Biography & autobiography

Our selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Biography & autobiography

 

In category

Personal Memoirs (48)

Literary (5)

Women (5)

Composers & Musicians (3)

Entertainment & Performing Arts (3)

Artists, Architects, Photographers (2)

Diary (2)

True story (2)

Historical (1)

Royalty (1)

Science & Technology (1)

Political (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (75)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (69)

Italian (28)

 

Protection

All (75)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (75)

More options

Going Somewhere: A Bicycle Journey Across America

by Brian Benson

Brian has a million vague life plans but zero sense of direction. So when he meets Rachel, a self-possessed woman who daydreams of bicycling across the States, he decides to follow her wherever she'll take him....


Ghost Waltz

by Ingeborg Day

From the author of the classic erotic memoir Nine and a Half Weeks comes a moving and profound exploration of the legacy of war and hate as one woman courageously comes to terms with her family's painful past....


The Most Dangerous Book: The Battle for James Joyce's Ulysses

by Kevin Birmingham

"A great story-how modernism brought down the regime of censorship-told as a great story. Kevin Birmingham's imaginative scholarship brings Joyce and his world to life. There is a fresh detail on nearly every...


Take This Man: A Memoir

by Brando Skyhorse

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers...


Good Hunting

by Jack Devine & Vernon Loeb

"A sophisticated, deeply informed account of real life in the real CIA that adds immeasurably to the public understanding of the espionage culture—the good and the bad." —Bob WoodwardJack Devine ran Charlie...


My Struggle: Book 3

My Struggle #3

by Karl Ove Knausgaard & Don Bartlett

A family of four—mother, father, and two boys—move to the south coast of Norway, to a new house on a newly developed site. It is the early 1970s and the family’s trajectory is upwardly mobile: the future...


Tibetan Peach Pie

by Tom Robbins

Internationally bestselling novelist and American icon Tom Robbins's long-awaited tale of his wild life and times, both at home and around the globe

Tom Robbins's warm, wise, and wonderfully weird novels–including...


The Sea Inside

by Philip Hoare

A yearlong adventure through the world’s oceans with Philip Hoare, the award-winning author of The Whale

In colorful prose and lively line drawings, Hoare sets out to rediscover the sea and its islands, birds,...


Updike

by Adam Begley

In this eye-opening, authoritative biography, Adam Begley offers a captivating portrait of John Updike, the author who saw himself as a literary spy in small-town and suburban America, and who dedicated himself...


A Man Called Destruction: The Life and Music of Alex Chilton, From Box Tops to Big Star to Backdoor Man

by Holly George-Warren

The first biography of the influential musician and forebear of the indie-rock scene

Alex Chilton's story is rags to riches in reverse, beginning with teenage rock stardom and heading downward. Following stints...


Everything Is Wonderful: Memories of a Collective Farm in Estonia

by Sigrid Rausing

Just like it was taken for granted that houses could be abandoned and slowly decay, so it was taken for granted that people died in prisons, and that it was possible that no-one would really ever know the cause...


The Splendid Things We Planned: A Family Portrait

by Blake Bailey

The renowned biographer’s unforgettable portrait of a family in ruins—his own. Meet the Baileys: Burck, a prosperous lawyer once voted the American Legion’s “Citizen of the Year” in his tiny hometown...


The Tastemaker

by Edward White

A revealing biography of the influential and controversial cultural titan who embodied an era

The Tastemaker explores the many lives of Carl Van Vechten, the most influential cultural impresario of the early...


The Great Floodgates of the Wonderworld

by Justin Hocking

Surfing in Far Rockaway, romantic obsession, and Moby-Dick converge in this winning and refreshing memoir

Justin Hocking lands in New York hopeful but adrift—he's jobless, unexpectedly overwhelmed and disoriented...


Dancing Fish and Ammonites: A Memoir

by Penelope Lively

The beloved and bestselling author takes an intimate look back at a life of reading and writing

"The memory that we live with . . . is the moth-eaten version of our own past that each of us carries around, depends...


Glitter and Glue: A Memoir

by Kelly Corrigan

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the author of The Middle Place comes a new memoir that examines the bond—sometimes nourishing, sometimes exasperating, occasionally divine—between mothers and daughters.

 ...


A Political Education: Coming of Age in Paris and New York

by André Schiffrin

“Schiffrin evokes the bittersweet tang of émigré life in New York.”

The New York Times Book Review

André Schiffrin was born the son of one of France’s most esteemed publishers, in a world peopled...


Why I Read

by Wendy Lesser

“Wendy Lesser’s extraordinary alertness, intelligence, and curiosity have made her one of America’s most significant cultural critics,” writes Stephen Greenblatt. In Why I Read, Lesser draws on a lifetime...


Stranger in My Own Country

by Yascha Mounk

A moving and unsettling exploration of a young man’s formative years in a country still struggling with its past

As a Jew in postwar Germany, Yascha Mounk felt like a foreigner in his own country. When he...


Little Failure: A Memoir

by Gary Shteyngart

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR “SO FAR” BY TIME AND THE WASHINGTON POST • NAMED ONE OF KIRKUS REVIEWS’ “NEW BOOKS DESTINED TO BECOME CLASSICS” • SHORTLISTED...