Mystery & Detective / English literature / American and Canadian literature

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (25)

French (6)

German (0)

Spanish (9)

Italian (18)

 

Category

Delete Mystery & Detective

 

Origin

Delete American and Canadian literature

 

In category

Suspense (9)

Hard-Boiled (4)

Women Sleuths (1)

Police Procedural (1)

 

Audience

Adult (25)

 

Protection

All (25)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (25)

More options

Lady in the Lake

by Laura Lippman

The revered New York Times bestselling author returns with a novel set in 1960s Baltimore that combines modern psychological insights with elements of classic noir, about a middle-aged housewife turned aspiring...


The Better Sister

by Alafair Burke

Recommended by Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Entertainment Weekly, Popsugar, Goodreads, CrimeReads, and BookBub.

Keep your enemies close and your sister closer.

Though Chloe was the younger of the two Taylor sisters,...


The Border

by Don Winslow

ONE OF THE MOST ACCLAIMED BOOKS OF THE YEAR

"A big, sprawling, ultimately stunning crime tableau." – Janet Maslin, New York Times

"You can't ask for more emotionally moving entertainment." – Stephen King

"One...


The Feral Detective

by Jonathan Lethem

Jonathan Lethem’s first detective novel since Motherless Brooklyn

“One of America’s greatest storytellers.” —Washington Post

Phoebe Siegler first meets Charles Heist in a shabby trailer on the eastern...


Cross Her Heart

by Sarah Pinborough

"Sarah Pinborough is about to become your new obsession."—Harlan Coben

Lisa is living a lie and everyone is about to find out.

Lisa lives for her daughter Ava, her job and her best friend Marilyn.

But when a...


The Girl From Blind River

by Gale Massey

A gritty tale of how far we’ll go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone and Emma Cline’s The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction.

Everyone says...


The Underneath

by Melanie Finn

With the assurance and grace of her acclaimed novel The Gloaming—which earned her comparisons to Patricia Highsmith—Melanie Finn returns with a precisely layered and tense new literary thriller.

The Underneath...


Pretty Girls

by Karin Slaughter

Lee Child says it’s “stunning… certain to be a book of the year.”

 

Kathy Reichs calls it “extraordinary… a major achievement.”

Jeffery Deaver says that fiction doesn't get any better than this....


Pleasantville

by Attica Locke

WINNER OF THE HARPER LEE PRIZE FOR LEGAL FICTION

Wall Street Journal BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEY’S WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION

From Attica Locke, a writer and producer of FOX’s Empire, this...


World Gone By

Coughlin #3

by Dennis Lehane

Dennis Lehane, the New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night—now a Warner Bros. movie starring Ben Affleck—delivers a psychologically, morally complex novel of blood, crime, passion, and vengeance,...


Dark Rooms

by Lili Anolik

The Secret History meets Sharp Objects in this stunning debut about murder and glamour set in the ambiguous and claustrophobic world of an exclusive New England prep school.

Death sets the plot in motion: the...


This is the Water

by Yannick Murphy

From Yannick Murphy, award-winning author of The Call, comes a fast-paced story of murder, adultery, parenthood, and romance, involving a girls’ swim team, their morally flawed parents, and a killer who swims...


The Gone Dead Train

by Lisa Turner

Edgar Award Nominee for Best Paperback Original!

Bestselling sensation Lisa Turner conjures a riveting Southern gothic mystery set in Memphis, with echoes of Midnight in The Garden of Good and Evil and Lisa...


All Day and a Night

Ellie Hatcher #5

by Alafair Burke

A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner”...


After I'm Gone

by Laura Lippman

Laura Lippman, the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of The Most Dangerous Thing, I’d Know You Anywhere, and What the Dead Know, returns with an addictive story that explores how one man’s disappearance...


The Girl with a Clock for a Heart

by Peter Swanson

Already optioned for film, The Girl with a Clock for a Heart is Peter Swanson’s electrifying tale of romantic noir, with shades of Hitchcock and reminiscent of the classic movie Body Heat. It is the story...


This Dark Road to Mercy

Gold Dagger Award 2014

by Wiley Cash

The critically acclaimed author of the New York Times bestseller A Land More Kind Than Home—hailed as "a powerfully moving debut that reads as if Cormac McCarthy decided to rewrite Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird...


Visitation Street

by Ivy Pochoda

Chosen by Denis Lehane for his eponymous imprint, Ivy Pochoda’s Visitation Street is a riveting literary mystery set against the rough-hewn backdrop of the New York waterfront in Red Hook.

It’s summertime...


If You Were Here

by Alafair Burke

If You Were Here is a thrilling novel of suspense from Alafair Burke, the author Dennis Lehane calls “one of the finest young crime writers working today.”

 

Manhattan journalist McKenna Jordan is chasing...


Live by Night

Coughlin #2

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best novel 2013

by Dennis Lehane

From New York Times bestselling author Dennis Lehane comes this epic, unflinching tale of the making and unmaking of a gangster in the Prohibition Era of the Roaring Twenties—now a Warner Bros. movie starring...