Biography & autobiography

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Biography & autobiography

 

In category

Personal Memoirs (125)

Literary (26)

Women (14)

Composers & Musicians (9)

Entertainment & Performing Arts (7)

Historical (6)

Artists, Architects, Photographers (4)

Military (4)

True story (4)

Diary (3)

Science & Technology (3)

Political (3)

Philosophers (1)

Adventurers & Explorers (1)

 

Language

English (208)

French (11)

German (0)

Spanish (98)

Italian (70)

 

Protection

All (208)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (208)

More options

Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir

by Amy Thielen

A beautifully written food memoir chronicling one woman’s journey from her rural Midwestern hometown to the intoxicating world of New York City fine dining—and back again—in search of her culinary roots...


Spies in the Family

by Eva Dillon

A riveting true-life thriller and revealing memoir from the daughter of an American intelligence officer—the astonishing true story of two spies and their families on opposite sides of the Cold War.

In the...


Priestdaddy: A Memoir

by Patricia Lockwood

"Consistently alive with feeling. . . Lockwood's prose is cute and dirty and innocent and experienced, Betty Boop in a pas de deux with David Sedaris."

--The New York Times

“You’ll be wowed by Patricia Lockwood’s...


Between Them

by Richard Ford

From American master Richard Ford, a memoir: his first work of nonfiction, a stirring narrative of memory and parental love

How is it that we come to consider our parents as people with rich and intense lives...


The Draw

by Lee Siegel

The Draw is a "spellbinding, coming-of-age tour de force" (The New York Times Book Review) about a boy striving to make his way up through society and out of a family that has been emotionally and psychologically...


Stranger in a Strange Land: Searching for Gershom Scholem and Jerusalem

by George Prochnik

Taking his lead from his subject, Gershom Scholem—the 20th century thinker who cracked open Jewish theology and history with a radical reading of Kabbalah—Prochnik combines biography and memoir to counter...


The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

by Ariel Levy

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention—for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion

When Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia...


The House of Memory: Reflections on Youth and War

by John Freely

An engaging, funny, and tender memoir from a man of ninety years: of growing up poor in a Brooklyn and Ireland that now exist only in memory, and of serving in the China/Burma/India theater during World War...


Down City: A Daughter's Story of Love, Memory, and Murder

by Leah Carroll

Like James Ellroy's, My Dark Places, DOWN CITY is a gripping narrative built of memory and reportage, and Leah Carroll's portrait of Rhode Island is sure to take a place next Mary Karr's portrayal of her childhood...


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

The New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals of the world with abandon. But it is the flâneuse who captures...


Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in Your Life

by Yiyun Li

In her first memoir, award-winning novelist Yiyun Li offers a journey of recovery through literature: a letter from a writer to like-minded readers.

“A meditation on the fact that literature itself lives and...


The Men in My Life

by Patricia Bosworth

Acclaimed biographer Patricia Bosworth recalls her emotional coming of age in 1950s New York in this profound and powerful memoir, a story of family, marriage, tragedy, Broadway, and art, featuring a rich cast...


In the Great Green Room

by Amy Gary

The extraordinary life of the woman behind the beloved children’s classics Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny comes alive in this fascinating biography of Margaret Wise Brown. Margaret’s books have sold...


The Feud: Vladimir Nabokov, Edmund Wilson, and the End of a Beautiful Friendship

by Alex Beam

The Feud is the deliciously ironic (and sad) tale of how two literary giants destroyed their friendship in a fit of mutual pique and egomania.

In 1940, Edmund Wilson was the undisputed big dog of American letters....


Set the Boy Free

by Johnny Marr

The long-awaited memoir from the legendary guitarist and cofounder of the seminal British band The Smiths.

An artist who helped define a period in popular culture, Johnny Marr tells his story in a memoir as vivid...


Labyrinths

by Catrine Clay

 A sensational, eye-opening account of Emma Jung’s complex marriage to Carl Gustav Jung and the hitherto unknown role she played in the early years of the psychoanalytic movement.

Clever and ambitious, Emma...


By Women Possessed: A Life of Eugene O'Neill

by Arthur Gelb & Barbara Gelb

Celebrated for their books on Eugene O’Neill and enjoying access to a trove of previously sealed archival material, the Gelbs deliver their final volume on the stormy life and brilliant oeuvre of this Nobel...


Cockroaches

by Scholastique Mukasonga & Jordan Stump

Imagine being born into a world where everything about you—the shape of your nose, the look of your hair, the place of your birth—designates you as an undesirable, an inferior, a menace, no better than a...


Alfred Hitchcock

by Peter Ackroyd

A gripping short biography of the extraordinary Alfred Hitchock, the master of suspense.

Alfred Hitchcock was a strange child. Fat, lonely, burning with fear and ambition, his childhood was an isolated one,...


The Nine of Us

by Jean Kennedy Smith

In this evocative and affectionate memoir, Ambassador Jean Kennedy Smith, the last surviving child of Joe and Rose Kennedy, offers an intimate and illuminating look at a time long ago when she and her siblings,...