Browsing

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (887)

French (222)

German (3)

Spanish (1869)

Italian (938)

 

Fiction

Literary (252)

Short Stories (60)

Mystery & Detective (57)

Juvenile & Young Adult (48)

Science Fiction (41)

Historical (38)

Fantasy (24)

Thrillers (18)

Poetry (14)

Horror (10)

Occult & Supernatural (9)

Biographical (4)

Anthologies (multiple authors) (4)

Travel writing (2)

Humorous (2)

Contemporary Women (2)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (2)

Media Tie-In (1)

Westerns (1)

LGBT (1)

 

Non-Fiction

Biography & autobiography (94)

Social science (56)

Literary collections (50)

History (39)

Arts (21)

News and investigations (15)

Literary essay (13)

Science and Technics (11)

Nature, recreation and sports (6)

Human Science (4)

Cooking (3)

Religion (3)

Health & fitness (2)

Travel (2)

Business & economics (2)

Juvenile (1)

Geography (1)

Reference (1)

 

Protection

All (887)

DRM Free (39)

DRM (848)

More options

What Are We Doing Here?

by Marilynne Robinson

New essays on theological, political, and contemporary themes, by the Pulitzer Prize winner

Marilynne Robinson has plumbed the human spirit in her renowned novels, including Lila, winner of the National Book...


Eloquent Rage

by Brittney Cooper

NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2018 BY: Glamour Chicago Reader • Bustle • Autostraddle

Joy Reid, Cosmopolitan: "A dissertation on black women’s pain and possibility; an autobiography of a black...


The Invention of Ana

by Mikkel Rosengaard

Combining the infectious narration of Nick Hornby’s Funny Girl, the philosophical lyricism of Roberto Bolaño’s The Savage Detectives, and the mesmerizing power of Anna North’s The Life and Death of Sophie...


The Kings of Big Spring

by Bryan Mealer

"Think of it as a Texas version of Hillbilly Elegy."

— Bryan Burrough, New York Times bestselling author of THE BIG RICH and BARBARIANS AT THE GATE

"Bryan Mealer has given us a brilliant, and brilliantly entertaining,...


The Seabird's Cry

by Adam Nicolson

Life itself could never have been sustainable without seabirds. As Adam Nicolson writes: "They are bringers of fertility, the deliverers of life from ocean to land."

A global tragedy is unfolding. Even as we...


Between Harlem and Heaven

by Alexander Smalls, Jj Johnson & Veronica Chambers

Between Harlem and Heaven presents a captivatingly original cuisine. Afro-Asian-American cooking is packed with unique and delicious layers of flavor. These stories and recipes lay praise to the immense influence...


Up Up, Down Down

by Cheston Knapp

For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Wells Tower, a “glittering,” (Leslie Jamison), “always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately transcendent” (Anthony Doerr) linked essay collection from the managing...


We Are Taking Only What We Need

by Stephanie Powell Watts

In these powerfully rendered, prizewinning stories, working-class African Americans across the South strive for meaning and search for direction in lives shaped by forces beyond their control

The ten stories...


Winterfolk

by Janel Kolby

This gorgeous and lyrical debut novel is perfect for fans of Nova Ren Suma, Laura Ruby, and Nina LaCour.

Rain doesn’t wish on stars anymore.

For as long as she can remember, her home has been among the Winterfolk,...


All About Love

by bell hooks

THE ACCLAIMED FIRST VOLUME IN HER "LOVE SONG TO THE NATION"

“The word ‘love’ is most often defined as a noun, yet . . . we would all love better if we used it as a verb,” writes bell hooks as she comes...


Theory of Shadows

by Paolo Maurensig & Anne Milano Appel

The strange circumstances surrounding the death of the world chess champion and alleged Nazi collaborator Alexander Alekhine, as investigated by a literary grand master

On the morning of March 24, 1946, the world...


Neon in Daylight

by Hermione Hoby

"What do you get when a writer of extreme intelligence, insight, style and beauty chronicles the lives of self-absorbed hedonists—The Great Gatsby, Bright Lights, Big City, and now Neon in Daylight. Hermione...


An Uncommon Reader

by Helen Smith

One of The Sunday Times' (U.K.) Books of the Year

"Garnett's life will not need to be written again." —Andrew Morton, Times Literary Supplement

A penetrating biography of the most important English-language...


The Vanishing Princess

by Jenny Diski

The only story collection from the beloved Jenny Diski—darkly funny, subversive, sexy, and eccentric tales from one of the most original and intelligent voices of our time

 

“Mordant and talon-sharp.” —Dwight...


We the Dreamers

by Josefina Vázquez Mota

DREAMer: a young visionary, an undocumented immigrant, who wants

to achieve the American Dream.

As of August 2016 it was estimated that some 35 million Mexicans were living in the United States, 23.5 million...


The Mafia's President

by Don Fulsom

The first-ever full account of Nixon's extensive ties to the American Mafia, from a veteran White House reporter.

Unbeknownst to most people even now, the election of 1968 placed the patron saint of the Mafia...


The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

by Edna O'Brien

A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen “Kate” Brady and Bridget “Baba” Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive...


Debriefing

by Susan Sontag

A collection of one of our most powerful intellectual’s short fiction

Debriefing collects all of Susan Sontag’s shorter fiction, a form she turned to intermittently throughout her writing life. The book ranges...


Bunk

by Kevin Young

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Nonfiction

“There Kevin Young goes again, giving us books we greatly need, cleverly disguised as books we merely want. Unexpectedly essential.”—Marlon James

Award-winning...


Future Home of the Living God

by Louise Erdrich

A New York Times Notable Book of 2017

Louise Erdrich, the New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning author of LaRose and The Round House, paints a startling portrait of a young woman fighting for...