Historical

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (33)

French (45)

German (0)

Spanish (84)

Italian (165)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (2)

Modern (<1799) (2)

Ancient History (1)

Middle Age (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

1939-1945 (1)

 

Audience

Adult (33)

 

Protection

All (33)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (33)

More options

The Golden Hour

by Beatriz Williams

The New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Wives and A Certain Age creates a dazzling epic of World War II-era Nassau—a hotbed of spies, traitors, and the most infamous couple of the age, the Duke...


The Tenth Muse

by Catherine Chung

The first thing I remember being said of me with any consistency was that I was intelligent—and I recognized even then that it was a comment leveled at me with as much disapproval as admiration. Still, I never...


Snegurochka

by Judith Heneghan

‘Something terrible is happening here. Something terrible has already happened.’

Snegurochka opens in Kiev in 1992, one year after Ukraine’s declaration of independence. Rachel, a troubled young English...


In Another Time

by Jillian Cantor

A sweeping historical novel that spans Germany, England, and the United States and follows a young couple torn apart by circumstance leading up to World War II—and the family secret that may prove to be the...


Savage Conversations

by LeAnne Howe

• The historical effacement of Native Americans has seen some remedy in the arts of late, and Savage Conversations brings both those original crimes, and the crime of their erasure from our history, to a much...


In Exile

by Alexandra Turney

“No one in this city has believed in me for two thousand years. I’m unknown and unloved. And I’m very, very ill.” He sighed, and the sound chilled her blood. “Give me your hand.” Dionysus is re-born...


Melmoth

by Sarah Perry

“Masterful…scary and smart, working as a horror story but also a philosophical inquiry into the nature of will and love. Perry did as much in her richly praised novel The Essex Serpent, but this is a deeper,...


Trinity

by Louisa Hall

From the acclaimed author of Speak comes a kaleidoscopic novel about Robert Oppenheimer—father of the atomic bomb—as told by seven fictional characters

J. Robert Oppenheimer was a brilliant scientist, a...


Unsheltered

by Barbara Kingsolver

New York Times bestseller

An NPR pick for Best Books of 2018

One of Christian Science Monitor's best fiction reads of 2018

One of Newsweek's Best Books of the year

The New York Times bestselling author of Flight...


The Witch Of Willow Hall: A spellbinding historical fiction debut for Halloween 2018 perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches

by Hester Fox

‘This debut recalls Georgette Heyer, with extra spookiness’ The Times ‘Beautifully written… The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

The...


The Sea Queen

The Half-Drowned King #2

by Linnea Hartsuyker

An exhilarating Viking saga filled with the rich history, romantic adventure and political intrigue that have made Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones, as well as Phillippa...


The Summer Wives

by Beatriz Williams

The Summer Wives is an exquisitely rendered novel that tackles two of my favorite topics: love and money. The glorious setting and drama are enriched by Williams’s signature vintage touch. It’s at the...


A Long Island Story

by Rick Gekoski

It is 1953, a heat wave is sweeping across America and the Grossmans - Ben, Addie and their two children - are moving their lives from the political heart of Washington DC to suburban Long Island. Benny was...


Mad Boy

by Nick Arvin

Mad Boy is a rollicking, picaresque novel about family and perseverance set during America’s “forgotten war” of 1812.

Young Henry Phipps is on a quest to realize his dying mother’s last wish: to be buried...


A Woman, In Bed

by Anne Finger

Paris, 20th century, WWI to WWII and beyond. Simone abandons her body to lust, leaves her husband for Jacques, sleeps with strangers. But she is never satisfied. It is only when she is diagnosed with Parkinson's...


The Less You Know The Sounder You Sleep

by Juliet Butler

‘Do yourself a favour and read this wonderful book’ Scotsman

Based on the true story of conjoined Russian twins, Masha and Dasha Krivoshlyapova, The Less You Know the Sounder You Sleep is a tale of survival...


Noir

by Christopher Moore

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The absurdly outrageous, sarcastically satiric, and always entertaining New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore returns in finest madcap form with this zany noir...


The Essex Serpent

by Sarah Perry

A Kirkus Review Best Book of 2017 and a Washington Post Notable Work of Fiction. Winner of the British Book Awards Fiction Book of the Year and overall Book of the Year, selected as the Waterstones Book of the...


Margaret the First: A Novel

by Danielle Dutton

One of both Flavorwire and The Millions Most Anticipated Books of 2016

Margaret the First dramatizes the life of Margaret Cavendish, the shy, gifted, and wildly unconventional 17th-century Duchess. The eccentric...


Crooked Heart

by Lissa Evans

Paper Moon meets the Blitz in this original black comedy, set in World War II England, chronicling an unlikely alliance between a small time con artist and a young orphan evacuee.

When Noel Bostock—aged ten,...