world-class Australian novelist" (The New York Times) comes Camouflage, a deft, angular, and highly entertaining collection of stories. "The Seduction of My Sister" tells of the increasingly bizarre...


    The Singer from Memphis

    The Athenian Mysteries #6

    by Gary Corby

    A historical murder mystery adventure that stretches from Classical Athens to Egypt in the footsteps of the first historian, Herodotus

                                                                                                           ...


    The High Places

    Dylan Thomas Prize 2017

    by Fiona McFarlane

    What a terrible thing at a time like this: to own a house, and the trees around it. Janet sat rigid in her seat. The plane lifted from the city and her house fell away, consumed by the other houses. Janet worried...